KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Five Talent

Is this your company?

Five Talent

Add a Review

Five Talent Reviews

Updated Feb 26, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8 of over 8 reviews

4.6
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Five Talent CEO Preston Callicott (no image)
Preston Callicott
4 Ratings

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Amazing company to work for in 2020, great people and leadership

    Feb 26, 2021 - A Happy Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Company encouraged continuous learning and education. Always provided anything you needed to move forward.

    Cons

    No cons at that time, I didn't go through the acquisition and can't speak for current practices but prior it was an amazing place to work.

    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Former Intern, less than 1 year

    Valuable Internship

    May 9, 2019 - Internship in Bend, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A great atmosphere to work in, with coworkers who are very willing to lend a hand.

    Cons

    Onboarding process was still seemed quite new, but it looked like it was improving.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    50/50

    Oct 1, 2018 - Software Engineer in Bend, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Variety of projects. Management is very nice and seems like they want everyone to be happy and succeed. Free lunch and "tech talks" on Fridays.

    Cons

    Not a large emphasis on writing quality code. Accountable for 40 hours of billable time per week meaning breaks, lunch, tech discussions with co-workers, helping other co-workers, basically anytime you are not writing code it's coming out of your pocket. Which means that working over 40 hours a week is very common and basically required. On-boarding process is still getting fleshed out. Not a lot of discussion around best practices because everyone is focused on getting their code written under the estimated time.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Five Talent Response

    CTO

    Thank you for your feedback! We always welcome and encourage feedback and will strive to take your advice to improve Five Talent! We are especially troubled with your comment about quality of code. This is VERY important to us. Over a year ago we formalized our process for lead developers to do a code review of all code checked into a project. These lead developers have passed our internal review and have been taught our best practices and what to look for. This has helped increase our quality a lot! In addition to that we do keep our wiki up to date with best practices and suggestions for code improvement and encourage all employees to review and edit the wiki often. These changes as well as many others is apart of our effort to constantly improve quality but we would love more feedback and ideas! Yes, on-boarding process is still getting fleshed out. I don't think we will ever be stable with that process as it is an ongoing learning process that we continually try to improve! Regarding the 40 hours of billable time. I understand the confusion, we had this question brought up a few weeks ago. Our stance is that all full time employees work 40 hours a week but that does not mean they need to log 40 hours of billable time. In fact, many areas in our wiki as well as communication from our project managers emphasis that nobody will have 40 hours of billable time per week. We do not anticipate anyone to log their breaks as well. Quite often people have sub-40 hours logged per week. However, since this is brought up, we must not be doing a good job of communicating that, so thank you for bringing this to our attention! We will over communicate this in the future.

  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    So Far So Good

    Aug 30, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I'm fairly new but excited to be part of this company. They care about their employees and treat them with respect. The hours are flexible which is GREAT! Professional team that cares about their work.

    Cons

    I'm sure I'll find some but none for now.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Five Talent Response

    CTO

    Glad your are here! Please keep the reviews coming and let us know how we can improve!

  5. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great place to work!

    Jul 18, 2015 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Seasoned, hardworking professionals. Respectful, positive work environment and great learning opportunities. Enjoy going to work every day. The two owners set the tone, and have outstanding work relationship and business ethic.

    Cons

    Cons or downsides.. none come to mind.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Five Talent Response

    CTO

    Thank you for your review. We always appreciate the feedback!

  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great place to work, great people to work for

    Sep 13, 2015 - Junior Software Developer in Bend, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Relaxed environment. Kind, knowledgeable, and helpful coworkers. Great, respectful management. Interesting and varied projects.

    Cons

    Hard to be indoors on nice days in Bend.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Five Talent Response

    CTO

    Thank you for your review. We always appreciate the feedback!

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Software Engineer

    May 19, 2015 - Software Engineer in Bend, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great culture and learning opportunities

    Cons

    Typical cons when working in a consulting company.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Five Talent Response

    CTO

    Thank you for your review. We always appreciate the feedback!

  8. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Software Engineer

    May 20, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Independence to work on projects Fun atmosphere They buy Friday lunch Respectful management

    Cons

    Tracking your time Not having enough time for deadlines Constantly shifting priorities and projects

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Five Talent Response

    CTO

    Thank you for your review! We would love to find an easier way to track our time or invoice clients. If you have any suggestions we would love to chat! Regarding the time for deadlines. Please feel free to voice your thoughts to your project manager. Our projects need to be a success from all perspectives, from the client deadlines to the amount of time a developer has to do a good job!

Viewing 1 - 8 of 8 English Reviews

Popular Careers with Five Talent Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Five Talent? Share Your Experiences

Five Talent logo
or