Floyd's 99 Barbershop Reviews | Glassdoor

Floyd's 99 Barbershop Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 256 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Paul O'Brien
168 Ratings
Pros
  • "Laid back atmosphere, no dress code(in 33 reviews)

  • "Great place for seasoned barbers or stylists(in 25 reviews)

Cons
  • "High turnover because stylists and managers aren't compensated as much as they are elsewhere(in 33 reviews)

  • "Almost impossible to hire barbers(in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Floyds Has Changed My Life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Floyd's 99 Barbershop full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Floyds has honestly changed my life both personally and professionally! This company is so supportive on every level. The entire Management Team cares so much about the employees. The Shops are full of incredibly talented people that deliver top notch services and experience to the clients. Stylist are offered continued and payed education and it definitely shows with the level of technical ability they possess. I have...

    Show More

    Cons

    No real cons that I have personally experienced. Any time that I have had a concern, it is addressed immediately.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to hire and support great people!

    Floyd's 99 Barbershop2019-04-22
  2. "Stylist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Floyd's 99 Barbershop full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    This is an amazing company. I have been working in the industry for over ten years. This is the first company I’ve worked for that you can show up for work with your tools and make a livable wage with benefits. So if you gent the chance to be a part of the team, don’t mess it up.

    Cons

    I’d say the only cons are sometimes your coworkers are selfish/tired/hungover/unamused/need attention. These situations are rear and if you are working your not in their sights.

    Advice to Management

    My advise to management is to not take these “artist” too seriously. There are everyday hard working employees who love the company and the clients. If someone is complaining that management doesn’t understand what an individuals is worth...... that individual is probably lazy and has a self inflated ego. If employees are doing their jobs the sky is the limit with the current pay scale and it’s completely fair....

    Show More
    Floyd's 99 Barbershop2019-05-05
  3. "Great to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stylist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Floyd's 99 Barbershop full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Floyds name brings in people so if you are a new stylist you will have plenty of heads to practice on. Loud Music.

    Cons

    Pay is low. Loud Music.

    Floyd's 99 Barbershop2019-05-19
  4. "I love my job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Services Trainer in Columbia, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Floyd's 99 Barbershop full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    No dress code, great music, great staff that ends up being your family, home office is very helpful

    Cons

    Very very fast paced at times

    Floyd's 99 Barbershop2019-05-01
  5. "Floyd's Gives Great Opportunities to it's Employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shop Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Floyd's 99 Barbershop full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    -great benefits -healthy work environment -ability to advance within the company

    Cons

    -work/life balance could be improved

    Advice to Management

    Floyd's has given me an opportunity to advance that I may not have found elsewhere. I am so glad I work there and happy to be part of the team.

    Floyd's 99 Barbershop2019-05-01
  6. "This company has taken me places i never thought i would go!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager/Educator/Barber in Fairfax, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Floyd's 99 Barbershop full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Motivating, competitive, SUPER fun environment, $$$$, able to move up in the company, own marketing, able to build your own business

    Cons

    Semi-New Company ( but innovative ideas are accepted), commission percentage cap ( after 4 years)

    Advice to Management

    Would like a marketing team for the east coast to handle the different demographics. More hands on with management(home office) to work together with marketing for the shop. Reviews/bonus' based off performance as a manager rather than JUST the % growth.

    Floyd's 99 Barbershop2019-04-30
  7. "I love my Floyd's family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stylist in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Floyd's 99 Barbershop full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    My co-workers, my clients, freedom for my craft

    Cons

    I wish I had more of a stable schedule

    Advice to Management

    CSC's make or break the day for everyone

    Floyd's 99 Barbershop2019-04-29
  8. "Customer service coordinator at Floyd’s 99 in Scottsdale"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CSC in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Floyd's 99 Barbershop full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great staff! Everyone works well and it really feels like a family. The store is neat and everything runs smoothly.

    Cons

    Small break room but that’s about it.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Floyd's 99 Barbershop2019-04-29
  9. "I love my Floyd's family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stylist in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Floyd's 99 Barbershop full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    I love my co-workers, clients, and my craft because of Floyd's

    Cons

    I wish I had more of a stable schedule

    Advice to Management

    CSC's make or break the day

    Floyd's 99 Barbershop2019-04-29
  10. "The Bees Knees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stylist in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Floyd's 99 Barbershop full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great place for seasoned barbers or stylists. Fun atmosphere, very relaxed. You will not be hounded for working at your pace, so you don’t ever feel rushed. Receptionist are awesome, they bust their buns, so y’all can just focus on the clients in your chair. Work on comish with benefits.

    Cons

    Sometimes when you tell people you work at “Floyd’s 99” without saying the “Barbershop” part, they think you work at a 99 cents store. That’s about it.

    Advice to Management

    If you don’t have enough time in the morning to brush your teeth, just add toothpaste to your breakfast. It may taste bad, but hey, it works.

    Floyd's 99 Barbershop2019-04-29
Found 256 reviews