Florida SouthWestern State College "fsw" Reviews | Glassdoor

Florida SouthWestern State College Employee Reviews about "fsw"

Updated May 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
72%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Florida SouthWestern State College President Dr. Jeffery S. Allbritten (no image)
Dr. Jeffery S. Allbritten
6 Ratings
Pros
  • "Working at FSW felt like working with family(in 6 reviews)

  • "Great staff and colleagues, beautiful campus, student focused, great leadership(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "(in 3 reviews)

  • "(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "fsw"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Wonderful Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Florida SouthWestern State College full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working at FSW felt like working with family. I had the opportunity to grow throughout my tenure and loved all of the learning experiences along the way.

    Cons

    Honestly, no cons come to mind.

    Florida SouthWestern State College2019-05-18
  2. "FSW is a progressive state college that has it all: strong academic programs, sports, arts, and other cultural events."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fort Myers, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Florida SouthWestern State College full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Location, location, location. Working in the paradise of SWFL is amazing. No state taxes. Free employee health insurance. Great benefits. FSW is more organized than before. Offices such as HR, Advising, Financial Aid, and Bursar have some amazingly competent, talented, and thought leaders.

    Cons

    The Peter Principle can be an issue here. Learn to have Crucial Conversations by analyzing how to make various leadership styles feel SAFE. Find your lane and stay in it at FSW. Must show and know your worth FAST. Then, stand your ground.

    Advice to Management

    Don't miss the forest for the trees. Respect and appreciation goes so much further than a dollar ever will. Work hard to recognize TRUE loyal dedicated contributors to the success of the College.

    Florida SouthWestern State College2017-04-14
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Florida SouthWestern State College full-time

    Pros

    FSW offers a beautiful workplace and encourages new ideas to meet the needs of our students and employees. Benefits and generous time off from work is enough to offset lower wages for this region.

    Cons

    Salaries are lower than market for my position.

    Advice to Management

    Upper management should be more visible to employees by walking around campus more.

    Florida SouthWestern State College2017-03-15
  4. "Valued"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Florida SouthWestern State College full-time

    Pros

    FSW is an institution where your work and effort are valued, contributions to the team are encouraged and welcomed and work life balance is spot on. Growth and cross training is encouraged. State Benefits are a plus.

    Cons

    Increased pay is limited to state budgetary constraints rather than performance.

    Florida SouthWestern State College2017-03-07
  5. "A great place to grow!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Florida SouthWestern State College

    Pros

    FSW employs some of the friendliest and knowledgeable employees you could ever ask for! If you're looking for a company that offers a great work life balance, this is the place for you. The college likes to promote within, when possible.

    Cons

    Compensation is not on par with similar positions in the area.

    Advice to Management

    Adopt a more customer focused mentality.

    Florida SouthWestern State College2016-09-29
  6. "Pretty Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coordinator in Fort Myers, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Florida SouthWestern State College full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I really enjoyed my time at FSW. My staff of three was a great group of people and they worked really hard for the benefit of the college. They were extremely professional and supportive of each other and the individuals they served. Work-life balance was really good. I would periodically stay late, but it was not required of me. Some of the benefits include 2 weeks off at Christmas, a week for spring break, the... usual federal holidays and my work days ended at 4:30 pm. Overall a good experience.

    Show More

    Cons

    I wish I had gotten to know more of the people on the campus and had the opportunity to interact with the VP for my area.

    Advice to Management

    Onward and upward, keep up the good work, and I wish you much success as you move forward with the athletic arena.

    Florida SouthWestern State College2016-02-01
  7. "Assistant Course Designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Course Designer in Fort Myers, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Florida SouthWestern State College full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The online department, where I worked, was excellent, but my ratings are an average of the college as a whole and the online department. What you get out of working at such a large institution is entirely dependent on which department you are working in as they tend to create their own microcosms that can vary significantly from department to department.

    Cons

    FSW was having some administrative issues around the time I was leaving, but I believe they've fixed this now. You must have a degree if you want room for continued growth in your position.

    Advice to Management

    It's hard to give advice to upper management since it has completely changed since I was last there. Allowing more room for innovation could really help the college to grow not only in size but in rank.

    Florida SouthWestern State College2015-12-23
Found 7 reviews