Fonterra Reviews | Glassdoor

Fonterra Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 146 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Fonterra CEO Miles Hurrell
Miles Hurrell
13 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Less restructure in the company would be good(in 9 reviews)

  • "Constant restructuring - almost yearly / some management team members are all talk n no action(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Health and Safety Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Health and Safety Advisor in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fonterra full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Good environment to develop and grow in.

    Cons

    Still determining what their needs are in the USA.

    Fonterra2012-09-13
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Not what it used to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Fonterra full-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      Previously values based, very much for employees

      Cons

      Highly political, depends on who you know

      Fonterra2019-03-11
    • Helpful (1)

      "Plenty of oppurtunities, but not in the States"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Rosemont, IL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Fonterra full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Great company to work for if you're looking for overseas opportunity. From the moment I stated there it's always been "work hard, play hard". The people in the Rosemont location are hard working, dedicated, and smart. I love the integrity and values of the organization. Especially love the people who worked there when I was last there in 2012. If an opportunity were to be available I would go back in a second.

      Cons

      Employment in the States is too unstable with limited exposures to the people who really make the decisions...the Kiwis. Top management in the States originated from New Zealand and when it's time for promotions they usually send someone from New Zealand without notice.

      Advice to Management

      There are plenty of people in the US who know about cheese...trust them. Develop within and if there are roles to fill in the US let the US employees apply before sending the role to New Zealand.

      Fonterra2016-03-07
    • "Excellent company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Fonterra

      Pros

      Great products and talented people to work with. Friendly culture and good emphasis on work life balance.

      Cons

      During my 2 years at Fonterra, the company went through permanent restructuring. This unstable environment was not conducive to long-term project planning.

      Fonterra2015-10-15
    • Helpful (1)

      "mislead management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Fonterra full-time

      Pros

      Good pay and benefits. 3 weeks vacation.

      Cons

      No clear leadership. Changing management on a regular basis. Some leadership positions held based on manipulation of the corporate game than on talent.

      Fonterra2012-10-17
    • "Former Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Former Manager in Rosemont, IL
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Fonterra full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Great products and great people to work with. Very diverse throughout the entire organization. Pay is above average.

      Cons

      Very minimal opportunities for advancement in the US. Poor people development strategies for anyone outside of sales. Very high turnover.

      Advice to Management

      Get people more involved in decision making and do not limit those decisions to just the people in New Zealand.

      Fonterra2012-09-17
    • "Great Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Fonterra full-time

      Pros

      Good Work Life Balance is good and you get opportunities to try different roles

      Cons

      Business is stuck in a rut at the moment and selling assets, a lot of money in reasonably unsexy work, this will change though.

      Fonterra2019-05-17
    • "Fonterra Brands New Zealand"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Supply and production planner in Auckland, Auckland
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Fonterra full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Safe and well paid position. Fluctuation is high.

      Cons

      Huge organisation so changing slowly.

      Fonterra2019-05-16
    • "Opportunities galore"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Chemistry Coordinator 
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Fonterra full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Large multinational Many options for secondments and other opportunities

      Cons

      Too large to be agile

      Fonterra2019-05-20
    • "Process"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Fonterra full-time

      Pros

      Money, 4 days on 4 days off, team environment

      Cons

      Night shift. Weekend work. Long travel

      Advice to Management

      Good

      Fonterra2019-04-30
    Found 146 reviews