Fiserv "work from home" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Fiserv Employee Reviews about "work from home"

Updated Feb 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
64%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Fiserv Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Jeffery Yabuki
Jeffery Yabuki
1,746 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "As a working mother the flexibility Fiserv provided me gave the work life balance needed to be there for my family while also having a rewarding career(in 97 reviews)

  • "There seems to be a lot of turnover/reorganization in upper management positions(in 87 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work from home"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Outstanding company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director, Project Management in Maitland, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fiserv part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Communication with peers and senior management was clear, timely and concise with the "TEAM" Spirit!

    Cons

    At the time, there was limited life balance, too many hours and long days, and weekends. When they removed work from home it impacted productivity.

    Continue reading
    Fiserv2019-12-04
  2. "Working as a BC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Consultant in Kansas City, MO

    I have been working at Fiserv full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent compensation. Unlimited potential. Create your own schedule.

    Cons

    Work from home can be good or bad. Saturated market. Your success is very determinant on your partners. Lots of cold calling starting out.

    Fiserv2020-02-14
  3. Helpful (42)

    "Fiserv Going Down the Rabbit Hole"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in Alpharetta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Fiserv full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I’ve been employed at Fiserv for the past decade, and seen two big mergers along with several small ones. Fiserv’s culture has changed for the better since 2013, until this large merger of First Data this year. Now Fiserv’s culture has decided to go back to its old habits in 2013, which led the company to be labeled as one of the worst companies to work for (See Cons Section for details on changes). Just Google works 10 companies to work for in 2013, and Fiserv is number 9 on the list. So, if you are green and looking for a place to start. Fiserv, will be getting despite for IT engineers, in the next two years as all their top talent moves on to better opportunities because they are upset with the hostile environment. Note, you will see lots of Glassdoor reviews on here that are fake, and they are easy to spot. Use this company as an opportunity to grow in your career, but don't stay in one position too long.

    Cons

    In 2019, First Data became Fiserv, which has now consumed 22billion in debt which seems to have spilled over onto Fiserv associate benefits. This means that benefits got stripped down a lot. Medical plans went up, coverage goes down, dental went up (bad coverage) and future retirement opportunities got stripped down as well. For instance, they are moving our 401k from Vanguard (known for their low fund fees), and forced to move to Merrill’s Edge’ who has been historically predatory to the small investors (Making it hard to build a retirement fund). They also reduced their employee stock purchase discount by 5%, which again makes it hard to invest in the future. If you roll that into a compound interest calculator over a few years it is a significant loss. Now employee’s can’t make up for not getting paid industry standard pay for positions, and the chance of getting to industry standard is far away when annual raises are capped at 2% regardless of how much of an overachiever you are. Senior management is limiting or limited on the number of raises they can give above a certain percent. A nice perk that was removed was the flexible work from home, which is a common IT practice in 2019. Finally the biggest con of the company, you are just a number at this company, and if your number is up; because, you make too much or they find your job no longer necessary. You will be let go without any notification to find a new position for you. So, don’t expect this job to last forever.

    Continue reading
    Fiserv2019-12-03
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Run!! Seriously!! First Data's 1950s Business Mentality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Coordinator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Fiserv full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    If hired, you'll get a pay check. There really aren't any other pros other than collecting a pay check.

    Cons

    Do you want to work for a company who doesn't trust its employees? Fiserv installed software on associate PCs to track their every click, to record every application and how long you've been on a screen. They're abolishing work from home because I guess Frank is so short sighted, he can't imagine people being productive without being micromanaged. Typical Boomer. Make no doubt about it, First Data, was a failing company before they were purchased, but managed to take the reigns and will eventually run this company in the ground.

    Continue reading
    Fiserv2020-02-11
  5. Helpful (38)

