Flashbay "career progression" Reviews | Glassdoor

Flashbay Employee Reviews about "career progression"

Updated Mar 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
70%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Flashbay CEO  Steve Webster (no image)
Steve Webster
68 Ratings
Pros
  • "Excellent work life balance with understanding and professional management team(in 24 reviews)

  • "Overall great working environment, strong values and relaxed atmosphere(in 9 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "career progression"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Such a big joke"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Flashbay full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -great colleagyes because everyone is in the same mess -free drinks once a month

    Cons

    -salary is super low -the challenges are difficult to achieve because the team leaders are always winning it -micromanagement: every week someone is fired from the company even if they are doing a lot of efforts to be successful -managers are unprofessional, they don't know how to manage, toxic environment. They will be on your back all day long asking you to achieve some activity targets when they will be chatting and chilling all day long. They will be super rude and sometimes disrespectful. -no career progression. In fact, the managers are so dumb they won't be able to become a manager somewhere else, so they stay in the company even if they speak badly about this company. -they ask you to put fake glassdoor reviews when you join the company. -a lot of unfairness. Managers stole your new business by doing duplicates in the customer database. - really repetitive and boring. After 3 months you master the product knowledge and then every day is the same.

    Continue reading
    Flashbay2020-03-02
  2. Helpful (1)

    "I wish I never signed the contract, worst company to work for!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Flashbay full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - None. Very horrible place to work

    Cons

    - fire and hire mentality - every week someone voluntarily leaves the company - when someone leaves, lots of untrue gossip spreads about the person - the work environment created by micromanagement - the managers are unprofessional, they have no clue how to lead a successful team - Management are harsh to staff and run the show - they threaten to push you out of your job if you show you are unhappy - they consider stuff like a free teabag(only black tea) or prosecco from tesco as benefits - you can not run late even 2 mins its too much - Lack of career progression - Lack of trust in employees - I am pretty sure that they fake their good glassdor reviews, I can not imagine that someone enjoys working for this company

    Continue reading
    Flashbay2020-02-03

    Flashbay Response

    February 16, 2020HR Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us and I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your short time working at Flashbay. Your experience at Flashbay certainly does not represent the normal Flashbay experience and our high number of long term employees with 5+ years service are testament to that. We offer a wide range of benefits in our London HQ, including filtered water, a subsidised gym membership, 30 days holiday, a pension scheme, perkbox subscription, monthly company social events, a monthly lunch for all employees, weekly gym classes and a monthly massage. These benefits are widely communicated, available to all employees and we regularly receive positive feedback from our team regarding the non-cash benefits on offer at Flashbay. Regarding working hours, while we do ask our employees to be punctual so that our customers receive the timely responses that they deserve, we have a flexible arrival time policy where team members can arrive at any time during a 30 minute window at the start of their working day. I can assure you we don't 'fake' any of our reviews and we very much encourage feedback from all employees throughout their employment and also hold exit interviews prior to their departure. If you feel there is additional information that you did not share prior to your departure that you feel would be of benefit to Flashbay, then please send an email to hr.uk@flashbay.com. We welcome the opportunity to discuss this further.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Fake nice words"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Account Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Flashbay full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Clean office Free fruit and coffee

    Cons

    No career progression except for a few favored people Bullism Under pressure and control Favoritism for the new starter No value to the person

    Continue reading
    Flashbay2019-10-13

    Flashbay Response

    October 17, 2019HR Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us via Glassdoor. There are many great benefits to working at Flashbay including our modern offices, delicious coffee (we recently upgraded to an even fancier machine!) and diverse workforce! With regards career progression, we do have a relatively flat structure which is a benefit in many ways however we did recently revise our sales promotion criteria which now offers accelerated career progression for our top performers. We value all of our employees and providing a good working environment is very important to us and our high number of long term employees with 5+ years service are testament to that. We actively encourage all of our employees to provide feedback, both positive and negative, on a regular basis including during their Exit interview. If you feel there is additional information that you did not share prior to your departure that you feel would be of benefit to Flashbay, then please send an email to hr.uk@flashbay.com. We welcome the opportunity to discuss this further.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (7)

    "****Beware of fake reviews****"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Account Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Flashbay full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nothing positive left. Used to be good for some, not anymore. The coffee is free and the office is clean, right, but who really cares...

