Cover image for Floor and Decor
Logo
See All Photos

Floor and Decor

Engaged Employer

Floor and Decor

Add a Review

Floor and Decor Reviews

Updated Oct 3, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 1,156 of over 1K reviews
3.6
67% Recommend to a Friend
Floor and Decor CEO Tom Taylor
80% Approve of CEO

Found 1,156 of over 1K reviews

3.6
67%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Floor and Decor CEO Tom Taylor
Tom Taylor
546 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "The pay was good but not enough(in 69 reviews)
  • "Most of the employees are good people(in 62 reviews)
  • "They have good benefits and you can built up paid off time really quick!(in 33 reviews)
  • "The only real pro are your great coworkers but other than that they are really few and far between.(in 27 reviews)
  • "Working at Floor & Decor is a great opportunity for you to learn many new things.(in 25 reviews)
Cons
  • "Poor management and very understaffed(in 83 reviews)
  • "Most of the managers don't even know what their employees are responsible for.(in 34 reviews)
  • "No training forced to learn on the fly.(in 28 reviews)
  • "No commission EVER!! but you have to sell a certain amount per hr.(in 23 reviews)
  • "There is a VERY clear favoritism line with employees throughout the company.(in 22 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Floor and Decor and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years
    Featured Review

    Great place to learn and grow

    Apr 25, 2022 - Interior Design Consultant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    If you’re new to interior design, it’s a great place to get your feet wet and start getting some hands on experience. You learn a lot about a lot and there’s generally good support from the management teams if you need help with anything.

    Cons

    It’s retail, so you still very much have that aspect of the business as far as customers go, but the company does a good job with team appreciation.

    2 people found this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Good

    Oct 2, 2022 - Sales 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good people, great to start in the design world

    Cons

    Not too flexible with schedule

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Nice part time

    Sep 29, 2022 - Deco Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It was a nice environment, I liked that if we got 5 reviews from customers we got a small bonus.

    Cons

    For the amount of lifting that was being done, the pay was not so great.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Hard work but plenty of autonomy.

    Sep 28, 2022 - Sales Associate in Fountain Valley, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    What you work on is somewhat up to you, between selling product and stocking the shelves.

    Cons

    You have to keep up in sales or they'll pull you aside.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Current Opinion

    Sep 28, 2022 - Warehouse Supervisor in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - competitive pay - welcoming / friendly environment - flexible scheduling

    Cons

    I don’t really have one at the moment.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Retail sucks: but it’s not bad.

    Sep 14, 2022 - Designer in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Friendly management, good feedback, occasional rewards and bonuses, decent pay, adequate benefits.

    Cons

    Because of the nature of retail you end up performing jobs outside of your job description, staffing and scheduling is in constant crisis, and the wages aren’t keeping pace with inflation and competition.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Toxic work culture

    Oct 3, 2022 - Design Supervisor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Negotiate pay based on experience

    Cons

    They will cut hours at will to appease the "budget" If your higher paid they will ride you harder to exceed metrics

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Floor and Decor hourly

    Sep 22, 2022 - Warehouse Associate in Kennesaw, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Trading paid work for a free workout.

    Cons

    High turnover rate, scheduling issues.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great position

    Sep 20, 2022 - Sales Associate/Cashier 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Not too many, regular job

    Cons

    Long standing hours! Can’t focus!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great people, incredible growth opportunity

    Aug 12, 2022 - Director in Atlanta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Genuinely great people for the most part. In corporate (SSC), if you do well, are a good person, know how to create relationships and figure out how to navigate (be proactive and entrepreneurial as appropriate), and know how to execute and get results - or are trying your best at all of these - then you will be handsomely rewards and well supported. Due to our growth rate, if you are a above average performer, you promotion and earning potential will be faster and larger than at almost any other retailer. We may pay less for an equivalent role at the really big companies, but your trajectory and potential will win out to a large extent once you are here. If you can see that the people, the goals, and possibilities are incredible, and you can roll your sleeves up and help continue to build this rocket ship as we fly, then come join us for the ride. It might be bumpy and it won't be perfect, but it will be amazing and rewarding.

    Cons

    Due to where we are in the growth cycle, we are both less mature in terms of many systems and process - which we are investing in and building over time - and we are moving VERY fast. This combination can be frustrating and challenging for some. If you aren't good at reaching out and developing relationships, or just need for people to tell you what to do vs. figure it out / suggesting, then this may not be the place for you. As with all companies, it also depends on who your manager is. But I think the percentage of bad managers - and certainly the percentage of managers who aren't trying to do the right thing - is lower here than any place I've ever been. F and D hires people based on their background, potential, and cultural fit more so that what school you went to or company you worked for. So the pedigree and background for a specific person or role can vary much more here. We will get there on diversity and inclusion. It will take time. The store associates are quite diverse. We've rolled out some programs and will continue to mature for how we connect, support, engage, and promote. But leadership, although more white and male than might be ideal, is eyes wide open and knows where we need to go. Join us to help! Benefits are getting better but still lacking. I think we'll get there soon.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,156 Reviews
</>Embed

Floor and Decor Reviews FAQs

Floor and Decor has an overall rating of 3.6 out of 5, based on over 1,184 reviews left anonymously by employees. 67% of employees would recommend working at Floor and Decor to a friend and 68% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -2% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Floor and Decor employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.5 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Floor and Decor. This rating has decreased by -1% over the last 12 months.

67% of Floor and Decor employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Floor and Decor 3.3 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.6 for culture and values and 3.8 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Floor and Decor to be benefits, career development, coworkers and the cons to be culture, compensation, management.

Popular Careers with Floor and Decor Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Floor and Decor? Share Your Experiences

or

Floor and Decor Careers

Cover image for Floor and Decor

Floor & Decor is like no other flooring company, offering the broadest in-stock selection of tile, wood, stone, laminate, vinyl, related...More

  • Career Opportunities
  • Benefits and Rewards
  • Community
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

Floor and Decor

22 days ago

Company News
Here we grow again! Floor & Decor is excited to open a brand-new store in Bellingham, Massachusetts . If you’re interested in career opportunities at this location, visit our careers page to view open positions.
Shared image - Search Page
Search Page
careers.flooranddecor.com
See all

Floor and Decor Photos

+ Add Photo
Floor and Decor photo of: Wood Section
Floor and Decor photo of: What a great Grand Opening team in Texas!
Floor and Decor photo of: Elizabeth, NJ Designers
Floor and Decor photo of: Kirkwood
Floor and Decor photo of: Pro Services Area
Floor and Decor photo of: We win at customer service
Floor and Decor photo of: Atlanta, GA
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Floor and Decor Job Seekers Also Viewed

The Home Depot Logo
The Home Depot

3.7

41,250 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 1,184 Floor and Decor reviews submitted anonymously by Floor and Decor employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Floor and Decor is right for you.