    "Fiserv is now First Data"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Vice President Fiserv 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fiserv full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I used to love working at Fiserv, I have been here for 4 years now and I wasn't planning on leaving soon! Fiserv used to be dynamic, flexible, empowering, trusting and optimistic! It was not perfect, but it’s always been improving and aspiring to be a better place. For 6 years in a row, Fiserv has been selected as the one of the most admired companies to work for, by FORTUNE Magazine. This is an outcome of the diligent work by the CEO and the leadership team on creating a positive culture of engagement, nurturing of talent and valuing and trusting associates. We have managed many acquisitions over the years and every time new associates come on board, they instantly embrace the orange experience and become part of this big orange family! All of this have changed with the acquisition of First Data (contrary to what some believe, it is an acquisition, not a merger)! Original First Data leadership style is transactional and feels like we are back in the 1970s. Bureaucracy, office politics and brown-nosing are becoming the norm. With plans to end flexibility and work from home, the leaders from First Data can only trust associates to be working when they are at a desk in a Fiserv office. They promote a culture of order and militant structure where associates can only fit in when they play by the rules (compromising innovation, agility, engagement, and growth). Most First Data associates were excited about the closing of the deal, many decided to stay hoping that Fiserv will bring a positive change and transform their culture. They are as alarmed as we are that First Data's culture is taking over. There is a reason why First Data was failing! It wasn't their products or technology, and it wasn't the capabilities or skills of their associates! It was their culture! If we want Fiserv to remain one of the most admired companies to work for, our CEO needs to intervene quickly and save our culture!

    Cons

    No cons, see pros for details

    Fiserv2019-10-31

    Fiserv Response

    November 4, 2019Manager, Recruitment Marketing

    Fiserv is committed to being an excellent place to work by listening to feedback from our associates. We appreciate your sharing your experience regarding the recent acquisition, which has been shared with the appropriate internal associates. Every day we strive to improve our workplace to provide a positive experience and work environment for all associates.

    Continue reading
  6. "Good place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Support Specialist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Fiserv full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Generous vacation/sick time and good salary. Great employees.

    Cons

    Human Resources Department is physically missing in certain office locations. Employees have to rely on going through a benefits center which is a call center to get help via phone or email. Senior Management is looking to remove the ability for employees to work from home. Also, medical benefits are expensive.

    Fiserv2019-12-31
  7. Helpful (46)

    "We are Blue not Orange"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Alpharetta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Fiserv full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    People and culture was great prior to the acquisition of First Data. Work From Home policy was great so you didn't waste time in Atlanta traffic.

    Cons

    First Data executives that have been put in position of power are unfriendly, unrealistic and illogical. They have no idea how to promote a "team atmosphere".

    Continue reading
    Fiserv2019-10-24

    Fiserv Response

    November 4, 2019Manager, Recruitment Marketing

    Fiserv is committed to being an excellent place to work by listening to feedback from our associates. We appreciate your sharing your experience regarding the recent acquisition, which has been shared with the appropriate internal associates. Every day we strive to improve our workplace to provide a positive experience and work environment for all associates.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Enjoyable if you have the right manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in Alpharetta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fiserv full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good upward movement options, with lots of work from home flexibility

    Cons

    While the managers can be great, since it is such a large company, managers often don't have much power to reward high flyers

    Continue reading
    Fiserv2019-12-06
  9. "Bad Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Data Analyst in Alpharetta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fiserv full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Job was 100% remote, up until that was taken away

    Cons

    Literally everything else. No formal training, no support, constantly being accused of misconduct by my manager even though we never even met face to face. After I was told it was my responsibility to set up training sessions (what??), I would ask for additional training and wouldn't receive it. I just don't think she knew how to teach. My job was threatened within 3 months of me being there and at that point, I started looking for opportunities elsewhere. I tried to work hard to keep my job but the goal post was constantly moved and there was nothing I could do to appease them. I couldn't even go to HR about this because the HR employee was on my supervisor's side and said I wasn't trying hard enough. There was no neutral party. Workplace culture was terrible and that was something I noticed from day one. A lot of gossiping and everyone seemed to hate each other and tried to undermine one another and find someone to put the blame on instead of working together as a team Besides that, the benefits were abysmal. Health care and dental coverage were not good and expensive. They decreased the ESPP from 15% to 10% by the time I was leaving. Work from home was taken away and that was the only real benefit that we had.

    Continue reading
    Fiserv2020-01-08
  10. "ATC, TAM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Technical Consultant in Dublin, OH
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Fiserv full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work from home, great manager, subsidized cafeteria, Teammates are always willing to help.

    Cons

    Always short handed. Senior leadership/HR moves slow in getting some help. We had a team member leave three months ago and his position hasn't even been posted. What's taking so long? "OneFiserv" concept has a long way to go. It's like the wild west. Different business units do whatever they want and doesn't show consistency to clients. Network connection at work is crap. My internet at home is better. Working on-call is a nightmare. On-call is normally Tuesday evening to Tuesday morning. A lot of outages lately which means a lot of late night wake up calls. Leadership has been great as far as giving comp days if you work throughout the night. Work piles up FAST if you take time off.

    Continue reading
    Fiserv2019-12-01

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 205 reviews