    Cons

    From a professional point of view, no chance for career progression, even if you get to be promoted to Team Leader: - as a Salesperson, you will run out of things to learn within a few months. - as a Team Leader, you will function exactly like a salesperson for 90% of the time; your only extra duties will be to pass on orders (threats) to salespeople. No room for creativity/input. From a human point of view, well, it is simply inhuman. There is no appreciation towards employees, and the amount of work for the money you make is simply unbalanced. The feeling I had is that they have no interest in ensuring people stay long, quite the contrary. They tend to favour new starters by pumping them up with good leads, while more senior staff often see themselves surpassed in the new business rankings. You don’t hit your targets if you don’t bring enough new business, regardless of how much repeat business you bring. The job itself is quite easy, what’s hard is the pace/amount of things to get done. It is really only good if you are really young (they prefer you young - more controllable/fragile), inexperienced (first sales job) or extremely flexible (for most of us, work is a necessity, but this company will seriously test your resilience). I could spend hours telling you about the many degrading things that have occurred to some people (shouting, offending in public, bullying, mobbing), but all you need to know is: - in my opinion that niche market is in decline (and innovation really isn’t Flashbay’s strength). - the money isn’t as good as they want you to believe. - your dignity could be crushed.

    Continue reading
    Flashbay2019-06-29

    Flashbay Response

    July 17, 2019HR Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us on Glassdoor. There are many great benefits to working at Flashbay including our modern offices, delicious coffee (we recently upgraded to an even fancier machine!), diverse environment and monthly social events! Providing a good working environment is very important to us and and our high number of long term employees with 5+ years service are testament to that. Our basic salaries are competitive and our commission scheme is very generous and was recently further enhanced by a commission accelerator scheme. As in any sales role there are targets to be achieved every month - our targets are dynamic and representative of markets and seasonality making them very achievable. I noted from your review that your a former employee however unfortunately I am unable to see when you left Flashbay but your comments imply it was quite a long time ago. Flashbay has undergone many changes over the past 24 months and I would like to share a few of those with you. We appointed a new Global Sales Director and introduced a new Team Leader and Group Leader structure to allow for more effective leadership across the business and to develop new ideas and ways of doing things. We also redefined our sales promotion criteria which offers accelerated career progression for top performers and now have an Account Manager role which is perfectly suited to more experienced employees who focus on valuable repeat business customers and receive an enhanced commission structure to recognise the benefit of the important part they play in the team.. We actively encourage all of our employees to provide feedback, both positive and negative, on a regular basis, We conduct exit interviews to learn from their experience with us. If you feel there is additional information that you did not share prior to your departure that you feel would be of benefit to Flashbay, then please send an email to hr.uk@flashbay.com. We welcome the opportunity to discuss this further.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Account manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Flashbay

    Pros

    Sales training is half decent

    Cons

    No relationship between countries, poor management, no career progression, basic transactional sales

    Flashbay2018-11-21

    Flashbay Response

    January 7, 2019HR Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us on Glassdoor. We’re very proud of the training we provide and have recently further developed our internal training with an online platform. With regards career progression, we do have a relatively flat structure which is a benefit in many ways however we did recently revise our sales promotion criteria which now offers accelerated career progression for our top performers. I am sorry to hear that you did not build relationships with colleagues from other teams - we receive regular feedback from our employees that one of the best things about working at Flashbay is having colleagues from all over the world. We make a conscious effort to ensure that our employees socialise together regularly as we believe this is an important part of a happy working life. In accordance with this, as of November 2018, our quarterly social events are now held monthly. We actively encourage all of our employees to provide feedback, both positive and negative, on a regular basis, We conduct exit interviews to learn from their experience with us. If you feel there is additional information that you did not share prior to your departure that you feel would be of benefit to Flashbay, then please send an email to hr.uk@flashbay.com. We welcome the opportunity to discuss this further.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Flashbay full-time

    Pros

    Good earnings if you work for the right market. Good work-life balance.

    Cons

    No career progression. Exaggerated working standards towards micromanagement.

    Continue reading
    Flashbay2018-02-21
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great sales experience and rewarding commission scheme"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Flashbay full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Commission scheme is very rewarding and motivating. It's also very transparent so you get to see how much you earn for each sale. Location is nice and the offices are very diverse with people coming from all over Europe.

    Cons

    Career progression at the moment seems fairly limited as a sales account manager. There are openings for promotion to become a group leader however these are infrequent.

    Flashbay2013-11-21

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 7 reviews