Flextronics Reviews in Austin, TX | Glassdoor

Flextronics Austin Reviews

Updated October 4, 2017
89 reviews

Filter

Filter

Austin, TX Area

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Flextronics CEO and Director Mike McNamara
Mike McNamara
47 Ratings

89 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • work life balance is not considered (in 37 reviews)

  • Sometimes upper management can have this "I know it all mentality" (in 21 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "Supply Chain Mgmnt"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Flextronics (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Gain experience, can move into better positions quickly.

    Cons

    low pay, low work/life balance, not much job satisfaction.... you to well or even great and it's more, more, more.

    Advice to Management

    better software, teach management how to run teams and not just deadlines.

    Flextronics Response

    Sep 12, 2016 – Global Talent Strategy & Operations

    We appreciate you taking the time to review Flex, and thank you for the feedback.


  2. "Solder's"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Solder's in Austin, TX
    Former Contractor - Solder's in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Flextronics as a contractor (More than a year)

    Pros

    Work is easy and flexible work hours. Easy becoming full-time.

    Cons

    Company business is always up an down many times every year's. Always laying off many time every months. Employee's and contractor's have no job security with this company.

  3. Helpful (2)

    "Manufacturing Industry Decline"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering Technician in Austin, TX
    Former Employee - Engineering Technician in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Flextronics (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Some wonderful people to work with. Very diverse group of people.

    Cons

    Constant layoffs keep you worried. Projects come in and once a process has been setup, the project moves overseas while the vast majority of employees are let go. The industry is very up and down.

    Advice to Management

    Know your people and stop looking at them in terms of numbers.


  4. Helpful (8)

    "Used to be a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Manager in Austin, TX
    Current Employee - Engineering Manager in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Flextronics full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    I have been able to travel around the world and spend months in exotic locations I would never have otherwise visited. There's a high mix of customers each with their own benefits and challenges. Rarely are two days ever the same.

    Cons

    The compensation is awful. I didn't realize just how bad it was until I started looking outside. We'll get a 2% raise in the summer and we're told we're lucky to get it. They then jack up our insurance premiums, erasing the raise and then some.

    The mantra is do more more more with less less less to the point we're paralyzed. Nothing gets done because we don't have enough people to do it.

    Advice to Management

    Yelling at your supervisors and engineers for not getting work done isn't a solution. We're all working as hard as we can. Consider hiring more people and paying your key contributors what they're worth. We're in a downward spiral where people leave, you work us harder, threaten us with our jobs, which just causes more people to leave.

    Flextronics Response

    Sep 12, 2016 – Global Talent Strategy & Operations

    We appreciate you taking the time to review Flex, and thank you for the feedback. We encourage you to reach out directly to the Talent Management team members who are located in Austin, TX.


  5. Helpful (1)

    "TE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Engineer in Austin, TX
    Current Employee - Quality Engineer in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Flextronics full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great company. Very friendly crew. great people all around as long as you know what youre doing.

    Cons

    Not much room for improvement. Company does not reward well. Have to beg to be rewarded some times.

    Flextronics Response

    Sep 12, 2016 – Global Talent Strategy & Operations

    We appreciate you taking the time to review Flex, and thank you for the feedback. We encourage you to reach out directly to the Talent Management team members who are now located in Austin, TX.


  6. Helpful (7)

    "Long hours, unsupportive management and low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Production Specialist in Austin, TX
    Current Employee - Lead Production Specialist in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flextronics full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Lots of hours, good people to work with, management needs improvement, can be a fun place to work, if you love hard work and low pay this is the best place for you. Temps outnumber regular employees and conversion of temps can take a few years. Benefits are expensive but decent. Decent on site cafe.

    Cons

    No way to plan for family, or weekends, lots of lay offs, more than a few bits of nepotism going on. Management care little for their employees.

    Advice to Management

    Pay your workers what they are worth, and recognize the contributions that they put forth with decent wages.p

    Flextronics Response

    Sep 12, 2016 – Global Talent Strategy & Operations

    We appreciate you taking the time to review Flex, and thank you for the feedback. We encourage you to reach out directly to the Talent Management team located in Austin, TX.


  7. "Work all types of work no fix position.Need to improve employee put on a fix position."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Work All Types of Work No Fix Position in Austin, TX
    Former Employee - Work All Types of Work No Fix Position in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Good place to work at Flextronics.Due to personal reason I have to leave Flextronics.But interest to work again in future.

    Cons

    I like the bonus and benefit and company match 401K.

    Advice to Management

    Need to improve management.

    Flextronics Response

    Sep 12, 2016 – Global Talent Strategy & Operations

    We appreciate you taking the time to review Flex, and thank you for the feedback.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Lead Manager, New Products and Technology Transfer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director, Operations and Engineering in Austin, TX
    Former Employee - Senior Director, Operations and Engineering in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Flextronics full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Extensive leadership experience. Multi-functional roles. Very strong people skills.

    Cons

    Financial climate is driving layoffs...very bad for morale in the entire facility.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you have been doing. More frequent town hall and all hands meetings....monthly.

    Flextronics Response

    Sep 12, 2016 – Global Talent Strategy & Operations

    We appreciate you taking the time to review Flex, and thank you for the feedback.


  9. Helpful (3)

    "Sr. Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sr. Director in Austin, TX
    Former Employee - Sr. Director in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Flextronics full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    My manager (VP) was strong and fair. Good folks in general work there. Regional and Global operations are well run and focus on the right things in general

    Cons

    global politics are rampant and ugly. Mike Mac needs to finally do something about this culture of back stabbing... its gone on way too long.

    Advice to Management

    culture needs to improve.

    Flextronics Response

    Sep 12, 2016 – Global Talent Strategy & Operations

    We appreciate you taking the time to review Flex, and thank you for the feedback.


  10. "lay off prone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Machinist in Austin, TX
    Former Employee - Machinist in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Flextronics (Less than a year)

    Pros

    kind of easy work, climate controlled

    Cons

    stability not there. schedule changes constantly

    Flextronics Response

    Sep 12, 2016 – Global Talent Strategy & Operations

    We appreciate you taking the time to review Flex, and thank you for the feedback.


Showing 89 of 918 reviews
Reset Filters