Florida Southern College Reviews | Glassdoor

Florida Southern College Reviews

Updated Nov 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
32%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Florida Southern College CEO Anne B Kerr (no image)
Anne B Kerr
28 Ratings
  1. "Student Worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Florida Southern College part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They have great student employment opportunities

    Cons

    I do not have any cons

    Florida Southern College2018-01-21
  2. "It's alright I guess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Worker in Lakeland, FL

    I have been working at Florida Southern College part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedules and good resume material

    Cons

    Low pay for most workers, but that's to be expected

    Florida Southern College2019-11-04
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Don't Do It"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Florida Southern College full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Due to understaffed departments, there's room to adopt numerous responsibilities, making yourself more marketable. Due to the high turnover rate, there's a good chance you'll get to work with some pretty great people. Gorgeous campus and good benefits.

    Cons

    Racism, fudging numbers, lack of strategic planning are all commonplace at FSC. Leadership thinks that diversity is achieved/respected when black people are taken out of publications. Leadership promotes doing whatever it takes to boost retention numbers, giving numbers, and more. More often than not "whatever it takes" means a sudden thought of the President's should be implemented with zero consideration given to... data, strategy, or previous experience. Whatever it takes also includes lying about performance metrics. If you value honesty, devising plans based on best practice/strategy, and working for leadership that values its employees don't work at FSC. Ask multiple people (because one of them will lie to you) how many people have been in your position in the last five years, it will reveal a lot.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be on your employee's side! Don't just function as a messenger of the Presidents. We may not be the highest level of administration but when we know management values us we're likely to stick around for more than two years. Stand up to Dr. Kerr and demand policies that prioritize the long-term health of the College. Don't settle for her short term career plans that make her look great but jeopardize alumni... relationships, ignore hazardous and dilapidated buildings, lower student expectations, ignore racial tensions, and more.

    Show More
    Florida Southern College2019-06-24
  4. "Great Opportunity to Create Long-Term Work Skills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Admissions Counselor in Lakeland, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Florida Southern College full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    • Supportive and receptive of individual opinions and ideas. • Ability for counselors to go to conferences and continue to grow their skill toolkit. • Team building trips in the summer ranging from dinners to Disney World trips. • The VP of enrollment management (John Grundig) is a great leader and does his very best to make sure his staff is performing optimally. • Great benefits package

    Cons

    • Long hours especially in the fall due to travel for college fairs, as well as multiple call nights per week. Burnout is very common.

    Florida Southern College2019-05-14
  5. "Low pay, no advancement, no training."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lab Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Florida Southern College full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nice people in labs and the staff

    Cons

    Old buildings, no advancement, LOW pay, good old boy network

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your staff

    Florida Southern College2019-06-10
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Like Kafka's "The Castle""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Professor in Lakeland, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Florida Southern College full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It's a very pretty campus by a fab lake. The support staff are generally super.

    Cons

    FSC management is under qualified for higher education (professional educational "doctorates" rather than research degrees for a significant number). There's a lot of back stabbing. Employees are expected to do things that are not in their contract. The focus is on money, not education. There appear to be jealousies between several management personnel.

    Advice to Management

    None.

    Florida Southern College2019-05-23
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Long Hours, Evenings, and Weekends"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Admissions Counselor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Florida Southern College full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent starting pay, autonomy, training and development

    Cons

    Long meetings and nights, expect to work more than 40 hours a week, driving the bus, conducting campus visits on top of being busy with your territory, and expectation to meet goals that make it difficult for students and families to pay for a private education for 4 years. Health insurance plan is expensive! No work/life balance in Admissions.

    Advice to Management

    Stop micromanaging, defer some responsibilities that can be handled by interns and student staff off of Admissions Counselors so they can focus on making enrollment goals if numbers are so important.

    Florida Southern College2019-03-04
  8. "Working at FSC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Florida Southern College part-time

    Pros

    I was a student worker and it was great because they had something available for me to do while I was also attending classes.

    Cons

    I worked in the multicultural center so the amount of pressure on you to bring diversity to campus was a little much but manageable if your up for a challenge

    Florida Southern College2019-01-06
  9. "Assistant Director of Adult and Graduate Admission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Director of Admissions in Lakeland, FL
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Florida Southern College full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people, the students, the flexibility.

    Cons

    Lack of bonuses, non-competitive salaries.

    Florida Southern College2018-10-12
  10. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Florida Southern College full-time

    Pros

    They put God and family first.

    Cons

    Amateur in thinking and executing as a college should

    Florida Southern College2018-05-15
Found 38 reviews