FirstEnergy Reviews | Glassdoor

FirstEnergy Reviews

Updated Mar 10, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
63%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
FirstEnergy President and CEO Chuck Jones (no image)
Chuck Jones
53 Ratings
  1. "Employment @First Energy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager | Distributioin Tech II in Greensburg, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at FirstEnergy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Takes care of employees, promotes work life balance initiative.

    Cons

    Pushing Diversity and Inclusion agenda

    Continue reading
    FirstEnergy2020-03-11
  2. "Great Job, benefits, co workers and Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Operator in Erie, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FirstEnergy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Job is rewarding. Generous PTO. Slow and busy times of year. relocation packages.

    Cons

    Rotating schedule, erie is cold and miserable. If this exact job was located in the south I'd never leave.

    FirstEnergy2020-02-28
  3. "Heavy equipment operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Yard Operator Mechanic in Shippingport, PA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at FirstEnergy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay is great. Benefits are alright.

    Cons

    More overtime than most people want

    FirstEnergy2020-02-25
  4. "Good pay and benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FirstEnergy full-time

    Pros

    Good pay, good benefits benefits, paid time off

    Cons

    No trust in upper management, very secretive environment, "they" don't value your personal time, they expect you to put them first. Not a comfortable work environment

    Continue reading
    FirstEnergy2020-01-05
  5. "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Reading, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FirstEnergy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great management and great employees

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    FirstEnergy2019-12-27
  6. "Decent Place, But Full Of Lies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Meter Reader Collector in Boonton, NJ

    I worked at FirstEnergy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Employees were great -Pay was decent -A lot of locations to work

    Cons

    -Lied about length of time as a Meter Reader -People reading meters for 10+ years who could barely walk .

    FirstEnergy2019-10-02
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Would you sell your soul to work here?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Akron, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FirstEnergy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pay, coworkers. Vision insurance is stellar. Dental and health are expensive and so so. Lots of knowledge in the older workers, lots of energy and ambition in the younger ones. Everyone cares about their communities and giving back.

    Cons

    They took away sick days, I had a few months taken away that I could have used for serious illness.. all wiped away. Basically you review yourself, so I'm not sure why they need managers or supervisors. Constant deceit, you never really know what is going on or why.. lots of feel good activities to boost morale, longtime employees leaving or retiring replaced by contractors. Really strange environment.

    Continue reading
    FirstEnergy2019-09-05
  8. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Fairmont, WV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at FirstEnergy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Supervisors were great, great work environment

    Cons

    Very monotonous work and QA wasn't really fair

    Continue reading
    FirstEnergy2019-08-27
  9. Helpful (3)

    "These people havent got a clue"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lineman in West Springfield, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FirstEnergy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Money, money, money money and money

    Cons

    Management is full of people who have never done the work

    Continue reading
    FirstEnergy2019-08-17
  10. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Quality Control 

    I have been working at FirstEnergy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good pay, advancement opportunity, and education reimbursement

    Cons

    State of company is not certain on the generation side

    FirstEnergy2019-07-12
Viewing 1 - 10 of 277 Reviews