Fluidigm Reviews

Updated Jul 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
46%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Fluidigm CEO Chris Linthwaite  (no image)
Chris Linthwaite
27 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "So more high-level managers are brought in to 'fix' the company, while the actual workers are eliminated (voluntarily or otherwise)(in 3 reviews)

  • "The company is top-heavy; more and more directors each day, and less and less people to execute(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Fluidigm Rocks"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Global HRIS Project Manager in South San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fluidigm full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Action Oriented, Mission Focused, Seriously Exciting. Down to earth people in spite of high credentials and accomplishments.

    Cons

    The commute can be trying.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Top Heavy Organization & Old-Fashioned"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Fluidigm full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    If you’re a scientist and the science interests you, you might like working here.

    Cons

    The company is top-heavy; more and more directors each day, and less and less people to execute. Those who can make you believe they are working are rewarded while those who actually bust their rears are asked to give ever more, often without any recognition. The working style is old-fashioned and feels like the place is stuck in the early 2000s. Basic operations functions are disorganized, and everyone points the fingers at someone else instead of taking ownership.

    Fluidigm Response

    December 19, 2019Director, Global Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for posting a review. We certainly don’t want anyone to feel that’s their experience at Fluidigm. It is true that meaningful change – and a great deal of hard work – has been required on many fronts as part of the successful turnaround of the company, but on balance we’re seeing really encouraging progress. We’ve made great strides toward building a positive, collaborative culture that enables people to do meaningful work. In fact, just this month (December 2019) Fluidigm was named one of Greater Toronto’s Top Employers, an honor that recognizes work environments that inspire and motivate. Winners consistently include some of the world’s leading companies, such as KPMG, Medtronic, Procter & Gamble, Pepsi-Co, Salesforce and many others. Companies are chosen on the basis of work atmosphere and social environment, benefits, employee communications, training and skill development and community involvement. While this honor was awarded specifically to our Canadian operations, it reflects the result of our collective efforts globally to make Fluidigm a place where talented people can do the best work of their careers. Much of this cultural evolution stems from our adoption of a new set of global values in early 2019: Create What Customers Need Next, Collaborate and Learn, Drive to Make a Difference, and Step Up. These values are unique to us, developed and created by employees, and they are being integrated into all of our programs and processes globally.


  3. Helpful (1)

    "lots of ups and downs"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Applications Specialist in South San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Fluidigm full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    mostly nice people, I enjoyed working there when I first started because I had a great manager and a great team

    Cons

    changes to the organization made working there more difficult

    Continue reading

    Fluidigm Response

    August 30, 2019

    Thank you for your comments. You are correct that Fluidigm has experienced significant change on many fronts. While change can be challenging, it can also be transformative. In 2019 alone, we welcomed new senior leaders in key positions, including R&D, commercial, and global operations. We appointed the first woman to the Board of Directors. We created new programs for career development and enhanced key benefits based on data from our Employee Engagement Survey and we’re at work on an action plan for 2020 based on subsequent data. Many of these changes were factors in Fluidigm being voted the life sciences “Company to Watch” in 2019. We still have work ahead of us, but the company is certainly in a better place. Director, Global Talent Acquisition

  4. Helpful (6)

    "Schizophrenic environment"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative in South San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fluidigm full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some very decent people working there, good technology with potential positive impacts to humanity.

    Cons

    The values stated by the company are not those lived by much of management. HR has been on a 5-year rampage to purge the company of every single employee who has been there for more than 2 years. The concept seems to be that employees - not former (and current) management are the problem. So more high-level managers are brought in to 'fix' the company, while the actual workers are eliminated (voluntarily or otherwise). Internal support teams/systems are abominably inept and keep getting scaled back by management. Employees are then on their own to figure out how to get the work done - and punished when not successful. With a company that's not growing, there are few actual career opportunities.

    Continue reading

    Fluidigm Response

    September 26, 2019Director, Global Talent Acquisition

    Fluidigm has most certainly seen meaningful change on many fronts as part of the successful turnaround of the company. Our products and technology have the potential to unlock tremendous scientific value and long-term health care insights, and they are fueling growth. We realize that change can be challenging, but it can also be the means to a more positive, collaborative culture that enables people to do meaningful work. As noted elsewhere, we have welcomed new senior leaders in key positions this year, in R&D, commercial, and global operations. This year we appointed the first woman to the Board of Directors. We created new programs for career development and enhanced key benefits based on data from our Employee Engagement Survey. We are also working on improving infrastructure and internal systems, per survey data. As for the values, which were created by employees, they are aspirational, representing the culture we are all building. As we integrate the values into many of our core programs and apply them in how we do business, we believe they’ll contribute to our long-term success as a company.

