Florida East Coast Railway Reviews | Glassdoor

Florida East Coast Railway Reviews

Updated Apr 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
29%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Dave Rohal
9 Ratings
  1. "Dispatcher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dispatcher in Jacksonville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Florida East Coast Railway full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Overworked and very much under paid.

    Cons

    Management is descent . All employees think they are managers . Drivers do whatever they want and have no respect for their dispatchers

    Advice to Management

    Let other employees know who manages

    Florida East Coast Railway2016-10-03
  2. "Good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Jacksonville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Florida East Coast Railway for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, good company overall.

    Cons

    Being a small regional railroad. Need more class 1 railroads to partner with in order to grow business.

    Advice to Management

    Same as above

    Florida East Coast Railway2016-04-22
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Retirement Job? Think again."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Florida East Coast Railway full-time

    Pros

    Health insurance is great and cheap. Take home car. Most employees are professional. Full of retired Officers.

    Cons

    Very high turnover (average 2-3 a year in an 11 man department) Schedule always changing. No overtime. No court time. No off duties. No comp time. Only 2 weeks vacation. 4 days off a month (or Less). On-call from home 24/7. Very low compensation.

    Advice to Management

    Allow an employee to have at least two full days off a week. Create a structured training program. Boost pay to be more competitive. Lead by example.

    Florida East Coast Railway2016-04-22
  4. "Project Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Florida East Coast Railway for less than a year

    Pros

    Very good company to work for with a talented workforce.

    Cons

    It take a a little time for the permanent employees to warm up to contractors. However, that is generally the case in most industries.

    Advice to Management

    The management team was very supportive and available to resolve issues and make final decisions

    Florida East Coast Railway2016-04-06
  5. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Florida East Coast Railway

    Pros

    Railroad, growth, very interesting company, future

    Cons

    I was really excited to get a internship with FEC, but they did not provide me adequate training to be successful. My manager was not the best to work with either. It was difficult and I tried my best, but I was unsuccessful here. I see the outlook on this company to be bright --- management, no training, odd work culture

    Advice to Management

    Train your people to be successful

    Florida East Coast Railway2015-05-13
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great company, great benefits, must have a good attitude and extraordinary work ethic."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Florida East Coast Railway for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, retirement, personal growth, opportunity. Not a large corporation, so you get to know everyone you work with...it feels like a family.

    Cons

    Wearing multiple hats for one job title can lead to long hours; training can be lacking, so you need to be pretty self-sufficient.

    Florida East Coast Railway2014-10-23
  7. "Good benefits - tough people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Florida East Coast Railway full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, good amount of time off, pretty casual, most people pretty decent to work with, good job security and they train you

    Cons

    Top level executives have huge tempers and it rolls downhill. Got to have a pretty thick skin to work with them.

    Florida East Coast Railway2014-07-09
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Long hours, old dispatch software, few Qualcomms installed, heavy phone and email traffic, work you into the ground."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dispatcher in Jacksonville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Florida East Coast Railway full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of business, very busy, high volume, solid company.

    Cons

    Management is mostly Latin and biased, low pay for amount of hours expected on job, very little room for advancement,

    Advice to Management

    Stop speaking Spanish in the office in front of English speaking only employees, give raises and annual reviews, clarify goals and objectives instead of fox hole huddles.

    Florida East Coast Railway2014-01-01
  9. "Best years of my life. Started when I was 18 years old and had right at 40 years of service,"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Real Estate Manager in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Florida East Coast Railway full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    When I started in 1971, it was more of a family organization. I felt like FEC was a big part of my family and I miss my family!.

    Cons

    I don't have any cons as to a reason not to work for FEC

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work! You have some wonderful people that work there.

    Florida East Coast Railway2013-07-08
Found 19 reviews