Five Guys Burgers & Fries "minimum wage" Reviews | Glassdoor

Five Guys Burgers & Fries Employee Reviews about "minimum wage"

Updated Nov 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
58%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Five Guys Burgers & Fries  Jerry Murrell
Jerry Murrell
608 Ratings
Pros
  • "got free food traded food with other fast food chains(in 222 reviews)

  • "Good pay, Free meal on break, nice coworkers and manager(in 145 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours shifts without breaks(in 60 reviews)

  • "Difficulty of duties fairly high for minimum wage or(in 49 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "minimum wage"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fry Cook in Inglewood, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Five Guys Burgers & Fries part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working at five guys has been a great experience, it has helped me to work on my customer service and work on myself as well.

    Cons

    The downside of five guys is the pay rate, we are payed $11.20 and minimum wage is now $15.00

    Five Guys Burgers & Fries2019-08-19
  2. "Assistant Manager Quit after a week and a half"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Five Guys Burgers & Fries part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The job itself is easy

    Cons

    Absolutely nothing discussed during the interview process was actually true except the crappy pay. Promised at least 40 hours as Assistant Manager and barely saw 60 hours in the two weeks I was on the schedule. When you're there, you're strictly customer focused. All training videos and certifications are done at home off the clock. They don't perform background checks on employees, so you're most likely standing... next to aggravated assault in the first degree. It felt like I was in jail. Employees curse and throw food at each other and they are too ignorant to realize how foolish they look. Its a very homophobic environment. It doesn't even pay to clean house because Assistant Managers make $2 more than minimum wage which is absolutely appalling.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Reevaluate your pay scale in New York City. Spend a little money on background checks.

    Five Guys Burgers & Fries2019-11-30
  3. "Not Worth It"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Crew Member 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Five Guys Burgers & Fries full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced work environment. Very easy work overall. Good job for people who love working on a team. If you work hard, it is easy to move up in the work place.

    Cons

    Management & higher ups do not seem to care for their employees. Pay is too little for the amount of work they expect out of crew members. I have worked there 10 months and not once been given the opportunity for a raise, I make minimum wage. Managers do not talk to you one on one about your work performance. A lot of gossip between managers & co-workers, specifically about other crew members. A very toxic... and negative environment behind the scenes. If you are unhappy working, they do not care. No set schedule either. I went from 35 hours to 24 in one week.

    Show More
    Five Guys Burgers & Fries2019-06-13
  4. "Micromanaging and Underpaid, but great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Crew Member in Meadville, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Five Guys Burgers & Fries part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    In general, the people I worked with were very down to earth and friendly

    Cons

    - The secret shopper bonus program almost never pays out - Low pay, slightly above minimum wage but with unbelievably high expectations - Extremely corporatized in all aspects, corporate disconnected from workers

    Five Guys Burgers & Fries2019-05-23
  5. "Long, hard, and rude af customers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Crew Member 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Five Guys Burgers & Fries part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free food and coworkers are usually cool

    Cons

    Long hours, minimum wage, rude customers, corporate is cheap and will cut hours, some managers are jerks and make you feel stupid.

    Advice to Management

    Stop with the low wages, being cheap, cutting hours, and having certain managers making people feel like crap

    Five Guys Burgers & Fries2019-05-31
  6. "Crew member"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Five Guys Burgers & Fries part-time

    Pros

    You can get tones of hours if you are good. It is easy to make over time

    Cons

    Minimum wage and took an entire year of working there to get a 40 cent raise

    Five Guys Burgers & Fries2018-10-09
  7. "Only ok but par for the course fast food job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Logan, UT

    I worked at Five Guys Burgers & Fries part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    High paced and pretty fun when you work with a good team. Manager and shift supervisors are good at jumping in and helping when the store gets busy.

    Cons

    Poor compensation. You start at minimum wage and stay there until you come in and beg for a 50 cent raise.

    Five Guys Burgers & Fries2018-09-25
  8. "Nope nope nope"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Crewman in Mentor, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Five Guys Burgers & Fries part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers are fun and energetic.

    Cons

    This place was hell and completely unorganized and poorly managed. You have to do a lot of work with very little pay. And they only start you at .05 cents more then minimum wage.

    Advice to Management

    Get your shot together and stop treating everyone who works for you poorly. Listen to your employees when multiple people come to you with a problem or an idea for a solution.

    Five Guys Burgers & Fries2018-06-03
  9. Helpful (1)

    "(Huntsville location) *Great place to work*"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Crew Member in Huntsville, TX
    Recommends

    I have been working at Five Guys Burgers & Fries part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    VERY laid back work environment. Co-workers friendly & work as team. Extremely easy work. Flexible work schedule. Easy hiring process. Employees eat FREE!

    Cons

    Paid bi weekly via paper check Hourly pay barely over minimum wage

    Advice to Management

    Management is awesome & down to earth!!!! (John, is the general manager & he is super cool)

    Five Guys Burgers & Fries2018-04-13
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Red shirt/crew member review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Crew Member in Grove City, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Five Guys Burgers & Fries part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly, lively, atmosphere. Get to make a quality product and serve up smiles. No specific cleaning assignments allocated or written down for you to complete.

    Cons

    It can get busy as heck at times. I mean busy. To the point where you spend you're whole 8 hr shift in high octane mode. It's not worth it when you're getting paid minimum wage.

    Advice to Management

    Promote people based on performance, qualifications, merit, and education.

    Five Guys Burgers & Fries2018-04-04
Found 66 reviews