Focus on the Family Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Focus on the Family Reviews

Updated Sep 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
61%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Focus on the Family President & CEO Jim Daly (no image)
Jim Daly
47 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people to work with, meaningful projects and purpose(in 9 reviews)

  • "Great Mission that almost all employees whole-heartedly support(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Ministry is focused more on making money rather than(in 6 reviews)

  • "It is a ministry/non-profit so there are frequent layoffs(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Phone Interview with Kelly Bazini Email with Greg Pepe"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Colorado Springs, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Focus on the Family full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Ms. Bazini portrayed the utmost Professionalism. She was very Friendly, COURTEOUS and such a Delight to engage with! I have also corresponded via email with Mr. Greg Pepe and he too has been nothing but Professional and Pleasurable to deal with! I am not a current employee, but do hope to have the opportunity to join this organization in the future;))

    Cons

    I have not experienced anything negative during the process of submitting applications or with the interaction with HR

    Focus on the Family2019-04-10
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good & Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accountant III in Colorado Springs, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Focus on the Family full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Sound, creative, energized ministry that is always forward thinking.

    Cons

    Male-centric, no time to HEAR their emloyees.

    Advice to Management

    Create/have times to really HEAR your non-management staff, and show you care/understand by responding in caring and helpful ways, not judgemental or "preachy".

    Focus on the Family2019-09-21
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome mission, weak execution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President in Colorado Springs, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Focus on the Family full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great team of devoted coworkers, sincere about the mission.

    Cons

    Senior Leadership disconnected from reality and establishing staff reduction as their core competency under the excuse of strategic alignment.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your critics more than your own press.

    Focus on the Family2019-08-07
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Not Worth Your Time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Focus on the Family full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some of the people are great to work with.

    Cons

    C-level management is insulated from what's actually happening behind the scenes. Un-Christianlike behavior is happening from management in certain units of the business, particularly being rude, demeaning, and deceitful. Ministry is focused more on making money rather than ministry.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to those who are experts on matters for decisions that are being made. Do not demean your employees. Figure out how to pay closer to industry standard, rather than bottom-of-the-barrel.

    Focus on the Family2019-04-15
  5. "Great Bottom Line"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Focus on the Family

    Pros

    The work that is accomplished. The people are wonderful.

    Cons

    A lot of layoffs. Never know if you will have a job.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure you're making decisions on real facts and not just opinions.

    Focus on the Family2019-01-08
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Focus on the Family full-time

    Pros

    Great people to work with, meaningful projects and purpose

    Cons

    Budgets and lack of income make things challenging

    Focus on the Family2018-12-15
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Don't go on FMLA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Focus on the Family

    Pros

    Great people, great mission. Old school middle Management

    Cons

    If you have an illness that requires you to take FMLA make sure you stay on top of it I was one day late in renewing my FMLA and I got fired. So much for mercy and Grace

    Advice to Management

    Well I understand it's a business you might want to try to act Christian

    Focus on the Family2018-12-10
  8. "Great Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Colorado Springs, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Focus on the Family part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Focus on the Family is a great environment to work in. They have great benefits including excellent paid time off packages that are well suited to their employees.

    Cons

    It's a pretty decent drive from where I live.

    Focus on the Family2018-07-05
  9. "Wonderful place in which to contribute!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Focus on the Family full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Sense of purpose, fellowship with other like-minded people, and rewarding work

    Cons

    Sometimes have to deal with the politics of the workplace

    Focus on the Family2018-07-05
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great People!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Focus on the Family full-time

    Pros

    People are connected to the mission and are committed to the work!

    Cons

    It is a very traditional work environment. Would like more flexibility with scheduling.

    Focus on the Family2018-06-25
Found 70 reviews