FirstEnergy Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

FirstEnergy Engineer Reviews

Updated Dec 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
82%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
FirstEnergy President and CEO Chuck Jones (no image)
Chuck Jones
9 Ratings
  1. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Engineering Co-Op 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FirstEnergy

    Pros

    Great environment, Good pay, Good experience

    Cons

    Location, HR is slow, old generation

    FirstEnergy2019-10-01
  2. "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Reading, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FirstEnergy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great management and great employees

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    FirstEnergy2019-12-27
  3. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Freelancer - Software Engineer 

    I worked at FirstEnergy

    Pros

    It was pretty good and well paid

    Cons

    I did not like some of the people thrre

    FirstEnergy2019-07-13
  4. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Substation Design Engineer 

    I have been working at FirstEnergy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Low stress, no more than 40 hrs/week, good support/knowledgable coworkers, good bonus program, safety is very important to the company

    Cons

    Health/dental/vision insurance are below average

    FirstEnergy2019-06-24
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Nuclear Engineer in Perry, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at FirstEnergy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Knowledgeable individual in the correct spots. Great at trouble shooting and fixing problems faced daily.

    Cons

    Fear of bankruptcy was always there.

    FirstEnergy2019-06-04
  6. "Engineering Responsibilities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Electrical Engineer in Akron, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FirstEnergy for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Company Culture for real

    Cons

    Not Diverse at all, nope

    Continue reading
    FirstEnergy2019-05-10
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Don't do it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Nuclear Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at FirstEnergy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Friendly co-workers, employee gym, pay

    Cons

    I worked for one of FirstEnergy's nuclear generating stations for over six years. While I am grateful for my experience, after being gone for over three years and switching to a completely different industry I can confidently say that I would not recommend working here. First, get ready for loads of bureaucracy. You have to jump through hoops upon hoops to get anything done. Money is scarce. Management is top heavy. New ideas are not considered nor even encouraged. The industry has failed to innovate in the last 40 years. Heavy regulations have squashed any room for it. Unless the problem will shut down the plant, good luck getting money to fix it. I saw the writing on the wall the last few years I was there, which is why I jumped ship. A little over a year after I leave FE announces they are shutting down all their nuclear plants. Surprise surprise. When I was there it was a toxic work environment. No one seemed to like their job. You are treated like a number and expected to comply with any and all directives from upper management. Get ready for 72 hour work weeks during refueling outages and getting called in on your off days to deal with urgent issues. The unions make things worse. It's nearly impossible to get anything done as most (not all) of the union workers are lazy. However, if you try to take initiative to get things done, the union is there waiting to file a grievance on you. I once had a Reactor Operator have a meltdown on me while he was on shift in the control room. Yes, you read that right - this happened while he was supposed to be operating a nuclear reactor. When I went to HR about it, it got swept under the rug as they didn't want to disturb the union. There is no room for advancement beyond supervisor level unless you want to obtain your Senior Reactor Operator (SRO) license, which entails multiple years of shift work in the control room.

    Continue reading
    FirstEnergy2019-03-16
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Reading shop is the worst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Substation Engineer in Lebanon, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FirstEnergy full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    union work so they let you sleep in the truck while customers go with out electric for days on end.

    Cons

    you spend most of the day looking the other way while your coworkers get high and laugh about how much they get paid. the management at the reading,pa could have been ran better by an 8yr old. I moved to different shop and found out that some people actual do work other than complain in this company.

    Continue reading
    FirstEnergy2019-03-30
  9. "Engineer III"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Jersey City, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FirstEnergy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent salary and benefits. Schedule was really flexible. Lots of learning opportunities to move up the ladder

    Cons

    Lack of professional development opportunities and organized training

    FirstEnergy2017-08-20
  10. "Good people, good pay and benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in Muhlenberg, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FirstEnergy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The company generally has good people, good pay and good benefits. The company is for the most part genuinely concerned with safety.

    Cons

    While I truly believe the company has good intentions implementation is sometimes the problem. They tend to think there's only one way to do things.

    Continue reading
    FirstEnergy2017-07-31
Found 31 reviews