Fontbonne University Reviews | Glassdoor

Fontbonne University Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Fontbonne University CEO J. Michael Pressimone
J. Michael Pressimone
1 Ratings
  1. "Great community, weak leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Fontbonne University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People are friendly and collaborative

    Cons

    Leadership does not have strong vision, very dysfunctional and political.

    Fontbonne University2019-03-28
  2. "Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Fontbonne University full-time

      Pros

      Small, beautiful campus. Kind people working there, who really care about the students. The Sisters of St. Joseph, the founding sponsors of Fontbonne, are amazing.

      Cons

      Didn't get raises for the last 7 out of the 9 years I was there, and they cut 10% of the workforce due to restructuring recently, meaning the people who were left had to work even harder.

      Fontbonne University2018-09-13
    • "Enjoyable work environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Fontbonne University full-time

        Pros

        I appreciate the flexibility in the job I do. There's a lot of good things about working in the education sector.

        Cons

        Could use some improvements in HR and the employee non-salary compensation/benefits.

        Fontbonne University2018-03-15
      • "Wonderful school with an amazing staff that is motivated to help you out and do well. They push you to excel."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Student in Town and Country, MO
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Fontbonne University full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Small and intimate, great learning environment, everyone is friendly, open, and willing to help. Also availability is never an issue, advisors have an open door policy.

        Cons

        Some adjunct teachers are not well qualified and felt as if they were just in for the money and could care less about The students’ education.

        Advice to Management

        Get a better idea on who they hire as adjunct instructors to teach subjects that really matter to the students

        Fontbonne University2017-12-09
      • "Athletic Department"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook

        I worked at Fontbonne University part-time

        Pros

        Maria was great and I love the small school environment

        Cons

        Lack of vision, Inability to respond to athletes, as an assistant coach I was lied to almost every day.

        Advice to Management

        Hire new coaches, where there is smoke there is fire.

        Fontbonne University2017-08-01
      • "No raises due to budget. Enrollment dropping but ok place to work."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Assistant Director of Financial Aid in Saint Louis, MO
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Fontbonne University full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Good insurance coverage, tuition vouchers, a ton of holidays off. Smaller private campus with good group of students. Casual Fridays.

        Cons

        Restructuring of departments needed. A few key players need replaced in different areas. Not great leadership. Certain departments get more attention from management than others.

        Fontbonne University2017-06-01
      • Helpful (3)

        "Financial Aid"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook

        I worked at Fontbonne University full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        I've heard that the new President is taking the University in a better direction... I enjoyed my co-workers at the time, but they no longer work there. The annual staff picnic was a lot of fun!

        Cons

        Erratic downsizing, "clique-ish", limited growth opportunities, ran salaried employees ragged, started cutting employee benefits drastically

        Advice to Management

        Better incorporate the University's Catholic virtues into treatment of its employees! Continue providing incentives such as the staff picnic

        Fontbonne University2016-06-08
      • "Work Study"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Work Study in Saint Louis, MO

          I worked at Fontbonne University for more than a year

          Pros

          Fontbonne is full of friendly coworkers and students. I loved working here!

          Cons

          No cons that I can think of

          Fontbonne University2016-04-13
        • Helpful (1)

          "anonymous"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Decline in Saint Louis, MO
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook

          I have been working at Fontbonne University full-time for more than 19 years

          Pros

          Decent benefits but even those are now more costly for employee. Good holiday time off. Good educational remission for employee and immediate dependents.

          Cons

          Last 5-6 years it has run off or let go so many dedicated employees, I have stopped counting. The motto is do way more with way less. It has created an environment of paranoia and many employees feel paralyzed. Do I do this and get in trouble or do I not do this and get in trouble.

          Advice to Management

          Understand that employees have been put thrugh so much the past years. Figure out a leadership philosophy that doe snot demand a square peg fit into your round hole. See the employees strengths and utilize them rather than expecting the employees to reinvent themselves to the management whim of the month. Change is understandable and expected but those expectations have to be realistic.

          Fontbonne University2015-09-25
        • "Adjunct Professor"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Adjunct Professor in Saint Louis, MO
          Recommends

          I worked at Fontbonne University

          Pros

          Very family oriented. Great students. Small, intimate learning environment.

          Cons

          Limited opportunities to collaborate as an adjunct. Low pay as an adjunct.

          Advice to Management

          Offer more opportunities to collaborate and work with other faculty.

          Fontbonne University2015-05-26
        Found 14 reviews