FirstEnergy Customer Service Representative Reviews | Glassdoor

FirstEnergy Customer Service Representative Reviews

Updated Aug 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
49%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
FirstEnergy President and CEO Chuck Jones (no image)
Chuck Jones
1 Rating
  1. "Revives"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Akron, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at FirstEnergy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay hours management benefits and location.

    Cons

    No longer being a part of the team.

    Advice to Management

    Good job.

    FirstEnergy2017-11-29
  2. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Fairmont, WV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at FirstEnergy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Supervisors were great, great work environment

    Cons

    Very monotonous work and QA wasn't really fair

    Advice to Management

    Dont make employees rush to get customers off the phone so they can have good statistics

    FirstEnergy2019-08-27
  3. "Move In Move Out Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Customer Service Representative in Akron, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at FirstEnergy for less than a year

    Pros

    They give you free food from time to time. You meet cool people. Two weeks of paid training from the start with other training available if you stay more than a year and they like you.

    Cons

    The job sucks. I'm not really a customer oriented person but it was truly hell on earth. You had to go through a staffing agency which would take a cut of your pay for doing absolutely nothing. You're treated like a number there, just be aware of that

    Advice to Management

    Treat people with respect. Less workload.

    FirstEnergy2019-02-14
  4. "CSR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Fairmont, WV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FirstEnergy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They have competitive pay and great PTO

    Cons

    There is a lot of "Who you know" to move up, and it can be frustrating.

    FirstEnergy2017-05-31
  5. "Customer Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Fairlawn, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FirstEnergy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Management team if your willing to put yourself in a place for advancement.. they are their to help!

    Cons

    I really don't have anything bad to say... I actually love the company I work for

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you do

    FirstEnergy2017-05-13
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Call Center Customer Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative III in Reading, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FirstEnergy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    FirstEnergy is a great place for call center experience. Fast paced and opportunities to grow in the different levels of customer service. The availability of information for procedures and regulations on the company intranet site is very resourceful and helpful. Great team members to assist in difficult situations.

    Cons

    Limited opportunities past the CSR tier III level. Supervisor assistance is available but the procedure required to get to the supervisor can take too long which affects the stats that we are required to attain. Repetitive natures of calls and scripting makes the job very boring and almost unbearable. Verbal attacks from customers can be veracious and degrading. Must be thick skinned and able to let it "run off your back", which is the theme of all the supervisors. As a person who does not accept personal attacks well, biting my tongue was a daily activity. The pay is not worth the insults. Good if you have bills to pay while looking for another job.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Remember where you started.

    FirstEnergy2016-03-16
  7. "Customer service rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Akron, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FirstEnergy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A steady job, not far from home, full time

    Cons

    They don't treat you as a person, you are just a warm body in a chair

    Advice to Management

    Act like you care, show appreciation, you get more out if employees

    FirstEnergy2016-03-02
  8. "CSR at First Energy."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Akron, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FirstEnergy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, good benefits and a good amount of vacation time. Having the opportunity to satisfy a customer and assist someone in need.

    Cons

    Management puts everything above its employees. It is not a good feeling to go to work and feel like you are unimportant because all that is important to management is making sure stats are being met.

    FirstEnergy2016-02-02
  9. "Not so great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Service Representative in Fairmont, WV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at FirstEnergy

    Pros

    It's a comfortable building. Decent lunch room.

    Cons

    You are constantly under a microscope. Pay does not justify high stress job.

    FirstEnergy2015-12-04
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Customer Service Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Fairmont, WV

    I have been working at FirstEnergy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fairly consistent schedule, fair pay for the position, good management, you work at your own pod, and are sitting for most of the day.

    Cons

    You get cussed out and berated daily by customers, not a lot of paid time off until you've been hired for at least a year.

    Advice to Management

    The management is great at this call center. If you mess up they take you aside and coach you on what you did wrong. They don't belittle you but genuinely try to help you out.

    FirstEnergy2015-10-06
Found 18 reviews