Fitbit "great people" Reviews | Glassdoor

Fitbit Employee Reviews about "great people"

Updated Oct 16, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
56%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Fitbit CEO James Park
James Park
189 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Fitbit full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people with good balance. Awesome place to work. Fun projects and very open culture.

    Cons

    Company is growing like crazy; lots of technical debt that now has to be repaid.

    Fitbit2016-06-03
  2. "Itssssssss Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fitbit

    Pros

    A lot of great people

    Cons

    At Fitbit sr. management is subpar

    Advice to Management

    Quit

    Fitbit2018-10-16
  3. Helpful (12)

    "Once great, now troubled."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Fitbit full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    * A truly inspiring mission. * Products that really help people. * Lot's of opportunity to improve things. * Some great people trying really hard to make things work.

    Cons

    * Poor leadership from the executive team. * In-experienced/junior Directors. * Difficulties executing. * Poor strategic and tactical planning.

    Advice to Management

    Hire some experienced directors. Replace some of the executive team with new outsiders. Invest better in your employees and culture.

    Fitbit2018-05-19
  4. "Hardware Design Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - HW Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Fitbit for more than a year

    Pros

    Some great talents, and great people.

    Cons

    Poor people management, need to focus more on employee satisfaction and innovation

    Advice to Management

    Employee satisfaction should be a priority

    Fitbit2018-03-22
  5. "Fitbit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Fitbit full-time

    Pros

    Great people to work with Staffs are always friendly and more than willing to help one another

    Cons

    Low pay No career opportunities Managers are blinded by arbitrarily chosen metric instead of focusing on quality of work Lack of investment for employees' development If you are hired as a contractor, expect to test your limits of your patience

    Advice to Management

    Please invest in your own employees and focus on retaining talented people who are dedicated to your company.

    Fitbit2017-04-19
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Marketing Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Coordinator in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fitbit full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, mission driven and fun place to work

    Cons

    Upper management doesn't know what it's doing

    Fitbit2017-04-04
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great people, not great decision making"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Program Manager in San Francisco, CA
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Fitbit full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Great people to work with - The brand and products are widely recognized by people in a positive way - Work life balance can be okay depending on your group and manager

    Cons

    - Key decisions are often by a committee of executives and if everyone doesn't agree than decisions will get stalled... but your ship date is supposed to stay the same - Recently morale has been low because the low stock price means your equity has little value and there's a wave of attrition with a lot of the long-time employees

    Advice to Management

    Give employees more confidence in the vision for the company

    Fitbit2017-04-06
  8. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fitbit for less than a year

    Pros

    Interesting company, great people. Interns are treated extremely well. Personal growth was always front of mind with my lead and team.

    Cons

    I often felt uninspired by some of the products I was working on. At times I definitely felt like I was treated as "the intern" - not in a hurtful way, but more so I felt like less was expected of me which sort of bugged me.

    Advice to Management

    Keeping helping young individuals grow. Give out more responsibility in small ways.

    Fitbit2016-06-22
  9. Helpful (11)

    "Great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Mechanical Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fitbit full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with. Happy Hour every Friday, workout meetings every Wednesdays and great new exciting products to work on.

    Cons

    No defined development process. Fitbit is still internally in startup mode and the fast chaotic work environment is not for everyone. Best suited for highly motivated self-starters.

    Fitbit2016-03-10
  10. Helpful (34)

    "Tech company that lacks arrogance!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fitbit full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - lacks arrogance - tons of passion for the mission of the company and its products - easy to move around the company (great place for new grads or career changing) - interesting projects/products with hard problems to solve - flexible work hours - Fun people to work with even though it's growing faster than we can handle at this point, some how we have continued to hire great people. - The ability to reach... out to James or Eric, they are such humble executives.

    Show More

    Cons

    - HR Benefits are bad! (If you are a man with a pregnant wife, I'd suggest a google or facebook) - No annual reviews (which is ok, I guess) But that means no bonuses or any sort of promotions. - legacy employees in management positions that they should not be in - The office is a mess! Limited space

    Advice to Management

    I think the executive team is doing great! Awesome job on the IPO and continue doing what you are doing. HR needs some help. The new 10% bonus plan is kind of a joke for the bay area, especially since taxes will take half. Most of our competitors offer at least a 20% bonus. Salaries need to be reviewed and so do our managers, they need to held accountable.

    Fitbit2015-08-28
Found 15 reviews