Flowers of the World Reviews

Updated Nov 1, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.7
54%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
Flowers of the World Founder and CEO Peter Grontas (no image)
Peter Grontas
6 Ratings

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Make It Yours

    Nov 1, 2020 - Vice President of Operations in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Freedom to make your career your own, design and creative freedom if you have the talent

    Cons

    Fast Paced, quest for perfection when its unnecessary from certain clients ... in the end it always comes out Gorgeous

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Those one star reviews are complete lies and very different from my own experience.

    Jun 26, 2020 - Decorator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    As long as you show up on time and are serious about working you will enjoy working here. I found that anyone leaving simply just didn’t like doing any work.

    Cons

    If you want to work and actually make money the long hours are worth it

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Total transparency the previous two 4 star reviews are fake.... who says ebbs and flow?

    Jul 12, 2019 - Management 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Great atmosphere for beginners Flowers of the World is a great company to learn and start at, they are willing to teach people with absolutely no experience. -Surrounded by beautiful flowers all day -Passionate business owner -Small company

    Cons

    -No work life balance/ long hours -Unorganized -Archaic practices -Stressful atmosphere -Unprofessional!!!!! Especially the "Senior Managing Director" ....General Manager -Paychecks constantly bounce Unfortunately, Flowers of the World is a business that has been in operation for years and is on it's way out. While I appreciate the fact the owner is an artist at heart the business isn't run by anyone with a strong business management background. No one performs any type of profit and loss analysis and the company is running in the negative. Because they don't want to pay anyone at market value they hire beginners, so expect to be surrounded by people who have no clue as to what they are doing. All I have to say about management is that the general manager is completely unprofessional with absolutely no people or business management skills. It is impossible to work as a team because management isn't open to any ideas but their own. Expect to get verbally abused, underpaid..... or never paid and be expected to go above and beyond. If you are super desperate to get into the floral / event planning industry go for it.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE do not work here

    Jul 30, 2019 - Production 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working here will motivate you to find a better job.

    Cons

    The CEO is in such bad money trouble he can't even pay his employees. Checks bounce multiple times a month (which is a felony if the check is over $500). The CEO has no idea what he is doing he is running his fathers company into the ground. He looks out for himself and no one else. Truly not a good person but if your looking to not get paid get treated poorly then this is the place for you!!!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Small Creative Company

    Mar 11, 2019 - Event Manager in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Creativity, Produce Gorgeous Events, An Awesome Team of hard working employees, Servicing some of the best Hotels in New York City.

    Cons

    You have to wear many hats since FOTW is a small business and there is a lot to do! but in the end it's worth it.

    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    New Management Team....Things are Looking Up

    Mar 26, 2019 - Events in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Coworkers & Upscale Clientele

    Cons

    Not Applicable, It's a small business with ebbs and flows as any normal company.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    More than 20 ppl have left this year!

    Aug 16, 2018 - Assistant in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The coworkers are great and visiting hotels

    Cons

    I am going to be brutally honest with you. The management sucks, the boss treats you like an animal, you’re worthless to him, just walking money. You speak to him and is like talking to a Dead-end Wall, he lacks manners and needs to discipline himself, you don’t need to worry about a supervisor because the boss will always be there annoying you, watching your every move.The environment feels stressful to the MAX, you will end up working very long hours and not be appreciated at all except for the manager maybe. They will definitely talk behind your back.The coworkers on the other hand are amazing. I had the honor to meet really nice coworkers but believe me, everyone is trying to get out of there before September and the ones that are staying have no other choice.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    Flowers of the World Response

    COO

    The Owner of Flowers of the World really ran into some bad luck. He had a group of employees that did not know the first thing about working a small business. They thought they could show up, hit a few keys on a key board and get a paycheck. No work ethic at all. There is a new competent team in place and we are still doing damage control from this group. Please go be a corporate robot.

  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    WORST COMPANY EVER DO NOT WORK HERE

    Aug 2, 2018 - Assistant Studio Manager in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    i loved my coworkers aside from the management team. that’s about it. ask about me to the employees there. i was nothing but kind & understanding because i knew i was the only person in a management position that actually cared about them.

    Cons

    They are racist & misogynistic. The accountant does not know how to pay people the correct amount on their check. Everyone’s checks bounces at least twice during their time working here. They work you like a dog and pressure you into working unfair hours that weren’t agreed on. I’m telling you listen to me & the past reviews on here. Do not get hopeful that they may have changed or think that we’re just being bitter. This is all facts and real life experiences with these people. They are horrible with business & handling employees. A lot of them are stuck there looking for a way out. Please be extra careful if you plan on working here. If you do continue to, make sure you get exactly what you deserve & state all your issues via email so you have proof in case anything happens. Good luck.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    They are dishonest

    Aug 22, 2010 - Floral Designer in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I was offered to work for a "trial period" of three months, then we would further discuss my salary. This was a complete lie. Nothing more was offered, and my salary was very low. They have a high turnover rate, I saw 6 people leave in the past 3 months I worked there. The department of labor has dropped in to "review" the current situation. The staff is inexperienced, they are taking advantage of young desigers and people from other countries. Very disappointing experience, from a company that is "well established" They are not respected in the flower market. My advice; don't waste your time.

    Cons

    the work is creative, the staff, besides upper management is very talanted!!

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Worst company ever

    May 17, 2013 - Floral Designer in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Creating the window displays was fun.

    Cons

    Everything! Severely overworked. They put most people on Salary despite their being no legal basis for this, and then work them into the ground. I'm talking 65 hours a week and getting paid for what you thought would be 40 hours a week with the occasional long day here and there. They purposefully hire people who are new to the city and turn and burn them like I have never seen. Completely disorganized, constantly ripping off their clients, shady, just all around worst company ever. Numerous class action lawsuits for unpaid wages.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 10 English Reviews

Work at Flowers of the World? Share Your Experiences

Flowers of the World logo
or