Fisher Investments "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor

Fisher Investments Employee Reviews about "long hours"

To filter reviews, or .

Found 545 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Damian Ornani
119 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours (10 hours mandatory; during the fall months there’s extremely high work flow so your looking at 11(in 28 reviews)

  • "Mandatory 50 hour work weeks for most roles(in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Fisher Investments full-time

      Pros

      Great insurance and culture and other benefits

      Cons

      long hours (mandatory 10 hour shifts m-f)

      Advice to Management

      n/a

      Fisher Investments2019-02-25
    • "Okay place to work right out of college"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Portfolio Evaluation Associate in San Mateo, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Fisher Investments full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Good pay, opportunities for growth

      Cons

      Poor work life balance, long hours

      Fisher Investments2018-12-21
    • "Client Service Associate"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Fisher Investments

      Pros

      Nice people, good training, really care about employees, good work/life balance (never work outside of business hours)

      Cons

      Long hours, work not terribly interesting

      Fisher Investments2018-12-18
    • Helpful (1)

      "Overall great culture, fun people, for young professionals who want to get some financial industry experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - CSA (Aka Investment Associate)(Aka Client Services) in Camas, WA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Fisher Investments full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Competitive wages Great benefits (nothing comes out of your pay check for health coverage) Fun culture

      Cons

      Long hours (10 hours mandatory; during the fall months there’s extremely high work flow so your looking at 11+hour days)

      Advice to Management

      Higher more so you can spread out the work load. Right now it’s an extremely demanding role so be ready to work non stop.

      Fisher Investments2018-10-27
    • Helpful (4)

      "Good entry level experience but a lot of people burn out"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Research Associate in Woodside, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Fisher Investments full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      - Good training process - Lot of opportunities laterally and vertically - You will learn a lot about investment philosophy

      Cons

      - Pay isn't great - Long hours (10 hour days minimum in portfolio management group) - Very little flexibility as far as work hours/working from home

      Advice to Management

      Reduce work days from 10 hours to 9 or people will keep getting burned out.

      Fisher Investments2018-10-14
    • Helpful (5)

      "A good option for a job in finance"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Client Service Associate in Camas, WA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Fisher Investments full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      - 50% contribution match - Intensive training program - Fast growing company - Plenty of internal transition opportunities - Open workspace and enjoyable team members - Flexible time off; unlimited partial PTO and 18 days vacation per year - Quality healthcare, 100% covered - Ethical financial company

      Cons

      - Long hours (10 per day) - Isolated location - Position can seem like an underappreciated grunt-work job - Inefficient back-up system

      Advice to Management

      Find ways to allow employees to work from home or at least maintain a normal 8-hour work day without decreasing pay. Be more innovative with modernizing the business structure.

      Fisher Investments2018-09-09
    • "Great Place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Fisher Investments full-time

      Pros

      Good learning and advancement opportunities

      Cons

      can't think of any except long hours

      Fisher Investments2018-09-10
    • "Good place out of college. Hard to advance"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Investment Operations Associate in Camas, WA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Fisher Investments full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Continued education, good coworkers, good middle management, interesting projects, good healthcare

      Cons

      Low pay, long hours, repetitive tasks

      Advice to Management

      Pay more

      Fisher Investments2018-06-14
    • Helpful (6)

      "Great place to work, but expect to work hard--cause we all do."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Camas, WA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Fisher Investments full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      -Clients first Education: Clients are provided with education and in depth market conversations, not simply asset allocation reviews Attention: Clients receive proactive communication in multiple formats, from seminars and in person events with our Research Team and Investment Counselors to webinars, weekly recaps, and a website that is updated daily with current events and our thoughts/research. Access: No automated...

      Show More

      Cons

      Long hours--While they do kick you out at 6pm (the computers literally turn off if you’re still working), many of the roles have built in overtime—which on the plus side, you get paid more. But frankly, what financial services company doesn’t expect long hours? I’m still working fewer hours than both of my other bank and brokerage...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Let us figure out work-life balance, instead of mandating the hours. Keep the total hours the same but give us the opportunity for a flex schedule (maybe even after your first or second year as a reward)—let us work later in the day, or occasionally a weekend, or take 3 hour lunches and come in early and stay late that day. If we get our work done, within which hours we get it done, shouldn’t matter—as long as we’re...

      Show More
      Fisher Investments2017-02-28
    • Helpful (16)

      "Fisher is a poor money manager with a strong sales and marketing team"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Fisher Investments full-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      -Opportunity to move around the firm -Solid people -Great benefits -Quality customer service -Truly look out for clients best interests

      Cons

      -Long hours -Low pay -Oppressive culture -Poor management -Low investment returns -Weak bonuses even in bull markets -Portfolio managers are clueless -Too much home grown talent -Outside views are not valued -Horrible facilities, the WA office is new but the CA offices are falling apart (the bathroom stalls have doors that don't close/lock) -No flexibility of hours

      Advice to Management

      Damien, I'm not sure you can, but I'd look to make changes to the Investment Policy Committee. Poor portfolio results are not acceptable, even if the PMs have been loyal to KF over the years. These guys wouldn't have jobs if they worked anywhere else on Wall Street. If you are a client of Fisher Investments I recommend you ask your Investment Counselor for a composite that includes 1,3,5,7,10 year returns.

      Fisher Investments2017-03-03
    Found 545 reviews