Five Guys Burgers & Fries Reviews | Glassdoor

Five Guys Burgers & Fries Reviews

Updated Jul 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1267 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Five Guys Burgers & Fries CEO Jerry Murrell
Jerry Murrell
569 Ratings
Pros
  • "got free food traded food with other fast food chains(in 202 reviews)

  • "One free meal per shift and unlimited free drinks(in 139 reviews)

Cons
  • "Worked long hours unnecessary for nothing(in 56 reviews)

  • "Hourly pay barely over minimum wage(in 47 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Phenomenal Company, Fast-Paced But Not Difficult"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Crew Member in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Five Guys Burgers & Fries full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great upward mobility. Love the company culture.

    Cons

    Fast-paced and sweaty. Part of the company culture is the expectation of perfection- but rewards the hard work.

    Advice to Management

    Five Guys provides great incentives for hard-working crew members: Make sure they know, and are inspired to do well.

    Five Guys Burgers & Fries2019-06-10

    Five Guys Burgers & Fries Response

    July 1, 2019Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for the five-star review!

  2. "Amazing place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Five Guys Burgers & Fries full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Awesome and friendly place to work

    Cons

    Hours of work and shifts. Turnover

    Five Guys Burgers & Fries2019-07-15
  3. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Leader in Tallahassee, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Five Guys Burgers & Fries full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The job is not hard they give you all the tools you need. Very clean

    Cons

    They give way too many chances.

    Advice to Management

    Don't assume no one knows anything. Check behind everyone.

    Five Guys Burgers & Fries2019-07-11
  4. "I work hard so I earn my spot."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Five Guys Burgers & Fries full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    U learn a lot about Business and food and cooking and u can plan yours hours if u a good worker.

    Cons

    I really didn’t get paid like how I was post to for the type of position i was which was a manger , hard work less money .

    Advice to Management

    Make sure all yours employees are ok and make there working area comfortable and etc.

    Five Guys Burgers & Fries2019-07-10
  5. "Great First Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Crew Member in Brunswick, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Five Guys Burgers & Fries part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, Free meal on break, nice coworkers and manager

    Cons

    Nothing really bad about the company

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Five Guys Burgers & Fries2019-07-09
  6. "It’s okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Five Guys Burgers & Fries

    Pros

    Good pay, very flexible, great first job.

    Cons

    Lack of communication, lack of care

    Advice to Management

    Improve relations with your red shirts.

    Five Guys Burgers & Fries2019-07-19
  7. "It was good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Crew Member 

      I worked at Five Guys Burgers & Fries part-time

      Pros

      Flexible with hours, gave free food and drinks

      Cons

      Scheduling could get quite confusing.

      Five Guys Burgers & Fries2019-07-02
    • "You can find something better"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Front End Cashier in Cockeysville, MD
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at Five Guys Burgers & Fries part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      It was easy money. One free lunch only if you work six hours or more.

      Cons

      Hours were few and far between. Can get very boring and tedious. There was favoritism and laziness all around. The hiring manager that hired me even left for something better.

      Five Guys Burgers & Fries2019-07-10
    • "Ok place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Cook 

        I have been working at Five Guys Burgers & Fries part-time

        Pros

        Free food and drinks during shift

        Cons

        Low pay no insurance and tips arent that good if at all

        Five Guys Burgers & Fries2019-07-10
      • "it is a fun job"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Crew Member in Grove City, OH
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Five Guys Burgers & Fries full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        cross trained on every station

        Cons

        I get non paid breaks

        Advice to Management

        to do the right thing you dont always have to do it the right way

        Five Guys Burgers & Fries2019-06-23

        Five Guys Burgers & Fries Response

        July 1, 2019Talent Acquisition

        Thanks for sharing your feedback here. We're glad you've found our cross-training to be advantageous to your career growth.

      Found 1267 reviews