FirstGroup "free bus travel" Reviews | Glassdoor

FirstGroup Employee Reviews about "free bus travel"

Updated 3 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
34%
Recommend to a Friend
21%
Approve of CEO
FirstGroup CEO Matthew Gregory
Matthew Gregory
11 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work colleagues and free bus travel(in 13 reviews)

  • "Benefits of working for a large company regards to Rewards, free bus travel and discounted rail travel(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Leaving buses unattended with passengers on(in 12 reviews)

  • "Passengers talk to you like something off their shoe(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "free bus travel"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "All about the money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Norwich, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at FirstGroup full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free bus travel. Friendly coworkers

    Cons

    Cutbacks mean there are too few people doing the work leading to mistakes, which you are then penalised for. Management doesn't seem to understand that if you get too few people around, you aren't going to have the same level of service as if you had double the amount of staff, and shouting at those you do have won't make them work any better. Constantly promised improvements that never come, new staff simply don't... stay long enough to make any difference, but management can't seem to understand why they have such a high staff turnover. To top it off they are now selling the company, it seemed like a good time to get out.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees, think more about the service and uptake of the fleet and less about the money in your pockets at the end of the month. If people are struggling, ask why that is and work with them, being negative doesn't bring out the best in anyone, it simply drives them away.

    FirstGroup2019-08-03
  2. "Bus driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at FirstGroup full-time

    Pros

    Great work colleagues, free bus pass

    Cons

    Hours, pay, management. No home life

    FirstGroup2018-07-28
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Constant Restructures"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FirstGroup

    Pros

    Decent pay. Free bus pass. Flexible working hours.

    Cons

    Constantly restructuring. Making hard working, long-term staff redundant then taking on new people to do the same jobs on less pay with less knowledge.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff. Stop trying to change roles all the time. You keep repeating the same mistakes but expecting a different outcome.

    FirstGroup2018-06-10
  4. Helpful (1)

    "First Group Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at FirstGroup full-time

    Pros

    Benefits of working for a large company regards to Rewards, free bus travel and discounted rail travel. The teams are supportive

    Cons

    Lots of restructuring every two years another restructure by the Leadership team this causes poor employee engagment.

    Advice to Management

    When considering a restructure listen to the employees in a genuine manner and seriously consider before ploughing ahead as you will loose skills within the sector.

    FirstGroup2018-05-18
  5. "pcv driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bus Driver in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at FirstGroup full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good work colleagues and free bus travel.

    Cons

    The shifts are all over the place until your in a while.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to drivers

    FirstGroup2018-06-02
  6. "Bus Driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bus Driver 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at FirstGroup full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Reasonable pay. Easy job if you can let any abuse wash over you. Abuse tends to happen to the same drivers. With Union we tend to keep up with inflation so keep our income steady in real terms. Free Bus travel. Reduced trains on first website on first trains.

    Cons

    Unless you've worked there for over 10 years or so you will be working shifts anywhere between 4 in the morning and 12.30 at night. you do a week of early shifts and a week of lates and you work any day of the week so you might have a tuesday and a thursday as your two days off in a week. Holidays are taken in full weeks and a summer 2 week slots. They are allocated and you have to find someone willing to swap you... their weeks if those are the dates you want. Cannot split your week up. Have to be really on the ball if you want to plan ahead otherwise you can end up with no social life and missing your family. Unfortunately bus drivers undeservedly have a bad rep. Small minority let the rest down but also with the public we are their transport to and from work and if we are late through no fault of our own they will still moan at you. I guess for some people it will slowly kill you doing this 5 times a week for 8.5 hours a day behind a wheel with customers looking PO'd with you. Just telling you the reality of it but you can understand the way people feel and its not personal.

    Show More
    FirstGroup2018-03-01
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Cleaner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cleaner in Bolton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at FirstGroup full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free bus pass for you and family

    Cons

    £7.50 an hour for working night including weekends

    Advice to Management

    Pay your staff a decent rate and they might actually do the job properly

    FirstGroup2017-10-03
  8. "Good team, low resources"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at FirstGroup full-time

    Pros

    free bus travel, heavily discounted train travel

    Cons

    Low budget, no bonus or perks beyond 25 days holiday.

    FirstGroup2017-06-12
  9. "First Bus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FirstGroup

    Pros

    There are some good benefits including free bus travel for bus employees and discounted train travel. For my role good working hours and nice environment.

    Cons

    Lack of specific information flowed down from Management. Too many organisational changes makes for an unsettled working environment. No career progression for many disciplines.

    Advice to Management

    I would advise more information about what local OpCo Management is doing. We have staff notices about central Management eg job role changes but not told about local changes, staff leaving or joining. Also organisational charts would be very helpful so everyone knows the structure of each department and who is who and where they sit in the hierarchy.

    FirstGroup2017-04-08
  10. "Terrible infrastructure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Payroll Administrator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at FirstGroup full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free bus and train travel. Only work Monday to Friday

    Cons

    Archaic computer systems and an unwillingness to update the current IT systems means it is really painful and longwinded to do weekday should be a relatively easy role (payroll). The unions still are very strong and this also means working for first is like working in the 1970s

    FirstGroup2017-01-24
Found 13 reviews