Fisher Investments Vice President Reviews | Glassdoor

Fisher Investments Vice President Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 reviews

4.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Damian Ornani
5 Ratings
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (16)

    "Best Financial company to work for an industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fisher Investments full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Ken Fisher has created an amazing firm. This is the first financial firm I’ve worked for where I can see the clients come first in everything. The structure is so unique here and the opportunities for those who work hard are endless. The concept here is pretty simple. Work hard while you’re here and put in 100% each day and the firm will pay you a ridiculous amount of money and give you a ton of time for your family....

    Show More

    Cons

    If you’re not a hard worker and not willing to give it all each day then you simply can’t just make it here. Not a con to me, but those just wanting to go through the motions in their jobs won’t do well.

    Advice to Management

    No advice

    Fisher Investments2018-12-18
  2. Helpful (20)

    "OSP - Outside Sales Person - COLD CALLING WARNING"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - OSP - Regional Vice President in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fisher Investments

    Pros

    - Good Benefits - Good Sales Support from Headquarters - Very well thought out Investment Management Platform

    Cons

    - Company oversells the OSP position. It is basically glorified cold calling. Fisher promises you 100 warm leads a month but doesn't deliver and then expects you to make 100-200 cold calls a day. Very misleading and deceitful. - Very Weak Sales Management - Very Weak Training Program - Horrible Communication between Management - Very Confrontational Culture

    Advice to Management

    Every geography has it's unique challenges. Engage in further due diligence to try and understand the dynamics of each territory before setting expectations. Communicate Better with Employees Divert from the current culture of poor communication and confrontation.

    Fisher Investments2016-09-14
  3. "Vice President Pacific Southwest"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President Pacific in Scottsdale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Fisher Investments full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Hard working employees with many resources to help you succeed.

    Cons

    Investment performance lagged the entire time I was there.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Fisher Investments2016-07-28
  4. Helpful (11)

    "Ok for sales, but not much else"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Vice President in San Mateo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Fisher Investments

    Pros

    Very frat like culture, lots of young people and reasonably laid back attitude. Sales in private client side had uncapped commission.

    Cons

    Very bad culture that discourages furthering your knowledge. Management is against employees working towards CFA Charter, against taking outside classes, and doesn't have much interest seeing employees grow. Pay is also below industry

    Fisher Investments2016-03-25
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Vice President"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President in San Mateo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fisher Investments full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Stable company, many have shown loyality and stayed for a long time.

    Cons

    Top down management style and no employee feedback loop process

    Advice to Management

    Provide more employee amenities like free soda, snacks etc.

    Fisher Investments2016-02-29
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Regional Vice President"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Vice President in Boca Raton, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fisher Investments full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    I have been with Fisher Investments for 14 years, and I am very happy. What I am most appreciative of though is that when the economy slowed in 2008, the company offered me the opportunity to work in another area of the country where people were needed. This has been a very financially beneficial job for me and my family. There are also great benefits.

    Cons

    Like any other sales position there are always ups and downs.However, the flexibility in my schedule and compensation more than offset these issues.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to provide training to all employees as I feel this is critical as we grow.

    Fisher Investments2016-01-15
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Regional Vice President"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Vice President in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Fisher Investments full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    They've always done what they promise. Great benefits, positive work culture, more than competitive compensation. Peers that are always willing to help. I have referred friends to the firm

    Cons

    If you are lazy, don't expect to thrive at Fisher Investments. Not too much to report that I would say is negative.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to listen to your clients and employees.

    Fisher Investments2016-01-12
  8. "Vice President"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Camas, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fisher Investments full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    I have been with Fisher Investments coming on 14 years after spending after beginning my career as an analyst and them portfolio manager at a rival firm. I have served in many capacities and continue to be challenged, trusted and rewarded based on my output, just as they explained to me up front, and just as I've come to expect through their merit based compensation and talent management model. I came to Fisher and have...

    Show More

    Cons

    Even after 14 years I need to produce every single week. This can be fatiguing, but still doesn't outweigh the pay, benefits, loyalty, and reward of helping investors who have been stuck in a broker based model for too long. If hard work or achievement aren't part of your natual makeup, working for Fisher will be difficult for you.

    Advice to Management

    Get more involved and personal with each of the newer and less experienced employees, they can learn alot about the challenges of running a multi billion, global investment firm if they felt closer to the executive team on down.

    Fisher Investments2016-01-17
  9. Helpful (7)

    "No thanks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Fisher Investments for more than 20 years

    Pros

    I have nothing positive to say

    Cons

    Long hours, poor product and questionable ethics

    Fisher Investments2016-01-10
  10. Helpful (4)

    "RVP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Regional Vice President in Yardley, PA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Fisher Investments for more than a year

      Pros

      Solid investment performance and process.

      Cons

      Drink the Kool Aid or else. Poor sales management. Treat professionals like children. Poor customer service.

      Advice to Management

      Bring in all new sales management.

      Fisher Investments2015-12-20
    Found 19 reviews