FirstGroup "buses" Reviews | Glassdoor

FirstGroup Employee Reviews about "buses"

Updated Oct 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
34%
Recommend to a Friend
21%
Approve of CEO
FirstGroup Chief Executive Matthew Gregory
Matthew Gregory
11 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work colleagues and free bus travel(in 13 reviews)

  • "Benefits of working for a large company regards to Rewards, free bus travel and discounted rail travel(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Leaving buses unattended with passengers on(in 12 reviews)

  • "Passengers talk to you like something off their shoe(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "buses"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (5)

    "HORRIBLE PLACE TO WORK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Developer in Cincinnati, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at FirstGroup for more than a year

    Pros

    We got cool toy buses for our first day of work.

    Cons

    Was 7 months pregnant and completely bullied by my boss as he bullied all of his subordinates. When reported to HR the first time hey ignored it. The second time it was reported by me and 4 others they finally decided to give him temporary leave but brought him back in the same position without any consequence. Our entire department quit (8 people in total).

    FirstGroup2015-09-29
  2. "Driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Driver in Leicester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FirstGroup full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good team, Great benefits, new rota system put in place

    Cons

    Bad buses, shift work, more holidays

    Continue reading
    FirstGroup2019-10-03
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Could be better. Could be worse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bus Driver in Oldham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at FirstGroup full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent hourly rate. Travel pass. A long weekend

    Cons

    Rotas with no due care. Finishing late then getting up early the next day. One of the company's moto is their dedication to safety. Hmmm. Unprofessional approach to the customers. Which makes the driver look at fault most of the time. Leaving buses unattended with passengers on. With no spare driver to continue the route. So you just leave them at a terminus for sometimes 10 20 mins or however late the driver is.. not fixing vehicles. Sending out vehicles with dangerous defects.

    Continue reading
    FirstGroup2019-08-10
  4. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bus Driver in Stafford, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at FirstGroup full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good rate of pay, varied routes, staff bus, good collegues

    Cons

    Early morning starts (4am), old buses

    FirstGroup2019-07-27
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Worst job of my life."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bus Driver in York, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at FirstGroup full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free travel. And that is it.

    Cons

    Management. Passengers. Hours. Work life balance. Passengers talk to you like something off their shoe. As soon as you even mime a word back your in the office for a discipline. Stress daily. High blood pressure. 5 hours sat in a seat. Always finish late. Tired buses.

    Continue reading
    FirstGroup2019-07-12
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good pay, poor quality buses and poor work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bus Driver in York, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FirstGroup full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, also a good range of rotas to suit your preferred route/s

    Cons

    Poor quality buses on some routes, also no consistency to the rotas, always go from an early week to one where you finish at 8/9pm with few options to consistently have one or the other. Also feels as if employees are very expendable

    Continue reading
    FirstGroup2019-04-28
  7. "Bus Driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Professional Bus Driver in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FirstGroup full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Passenger Comfort and Safety. Drive Green, Welcome every Passenger on My Bus as I would My Home. Being Understanding.

    Cons

    Too many buses Unfit for Service. Unacceptable.Badly Organised Running Time on 40% of routes. No Communication From Superiors.

    Continue reading
    FirstGroup2018-01-31
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Good job if you invest time and have little ambition."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at FirstGroup

    Pros

    Money is good after a 2 Year wait. Various shift patterns to adjust to a work/life balance. Good group of people to work with. Sick pay is good also. Plenty of overtime if needed.

    Cons

    Waiting 2 Years to get top money. No overtime rate. No progression as its a boy's club - mates get ahead before anyone with ability ever will. Buses are not looked as well as a few years ago. No protection for drivers from customer complaints. Bit like working in the 70s regarding banter with some older drivers of you get my drift. Patience is need in this job!!

    Continue reading
    FirstGroup2017-11-01
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Dreadful, backward, dated and mediocre"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at FirstGroup full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    That there are lots of people doing nothing and getting away with it! From administration staff up to executive level

    Cons

    Sexist macho culture, women called birds and expected to be subordinates . Mediocre is encouraged and money is wasted constantly Key decisions are based on gut feeling rather than using available data. Changes of routes and fares are made up by people sitting in offices rather than based on sound data led analysis. Drivers are not managed and behaviour left unchecked - drivers swear at customers and even mate with their partners on buses and keep their jobs!! The most backward out of date company I have had the misfortune of working for. The locations are filthy with a lack of cleaning and toilets filthy. Do not work here.

    Continue reading
    FirstGroup2017-06-10
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Such a disappointing employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bus Driver in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at FirstGroup full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is very little about this employer which is positive. The new uniform is the most credible part of my current experience.

    Cons

    Prehistoric Union Reps. Being 'spare' meaning I don't know my shift until 12 midday, the day before. Old decrepit buses. Terrible attitude from passengers because they've had terrible attitude from bus drivers for years. Late late hours and early mornings which may as well be night shift for no increment in pay.

    Continue reading
    FirstGroup2017-03-29
Found 16 reviews