Flint Hills Resources Reviews

Updated May 10, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
71%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Flint Hills Resources President and CEO Jeff Ramsey
Jeff Ramsey
43 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible, good pay and good group of employees to work with(in 16 reviews)

  • "Good people and quality process drive the refinery(in 12 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "No work life balance with this company(in 14 reviews)

  • "which is debatable), the accounting and finance jobs within FHR are not normal(in 10 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Great company

      May 8, 2021 - Compliance Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits, pay, nice offices, culture

      Cons

      Not many senior female leaders

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Place to work

      May 10, 2021 - Merchandiser in Wichita, KS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very team oriented, the culture is great. 9/80 work schedule

      Cons

      Slow to get raises, very large company ( which has it ups and downs)

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Gear company to work for

      May 1, 2021 - Project Scheduler in Minneapolis, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture, good benefits, mostly long term employews

      Cons

      Not advocate of work from home

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Flint Hills Resources Response

      Senior Talent Solutions Recruiter

      Hello, this is Cali from the Talent Solutions team. First, I want to first thank you for your dedicated service at our Minneapolis, MN facility and for taking the time to leave a review. We take our company culture seriously, and I’m happy to read of your positive experience; we are always looking for ways to improve our and we value your feedback. Please do not hesitate to share your immediate concerns with onsite leadership and your HR point of contact. Thanks again!

    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      FHR

      Apr 17, 2021 - Supervisor in Rosemount, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Many opportunities to apply to different jobs that will challenge and continue personal development

      Cons

      - Lacks diversity - Top down leadership

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good Opportunity

      Apr 12, 2021 - Compliance Support Specialist in Wichita, KS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay for the job and great environment with co-workers.

      Cons

      The job can consist of long hours.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Flint Hills Review

      Feb 26, 2021 - Safety Technician 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Competitive salary, bonus structure and benefits package. Company is also supportive of professional development (School, professional certification courses, etc.). Had very good supervisors while I worked there and the culture was a plus.

      Cons

      Hours can be busy at times but that is the industry as a whole not just 1 company.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Flint Hills Resources Response

      Branding & Marketing Talent Acquisition Specialist

      Hi- this is Molly from the Talent Solutions team. I wanted you to know I read your review and am happy to read that the overall experience was positive for you and your career. Thank you for sharing and I wish you the best.

    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Its ok.

      Apr 14, 2021 - QC Technician 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      benefits and pay are good for the area

      Cons

      management is terrible, you do a bad job at a job chances are they will promote you.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great culture, rough project management

      Jan 26, 2021 - Senior Web Developer in Minneapolis, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They make an effort to show you have value in the company. They make promises to align your skillset to a project.

      Cons

      Projects are unorganized and project management does not follow Agile conventions. Relying too much on a young, third-party platform that has caused many problems with the team and projects to move forward.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Flint Hills Resources Response

      Branding & Marketing Talent Acquisition Specialist

      Hi- this is Molly from the Talent Solutions team, First, let me say thank you for taking the time to not only share your feedback and experience but for all of the dedicated work with the team. You provide a great reminder that connecting various departments across the organization whether to complete a project or tackle a challenge, helps better align resources and knowledge. I would encourage you to share your feedback with your supervisor or team as opportunities moving forward but please know I will be sharing this with the appropriate leadership teams as well. Thank you again!

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Great culture.

      Feb 18, 2021 - Mechanical Technician in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great leadership and professional employees.

      Cons

      There is no retirement pension currently.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Flint Hills Resources Response

      Branding & Marketing Talent Acquisition Specialist

      Hello, this is Molly from the Talent Solutions team and I wanted to thank you for all of your work over the past 8+ years. That is a great accomplishment! I am happy to read you have found your time at our Houston, TX site to be overall a great environment and team to work with. As we continue to review benefits and opportunities, this feedback is helpful. Thank you again for sharing!

    10. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great place to work

      Jan 30, 2021 - Project Chemist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Freedom to drive your own career path, rewarding environment that challenges professional and personal growth, performance-based compensation, values-based culture, decentralized management practices

      Cons

      Very few cons. Change is constant, so that can feel overwhelming at times.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Flint Hills Resources Response

      Branding & Marketing Talent Acquisition Specialist

      Hello- this is Molly from the Talent Solutions team. Thank you for sharing your feedback and overall experience while with the Flint Hills Resources team. It is great to read that the culture and ability to grow your own career path were experiences you received while with us as that is what we aim for all employees to experience. Thank you again for sharing!

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 210 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Flint Hills Resources Job Seekers

    Process Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Instrumentation & Electrical Technician
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Flint Hills Resources? Share Your Experiences

    Flint Hills Resources logo
    or