FirstEnergy Analyst Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Analyst

FirstEnergy Analyst Reviews

Updated Oct 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
19%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
FirstEnergy President and CEO Chuck Jones (no image)
Chuck Jones
5 Ratings
  1. "IT Analyst Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - IT Analyst Intern in Akron, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FirstEnergy for less than a year

    Pros

    Great internship, real work experience, provide any needed assistance, and great co-workers!

    Cons

    Nothing to mention during my time at FirstEnergy!

    FirstEnergy2017-11-17
  2. "Working for the retail side of the company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Contractor - Business Analyst in Akron, OH

    I have been working at FirstEnergy for less than a year

    Pros

    Work atmosphere is great.

    Cons

    Some work days are slow.

    FirstEnergy2019-10-24
  3. "Would you sell your soul to work here?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Akron, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FirstEnergy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pay, coworkers. Vision insurance is stellar. Dental and health are expensive and so so. Lots of knowledge in the older workers, lots of energy and ambition in the younger ones. Everyone cares about their communities and giving back.

    Cons

    They took away sick days, I had a few months taken away that I could have used for serious illness.. all wiped away. Basically you review yourself, so I'm not sure why they need managers or supervisors. Constant deceit, you never really know what is going on or why.. lots of feel good activities to boost morale, longtime employees leaving or retiring replaced by contractors. Really strange environment.

    Advice to Management

    Oh please, like you'd listen?

    FirstEnergy2019-09-05
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Not what you know, who you know"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Analyst in Akron, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FirstEnergy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits are very good and salary is competitive. There are good people in the organization and if your lucky you work for some of them.

    Cons

    Management often makes decisions prior to evaluating the decisions they make. They leave the validation to the employees who are forced to justify these sometime very poor decisions. Culture can be combative where managers often resort to shouting. This shouting management style comes from the top down in IT. Opportunities for advancement are very limited. If you're in the "Good Ol Boys club" you'll do fine.

    Advice to Management

    Don't make decisions because the vendor sold you on it. Trust your employees to evaluate technology for you. Trust your employees. Give equal opportunity for advancement and acknowledge that you don't do this now.

    FirstEnergy2019-02-07
  5. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Analyst 

    I have been working at FirstEnergy full-time

    Pros

    Good Benefits and Paid Time Off

    Cons

    Old-school in nature in certain aspects

    FirstEnergy2019-01-17
  6. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Analyst in Akron, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FirstEnergy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work/life balance; flexible jobs. Most of management are great to work for and patient with learning curve.

    Cons

    Restructuring occurs periodically and not all job postings are visible to contract employees.

    FirstEnergy2018-05-13
  7. "Programmer analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Programmer Analyst in Greensburg, PA

    I worked at FirstEnergy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great job and great employees.

    Cons

    Offered an early retirement , wasn't ready to retire. A one time deal.

    Advice to Management

    Retired looking for a part time job. I live in Youngwood and have prior retail experience.

    FirstEnergy2018-01-29
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Business Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Business Analyst in Akron, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FirstEnergy for less than a year

    Pros

    The people are great, and everyone helps everyone else out.

    Cons

    It's a very large company and you only get to know the people who you work with.

    FirstEnergy2017-06-15
  9. "FirstEnergy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Programmer/Analyst in Akron, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at FirstEnergy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    It is a large company with a diverse set of job requirements and locations allowing for the ability to pursue different work experiences and settings, expand knowledge and experience base.

    Cons

    Outside of Merger events, the company has been shrinking (along with most similarly positioned enterprises) for the last forty years. Frequent shifts in business emphasis and goals have made it very difficult to ever feel secure in almost any position.

    Advice to Management

    Pursue areas of opportunity beyond what you view as your core competencies, or continue to oversee an ever-diminishing company.

    FirstEnergy2017-04-14
  10. "Fair"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Analyst in Akron, OH

    I have been working at FirstEnergy full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good bonus, work from home

    Cons

    Aquire and fire, basic cost of living increases

    FirstEnergy2017-04-07
Found 31 reviews