Flint Hills Resources Reviews

Updated Jun 19, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
65%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Flint Hills Resources President and CEO Jeff Ramsey
Jeff Ramsey
33 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay with flexibility to move around to different positions(in 13 reviews)

  • "Good people and quality process drive the refinery(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "No work life balance with this company(in 13 reviews)

  • "I really enjoyed working for FHR(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Culture"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Operations Supervisor 

    I have been working at Flint Hills Resources full-time

    Pros

    People at the site are great to work with and it is a positive work environment

    Cons

    Pace of change is fast

    Flint Hills Resources Response

    November 19, 2019Branding & Marketing Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Hello, this is Molly from Talent Solutions and I wanted to say thank you for all of your hard work and taking the time to leave us a review. I am happy to hear that you have found the overall team and culture to be a great experience. Thank you again!

  2. COVID-19

    "Below market pay. Doesn’t follow MBM in regards to retaining talent and paying for value added."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance in Corpus Christi, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Flint Hills Resources full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance. Good benefits.

    Cons

    Pay is well below the market. Many employees are leaving to where their skills are much more valued. Management doesn’t seem to have the decision rights to pay their top performers a competitive wage. All Pay was recently froze due to COVID. However, at the same time the company is spending billions on work management technology.

    Continue reading

    Flint Hills Resources Response

    June 22, 2020Branding & Marketing Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Hi, this Molly from Talent Solutions. First, I wanted to thank you for all of the hard work you have put in over the years with Flint Hills Resources. It’s because of our employees, like yourself, that we are able to be successful. As a part of our compensation philosophy, we do encourage and expect yearly compensation reviews to take place in order to stay competitive in the market. Please know that I am sharing this with the appropriate leadership as feedback but I would also encourage you to speak further with your local HR representative as well. Thank you again.

  3. "Old School Business"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Infrastructure Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Flint Hills Resources full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Attempting to innovate both in processes and how they look at business. Lots of room for advancement

    Cons

    Leadership is stuck in an old school mindset - no working from home, strict dress code Very bureaucratic

    Flint Hills Resources Response

    April 23, 2020Branding & Marketing Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for all of your work! We are constantly looking to innovate and challenge the way that we work as a business/organization. You provide helpful feedback on opportunities for us to review and address. Please know that I am sharing this with the appropriate leadership as opportunities. Thank you again- Molly from Talent Solutions

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great culture, fabulous people"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Rosemount, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flint Hills Resources full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have been with FHR for a year and I love my job. The learning curve is steep if you aren't an engineer or have a background in pipelines, but questions are encouraged and everyone is helpful. Learning and growth is encouraged, as is stepping out of your comfort zone. There is great potential here if you apply yourself. The culture is great and the people - who can make or break a job - are great in my division. The MBM culture is heavily-referenced and relied-upon. I have been encouraged to give regular feedback as to what I feel works in my role and what doesn't, and to strive to communicate changes I'd like to see to improve my role. I also have a lot of autonomy at my job, which I enjoy. As word has gotten out about my skills and what I can provide to make others' jobs easier, more people have reached out and requested my assistance. My direct supervisors reach out regularly to make sure that I have enough work or, alternatively, am not overloaded and drowning. I feel like I am valued in my specific role.

    Cons

    Sometimes it's hard to get easy answers to questions that should be basic and simple - for example, a simple problem with computer software can turn into a few hours of being passed around to different people and offsite help, often with "hmmm, I don't know...try this person." Sometimes it seems like the desire to improve and change and disrupt can get in the way of actual work getting done, but I'm sure that's just my perception and not the actuality.

    Flint Hills Resources Response

    April 3, 2020Branding & Marketing Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Hello, this is Molly from Talent Solutions. First, I would like to say thank you for all of your hard work over the past year! I am happy to read that you are finding support not only in your current role/responsibilities but also opportunities to improve and grow as well. We also can’t agree more, that our people and culture help make our team unique and a great place to work. Thank you for sharing your experience and taking the time to leave us a review.

  5. "Ok Company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Environmental Engineer in Rosemount, MN

    I worked at Flint Hills Resources full-time

    Pros

    Good Work Management Systems in place

    Cons

    No work life balance with this company

  6. "Loved my job"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Construction Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Flint Hills Resources full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people Great community partner Benefits Many areas to live and advance

    Cons

    Some poor leadership in areas Some times the buzz words are more important than actual truth. Lower pay than others in the area Good ol boy community

    Continue reading
  7. "Top refiner, privately owned."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flint Hills Resources full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Top level refining performance Competitively positioned assets Capable and experienced business leaders Strong growth opportunities entry-level to middle management Stable company

    Cons

    Stagnant growth (not expanding or acquiring), which constrains opportunities at upper levels No formal work flexibility at Wichita HQ, which may constrain diversity in the hiring pool (example: single mothers or fathers needing flexibility for their family might not apply) For a multi-billion dollar company, the Wichita campus could use some improvements in order to continue competing for top talent (modernized workspaces, gyms, on-site day care)

    Continue reading

    Flint Hills Resources Response

    February 28, 2020Branding & Marketing Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Hello, thank you for leaving us a review and also sharing your candid feedback. While we work to continue to provide our employees an innovative and fulfilling place to work, you provide great reminders on additional opportunities around work flexibility for current and future talent. Please know that I am sharing this with the appropriate leadership team as immediate feedback. Thank you again - Molly from Talent Solutions

  8. "Great People! Fantastic Learning Tools! Poor Compensation!"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Flint Hills Resources full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    1. The people and the culture that makes it a pleasure to go to work everyday. 2. The tools that FHR provide and the learning opportunities.

    Cons

    Compensation needs to be better especially since they no longer offer a retirement plan.

    Flint Hills Resources Response

    February 19, 2020Branding & Marketing Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Hello- thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for all of your work during your time with Flint Hills Resources. I appreciate you sharing your overall feedback and I want you to know that I am sharing this with the appropriate leadership team as opportunities moving forward. Thank you again- Molly from Talent Solutions

  9. "Meh"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lab Tech in West St Paul, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Flint Hills Resources part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay and solid co-workers

    Cons

    Lots of down time, very boring

  10. "Plant Engineer"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Corpus Christi, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Flint Hills Resources full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Strong safety, environmental, and development culture. Good people and quality process drive the refinery.

    Cons

    Bonus structure meant you rarely had any control on the outcome as the whole plant was grouped as one.

    Flint Hills Resources Response

    October 28, 2019Branding & Marketing Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Hello- I wanted to thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and share your overall feedback. I am happy to hear that you found a strong safety and environmental culture along with a great team to work with. I appreciate the feedback around our bonus structure, I will be passing this on to the appropriate team as an opportunity to further review. Thank you again- Molly from Talent Solutions

Found 178 reviews