KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Fleet Farm

Engaged Employer

Fleet Farm

Add a Review

Fleet Farm Reviews

Updated May 19, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 534 of over 540 reviews

3.0
48%
Recommend to a Friend
39%
Approve of CEO
Fleet Farm President and Chief Executive Officer John Schaefer (no image)
John Schaefer
9 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Good pay and they treat you well.(in 37 reviews)
  • "great people to work with(in 33 reviews)
  • "Great coworkers and fairly flexible with part time hours(in 29 reviews)
  • "Flexible Hours (Great for college students)(in 27 reviews)
  • "Good benefits and good at promoting from within the company(in 18 reviews)
Cons
  • "Poor Management company(in 57 reviews)
  • "They will not bavk you if you voice you thoughts of a bad manager.(in 18 reviews)
  • "Bad training.(in 7 reviews)
  • "Too many supervisors for one location, poor communication, upper management could care less for employees unless you are one of the 'favorites' very strict attendance we are humans we DO get sick or might be 1 minute late every once in a while, we feel expendable which is kind of true but at least make an effort to get to know us, we arent robots...(in 6 reviews)
  • "Bad Leadership, Boring, No Incentives(in 6 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Fleet Farm and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Cool

    Apr 23, 2022 - Project Manager in Cal-Vel, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It’s kinda bad if you ask me

    Cons

    It’s very bad like fr

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Not the company it once was

    Apr 14, 2022 - Administrative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They finally have an employee discount, although they are often out of things you want to buy. The new building is very nice, although way too big for such a small company. Flex time is nice on paper, but you will get yelled at for using it.

    Cons

    After the investment firm bought out the company, people have been getting laid off left and right. No one is safe, and this is reflected in the overall attitude and mood of the employees. Instead of being a team, coworkers are more worried about being next on the chopping block. You WILL get thrown under the bus if it saves someone higher up. It is not a happy place to work. They will assign you new duties as the staff gets culled and not pay you for taking on more responsibilities. Management is NOT understanding of this and will expect the same amount of work from you even though you have twice as much on your plate. If you have any sort of medical issue or disability-STEER CLEAR! They will NOT accommodate you and will penalize you for needing extra time or assistance to complete projects or need time off for appointments.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Help customers and stock shelves

    May 1, 2022 - Sales Team Member in Green Bay, WI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I enjoy my department, nice staff and customers, easy to catch on to tasks

    Cons

    I wasn’t really trained except on registers. I didn’t know they had phones to scan and help you find places for things so for a few days I spent hours trying to put stuff away without help until someone saw me struggling and helped. Also communication there isn’t the best. They’ve scheduled me on days I specifically said I couldn’t work or scheduled me for a day in the same week I’m working and said it was like that the whole time when I know it wasn’t. And also have given me points against me because I didn’t show up for one of those days because it was literally the next day and they changed it and they said nothing to me.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Avoid if possible

    May 19, 2022 - Hardware Specialist in Mankato, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are a few pros of working here. The pay was better than the surrounding businesses. The employee discount was decent.

    Cons

    Scheduling was awful. They like to schedule you 10 minutes short of earning a paid break but then force employees to stay late to clean, place add, etc. Don't dare punch in early for your scheduled shift or you will be written up. Also if you leave at the end of your scheduled shift at the close you will be written up. Stores have high turnover rate.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    It was alright

    May 15, 2022 - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - fun people to work with

    Cons

    - poor scheduling, often under staffed - pay wasn't great for the amount of responsibilities i had

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Don't do it

    Mar 8, 2022 - Material Handler in Chippewa Falls, WI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Like the people that were on my team.

    Cons

    Lack of consistency from management teams Pay is very low for the amount of physical labor required. Menards is paying 4.50 more an hour for the same position Don't get sick within the first year, they will dock you for it, meaning 1 day without paid sick leave earns you two points, they don't care the reason, 11 points you're fired. They don't value their employees

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Stay away

    May 1, 2022 - Annoymus in Sioux City, IA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good co-workers and flexible hours

    Cons

    No matter how your area performs, you will have your hours reduced due to a corporate focus on profit no matter what. This problem is so bad that areas of the store have now began to fight with one another over hours, there are not enough to go around to keep the store operating, yet they still continue to be reduced. The Sioux City store is famous locally for never having enough cashiers, only 1 is scheduled a shift during the weekdays. Ironic that a company focused only on profit would not staff those who collect revenue.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    What to expect if you work here

    Mar 4, 2022 - Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are some really good people who genuinely want to help people at some of these stores, if you meet one, you will always remember them.

    Cons

    Lowest paying retailer for this kind of work out there Severely understaffed, management gives direction but they are not leaders, just bosses, most of the good managers that spoke up about the wrongs of this company have been chased off or let go, senior management is just about feeding egos. There is a reason this company is always hiring - just look at all the corporate people leaving!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Average

    May 2, 2022 - Warehouse Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Easy work Fun coworkers Flexible scheduling for students

    Cons

    Poor management Blamed for other departments failings

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Cashier Part Time Summer Job

    Apr 12, 2022 - Cashier in Brooklyn Park, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Caring coworkers, easy to ask for help, quick and easy training, only 1-2 times overtime

    Cons

    Large arrangement of products to know, very short breaks (15 minutes), fast paced and short staffed

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 534 Reviews

Fleet Farm Reviews FAQs

Fleet Farm has an overall rating of 3.0 out of 5, based on over 540 reviews left anonymously by employees. 48% of employees would recommend working at Fleet Farm to a friend and 33% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -4% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Fleet Farm employees rate their compensation and benefits as 2.6 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Fleet Farm. This rating has decreased by -7% over the last 12 months.

48% of Fleet Farm employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Fleet Farm 3.0 out of 5 for work life balance, 2.9 for culture and values and 2.7 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Fleet Farm to be compensation, benefits, coworkers and the cons to be career development, culture, management.

Popular Careers with Fleet Farm Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Fleet Farm? Share Your Experiences

or

Fleet Farm Photos

+ Add Photo
Fleet Farm photo of: Typical Store setup
Fleet Farm photo of: Store Front
Fleet Farm photo of: Excited to welcome our first customers in a new store!
Fleet Farm photo of: Our first group of In-Store HR Business Partners!
Fleet Farm photo of: Fleet Farm Auto Service Center
Fleet Farm photo of: Front of store

Have you worked here?

See All Photos