  5. Helpful (6)

    "Soul crushing"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Scientist in South San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Fluidigm full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Used to focus on innovation. Currently, I don't see any pros for working in Research and Development at Fluidigm.

    Cons

    In the last couple years, R&D has changed significantly at Fluidigm. For example, currently, there more directors and executives (n=10-12) than bench scientists (n=4-6). Thus, the bulk of the labor is piled on too few resources. Decision makers seem insecure and dysfunctional. Scientists are given little to no access to career development and/or the ability to collaborate and share research with the scientific community. The latter, being a core tenant of what it is to be a scientist. I often felt as if they expected you to be so grateful for having a job, that you should thank them despite the complete lack of concern for their scientists career growth or even mental health. There is a degree of gratitude and deference I feel for whoever has seen fit to employ me, but any decent scientist could find a much more rewarding career at most of the thousands of comparable companies in the Bay Area. As a new scientist hiree at Fluidigm, you may not notice the soul crushing style of the management right away, but over time, the damage to your psyche and the stagnancy of your career will get to you. Moreover, the lack of legacy knowledge from your colleagues (almost anyone who was in R&D before 2018 has left), will significantly hinder your ability to make positive contributions to their product lines, the tent-pole of which is microfluidics and systems for which there is currently very little appreciation for or understanding of.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (6)

    "good tech bad marketing"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RnD in South San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fluidigm full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fluidigm has unique technology and can do many things. scientists are nice and work hard.

    Cons

    Marketing doesn't understand their products. marketing made bad decisions among projects. there is no vision for right projects. the commercial team members have no knowledge on their own platform. They often offer users what fluidigm platform can't do. The senior managers thought they knew the situation but actually not. Many strategies were made after things have happened; marketing flipped decisions to please their managers.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Administrative Assistant"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fluidigm full-time

    Pros

    Many passionate people work here.

    Cons

    The organization seems top heavy.

    Fluidigm Response

    April 18, 2019Director, Global Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for your comments. The fact is, the structure of our executive leadership has not changed significantly. However, we have added high-profile, senior leaders in key areas that include Global Operations, Commercial, and R&D, which is one of the reasons for the incredible growth we’ve seen this year. In fact, Fluidigm is the Life Science Industry Awards’ “Company to Watch in 2019.” Yes, our people are most certainly passionate about our mission. In March 2019, we rolled a unique set of core values – created by employees – that articulates our collective Drive to Make a Difference: https://www.fluidigm.com/careers

  8. Helpful (1)

    "TAS"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Fluidigm full-time

    Pros

    team friendly and innovative environment.

    Cons

    A lot of people leave.

    Continue reading
  9. "Fun and Dynamic Workplace"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Compensation Analyst in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fluidigm full-time

    Pros

    Lots of great people around. Managers empower and challenge you to be at your best with an understanding of what is realistic vs what is not. It is a very team orientated place of business but allows for personal growth. Professional growth and career goals are important to managers who want to help you succeed. A very overall positive workspace that allows the employee freedom and a challenge without being over-bearing. There is a strong sense of optimism in the air about the direction of the company over the coming years with lots of positivity. Strong leadership and skill set to enable and promote that growth that Fluidigm is on pace to accomplish.

    Cons

    Nothing significant enough to make note of.

    Continue reading

    Fluidigm Response

    August 30, 2019

    Your comments are very much appreciated. With regard to listening to our employees, we feel we’ve made great strides in the past two years. We take quite seriously data and sentiment from our annual Employee Engagement Survey. Employee feedback from the 2018 survey led to a refreshed set of core values that will guide our company for years to come. Employee feedback also led to strengthened and improved processes and systems to enable us to scale for growth, develop our talent and build a positive culture. Director, Global Talent Acquisition

  10. Helpful (4)

    "Confusion"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Fluidigm full-time

    Pros

    Solid technology and overall reputation for microfluidics

    Cons

    Dysfunctional R&D leadership, poor communication

    Continue reading
Found 82 reviews