FirstEnergy Engineering Co-Op Reviews | Glassdoor

FirstEnergy Reviews

Updated Feb 25, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
62%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
FirstEnergy President and CEO Chuck Jones (no image)
Chuck Jones
51 Ratings
  1. "Good job for a good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Nuclear Security Officer in Perry, OH

    I worked at FirstEnergy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    schedule, co-worker, culture, ability to advance or move departments.

    Cons

    There were not many things I didn't like

    FirstEnergy2019-06-20
  2. "Great place to work and be a part of."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Administrative Assistant in Akron, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FirstEnergy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great place to work and great people.

    Cons

    Canno think of anything bad to say about working at FirstEnergy.

    FirstEnergy2019-03-18
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Don't do it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Nuclear Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at FirstEnergy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Friendly co-workers, employee gym, pay

    Cons

    I worked for one of FirstEnergy's nuclear generating stations for over six years. While I am grateful for my experience, after being gone for over three years and switching to a completely different industry I can confidently say that I would not recommend working here. First, get ready for loads of bureaucracy. You have to jump through hoops upon hoops to get anything done. Money is scarce. Management is top heavy. New ideas are not considered nor even encouraged. The industry has failed to innovate in the last 40 years. Heavy regulations have squashed any room for it. Unless the problem will shut down the plant, good luck getting money to fix it. I saw the writing on the wall the last few years I was there, which is why I jumped ship. A little over a year after I leave FE announces they are shutting down all their nuclear plants. Surprise surprise. When I was there it was a toxic work environment. No one seemed to like their job. You are treated like a number and expected to comply with any and all directives from upper management. Get ready for 72 hour work weeks during refueling outages and getting called in on your off days to deal with urgent issues. The unions make things worse. It's nearly impossible to get anything done as most (not all) of the union workers are lazy. However, if you try to take initiative to get things done, the union is there waiting to file a grievance on you. I once had a Reactor Operator have a meltdown on me while he was on shift in the control room. Yes, you read that right - this happened while he was supposed to be operating a nuclear reactor. When I went to HR about it, it got swept under the rug as they didn't want to disturb the union. There is no room for advancement beyond supervisor level unless you want to obtain your Senior Reactor Operator (SRO) license, which entails multiple years of shift work in the control room.

    Continue reading
    FirstEnergy2019-03-16
  4. "Long hours and no opportunities to advance. Good old boys club with antiquated thinking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Akron, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at FirstEnergy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Employees are paid very well

    Cons

    Long hours Senior Management has old-school obsolete thinking Employees are treated as a number even though HR touts how they value workers. Dumpy offices. Not a very modern or stimulating environment to attract employees

    Continue reading
    FirstEnergy2019-03-16
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Reading shop is the worst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Substation Engineer in Lebanon, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FirstEnergy full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    union work so they let you sleep in the truck while customers go with out electric for days on end.

    Cons

    you spend most of the day looking the other way while your coworkers get high and laugh about how much they get paid. the management at the reading,pa could have been ran better by an 8yr old. I moved to different shop and found out that some people actual do work other than complain in this company.

    Continue reading
    FirstEnergy2019-03-30
  6. "Not a bad place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FirstEnergy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    good team atmosphere. People help each other. Nice work / life balance

    Cons

    wish it had more opportunities to grow

    FirstEnergy2019-01-29
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Not what you know, who you know"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Analyst in Akron, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FirstEnergy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits are very good and salary is competitive. There are good people in the organization and if your lucky you work for some of them.

    Cons

    Management often makes decisions prior to evaluating the decisions they make. They leave the validation to the employees who are forced to justify these sometime very poor decisions. Culture can be combative where managers often resort to shouting. This shouting management style comes from the top down in IT. Opportunities for advancement are very limited. If you're in the "Good Ol Boys club" you'll do fine.

    Continue reading
    FirstEnergy2019-02-07
  8. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Analyst 

    I have been working at FirstEnergy full-time

    Pros

    Good Benefits and Paid Time Off

    Cons

    Old-school in nature in certain aspects

    FirstEnergy2019-01-17
  9. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FirstEnergy full-time

    Pros

    Benefits, Salary, Work Life balance

    Cons

    Electric industry is highly regulated

    FirstEnergy2018-11-09
  10. "Network Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FirstEnergy full-time

    Pros

    You stay busy and can work from home on occasion.

    Cons

    Not enough training to understand your role.

    FirstEnergy2018-09-04

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 275 reviews