FirstEnergy Engineering Co-Op Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Engineering Co-Op

FirstEnergy Reviews

Updated Jan 4, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
62%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
FirstEnergy President and CEO Chuck Jones (no image)
Chuck Jones
51 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Nuclear Engineer in Perry, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at FirstEnergy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Knowledgeable individual in the correct spots. Great at trouble shooting and fixing problems faced daily.

    Cons

    Fear of bankruptcy was always there.

    FirstEnergy2019-06-04
  2. "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Reading, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FirstEnergy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great management and great employees

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    FirstEnergy2019-12-27
  3. "Good pay and benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FirstEnergy full-time

    Pros

    Good pay, good benefits benefits, paid time off

    Cons

    No trust in upper management, very secretive environment, "they" don't value your personal time, they expect you to put them first. Not a comfortable work environment

    Advice to Management

    Start building trust among the ranks.

    FirstEnergy2020-01-05
  4. "Decent Place, But Full Of Lies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Meter Reader Collector in Boonton, NJ

    I worked at FirstEnergy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Employees were great -Pay was decent -A lot of locations to work

    Cons

    -Lied about length of time as a Meter Reader -People reading meters for 10+ years who could barely walk .

    FirstEnergy2019-10-02
  5. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Fairmont, WV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at FirstEnergy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Supervisors were great, great work environment

    Cons

    Very monotonous work and QA wasn't really fair

    Advice to Management

    Dont make employees rush to get customers off the phone so they can have good statistics

    FirstEnergy2019-08-27
  6. "Would you sell your soul to work here?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Akron, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FirstEnergy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pay, coworkers. Vision insurance is stellar. Dental and health are expensive and so so. Lots of knowledge in the older workers, lots of energy and ambition in the younger ones. Everyone cares about their communities and giving back.

    Cons

    They took away sick days, I had a few months taken away that I could have used for serious illness.. all wiped away. Basically you review yourself, so I'm not sure why they need managers or supervisors. Constant deceit, you never really know what is going on or why.. lots of feel good activities to boost morale, longtime employees leaving or retiring replaced by contractors. Really strange environment.

    Advice to Management

    Oh please, like you'd listen?

    FirstEnergy2019-09-05
  7. Helpful (3)

    "These people havent got a clue"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lineman in West Springfield, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FirstEnergy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Money, money, money money and money

    Cons

    Management is full of people who have never done the work

    Advice to Management

    Stop letting the current crop of managers, general managers and directors pick their favorites for supervisory roles. You don't even need to guess about who is going to get a job because it most generally is the person with the least experience and knowledge but they're really good at getting in tight with management.

    FirstEnergy2019-08-17
  8. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Quality Control 

    I have been working at FirstEnergy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good pay, advancement opportunity, and education reimbursement

    Cons

    State of company is not certain on the generation side

    FirstEnergy2019-07-12
  9. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Substation Design Engineer 

    I have been working at FirstEnergy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Low stress, no more than 40 hrs/week, good support/knowledgable coworkers, good bonus program, safety is very important to the company

    Cons

    Health/dental/vision insurance are below average

    FirstEnergy2019-06-24
  10. "Good job for a good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Nuclear Security Officer in Perry, OH

    I worked at FirstEnergy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    schedule, co-worker, culture, ability to advance or move departments.

    Cons

    There were not many things I didn't like

    FirstEnergy2019-06-20
Found 274 reviews