Florida Virtual School Reviews

Updated May 7, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
72%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Florida Virtual School Executive Director Louis Algaze (no image)
Louis Algaze
18 Ratings
Pros
  • "It is not a difficult balance to maintain if you are well-organized and self-disciplined enough to work from home and motivate yourself(in 132 reviews)

  • "Flexible schedule, teamwork, administrative support(in 26 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "No job security or career advancement(in 20 reviews)

  • "Difficult to maintain work/life balance(in 19 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great palce

      Apr 20, 2021 - Teacher in Orlando, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay for all teachers - thank you

      Cons

      no promotion from within very little

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Place to Work

      May 7, 2021 - Tech Support 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Being a school, they have a strong focus on upskilling and growth.

      Cons

      Corp politics within the company can limit your opportunities.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      A corporate school

      Apr 29, 2021 - Teacher 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Salary, work from home, and benefits.

      Cons

      Corporate, competitive culture. The model of instruction is rigid and micromanaged. Student centered instruction and creativity is secondary or less to the model that is prepackaged and promoted.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Former employee

      May 4, 2021 - Instructor in Orlando, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company to work for. Work from home. Flexibility.

      Cons

      Lots of phone work and documentation.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      An experience worth trying for!

      Apr 20, 2021 - Educator in Davenport, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work from home, good work life balance, supportive staff, admin leaders are thoughtful and will work with you through any issues. Ability to set own 8 hour shift.

      Cons

      Students and parents will sometimes not respect established office hours and will try to contact you during late evening hours, weekends, holidays, and scheduled days off.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      It all sounds great but...

      Dec 29, 2020 - Teacher, High School 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working from home, colleagues that are driven, creative culture

      Cons

      I worked here for 15 years. I learned a lot but at the end found I was unfulfilled and completely burnt out and I left education altogether. I did not have an ounce left to give and my family missed me even though I worked from home. There is very little actual teaching and more data management of calls and logs. At the start of the school year, I had nearly 300 students (not an elective class) and became responsible for training an army of new teachers. The work is repetitive and unyielding. The colleagues were great and I had some decent managers along the way. I personally did not experience this but it is very much a suck them dry and spit them out "gotcha" culture. It is a culture of micromanagement with a constant change in leadership where you need to constantly prove yourself. The job was good when my kids were little and was a solid springboard for me. The shelf life for this job is limited and I was surprised I lasted as long as I did. The stress of the constant "on-call" is high and with 300 students, one cannot manage that within 40 hours or anywhere close. Students and parents are not held accountable and it all falls back on teachers whether it is cheating, families not returning calls, students not working, etc. This is customer service first, education second.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Nice

      Apr 18, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Hollywood, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice its a good school

      Cons

      nothing its a good school

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Good pay and leading edge in online instruction

      Mar 27, 2021 - Teacher in Tampa, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flex pays well. They've been in the business for a long time, so they know what they're doing

      Cons

      Work and off work seem to blend together.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Stay away!

      Apr 5, 2021 - Instructor in Saint Pete, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible work hours Students are great

      Cons

      Taught during 2020-2021 grievances, unfair labor practices, workload issues, peer to peer admonishment & reprimanding, lack of union representation, lack of knowledge in union contracts, labor practices, poor management culture, poor management coaching, poor PD availability, poor training, sacrifice of personal time outside of contracted teaching hours to complete job requirements, lack of parental involvement, blame comes down the ladder, more clerical work than actual teaching. Spending hours a day grading and calling parents under the requirement: "It's required by the state."

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Love them!

      Mar 20, 2021 - Instructor in New Port Richey, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very flexible and student centered.

      Cons

      There are no cons of working there.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 338 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Florida Virtual School Job Seekers

    HOPE Instructor
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Florida Virtual School? Share Your Experiences

    Florida Virtual School logo
    or