Florida Gulf Coast University Reviews | Glassdoor

Florida Gulf Coast University Reviews

Updated Sep 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 116 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Florida Gulf Coast University CEO Wilson G. Bradshaw
Wilson G. Bradshaw
46 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low pay, excessive hours at times(in 7 reviews)

  • "there are no cons to working at FGCU(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work for students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Desk Assistant in Fort Myers, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Florida Gulf Coast University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Could work in homework, friendly, positive environment

    Cons

    Slow paced and could get boring

    Florida Gulf Coast University2019-09-14
  2. "Intstructor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instructor, College Or University in Fort Myers, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Florida Gulf Coast University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Florida Gulf Coast University has a great campus.

    Cons

    Fort Myers Florida is very hot most of the year.

    Florida Gulf Coast University2019-09-13
  3. "Acceptable pay, perfect hours, and very helpful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chemistry IA 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Florida Gulf Coast University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Pay. I make approximately 12 per hour as a chemistry IA, and I work 5 hours per week. You can work more, if you choose to work for more classes.

    Cons

    There aren't really any cons, they do a great job here.

    Florida Gulf Coast University2019-08-27
  4. "Good learning experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Assistant 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Florida Gulf Coast University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    As a research assistant, you learn a lot about data collection and comprehension.

    Cons

    They are very stiff on pay and can tend to overwork you

    Florida Gulf Coast University2019-08-06
  5. "Best Decision"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Student Worker 

    I have been working at Florida Gulf Coast University part-time

    Pros

    FGCU is the best decision I made as a student, there are endless opportunities and lots of support!

    Cons

    difficult to find entertainment in the local area for young adults

    Florida Gulf Coast University2019-08-02
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Florida Gulf Coast University part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Wonderful people, interesting research, beautiful campus

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Florida Gulf Coast University2019-07-30
  7. "FGCU Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Help Desk Technician in Fort Myers, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Florida Gulf Coast University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Learn how to trouble shoot enterprise systems. Get team chemistry

    Cons

    Opportunities for job progression is competitive. Job compensation is stagnate for lower level employees

    Florida Gulf Coast University2019-06-07
  8. "Good part-time experience for college"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Assistant 

    I have been working at Florida Gulf Coast University part-time

    Pros

    Hours are flexible. Learned a lot.

    Cons

    Depending on the research and professor, some may be difficult than others.

    Advice to Management

    Hire skilled people.

    Florida Gulf Coast University2019-06-20
  9. "Congrats on that degree! Here's minimum wage."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Writing Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Florida Gulf Coast University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I dunno. Air conditioning? The 403b?

    Cons

    No budget, no room for growth, high turnover. You are getting paid peanuts to babysit spoiled kids who are doing the minimum to pass their classes and transfer to a better school.

    Advice to Management

    Spend a little less money on student activities and frivolities. Take care of the people who help keep your money-machines from flunking out because they can't grasp the basics of writing at a college level.

    Florida Gulf Coast University2019-06-13
  10. "Awesome job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant to the Executive Secretary in Fort Myers, FL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Florida Gulf Coast University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic team, flexible work environment

    Cons

    None - truly a great student position

    Florida Gulf Coast University2019-04-19
Found 116 reviews