Foo Kon Tan Reviews | Glassdoor

Foo Kon Tan Reviews

Updated Sep 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 59 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
40%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Foo Kon Tan CEO Kon Yin Tong
Kon Yin Tong
4 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "(in 7 reviews)

  • "Low starting pay for starters, and comes with 2 years bond(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Audit Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Audit Associate in Singapore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Foo Kon Tan full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    High exposure as you are thrown into various kind of difficulties to fend on your own.

    Cons

    Management only care about maximising their profits, thus they will overwork you. Does not matter if you are on legitimate MC or leave, they will still get you to perform the work. Extremely understaffed and under paid, as above, hiring more people means higher overheads. Working overtime of more than 15 hours a day is a norm. Maybe for 100 hours of Over-time, you get to claim 1 hour of Overtime Off Hour, that's... if you are lucky. I have seen countless of people who were not able to tolerate the nonsense of management anymore, resulting in breaking the bond period and suffering financial losses.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please treat your staff like human beings with basic respect. We are here to work, not sign up to be slaves.

    Foo Kon Tan2019-09-18
  2. "Assurance Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Foo Kon Tan full-time

    Pros

    Colleagues and staff are friendly

    Cons

    Client portfolios not very diversified

    Foo Kon Tan2019-06-16
  3. "Audit Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Foo Kon Tan full-time

    Pros

    Friendly staff. Exposure to various industries

    Cons

    Almost everyone is a foreigner. Felt it was a bit hard for a non-Chinese to mix well with the team.

    Foo Kon Tan2019-05-30
  4. "Good exposure but low salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Foo Kon Tan full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good exposure, managers, seniors and colleagues Disclaimer: This depends on the team you get into, actually.

    Cons

    Low salary, 2 years bond No sponsorship for studying professional papers unless you agree to a longer bond

    Foo Kon Tan2019-04-18
  5. "audit associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Foo Kon Tan full-time

    Pros

    work and life balance well

    Cons

    below average pay long overtime

    Foo Kon Tan2019-03-31
  6. "Bearable so far ok so far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Foo Kon Tan full-time

    Pros

    Good colleagues Fun colleagues Workload bearable Can learn, although learn independently

    Cons

    Soso salary Soso bonus Sometimes underappreciated although we already did the job beyond our job scope So china focused, non chinese speaker might feel left out with the firm's development and goals

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate the staffs and the managers. Managers who are underappreciated will in turns underappreciate their staff too.

    Foo Kon Tan2019-01-14
  7. "Audit Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Foo Kon Tan full-time

    Pros

    work life balance and traininv is

    Cons

    low pay and not competitive pay with other firms

    Foo Kon Tan2018-12-18
  8. "Lookelsewhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Audit 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Foo Kon Tan full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    some colleagues are really nice, there to guide you according to your pace.

    Cons

    -Not a place if you mind working in stressful environment with hot tempered and no respect shown on you. Don't be surprised to hear profanity yelling at fellow co workers. - Low starting pay for starters, and comes with 2 years bond. Many (not all) paid the penalty to end their bond prematurely. So before you sign a bond, think twice, what your friend experienced in the company might not be the same as you. Since... the turnover rate is high, it is very likely you would end up in the highest turnover rate team. - Many Chinese clients cases, so if you are good in chinese it will be an advantage. If you dont know chinese, you still can work on other non chinese cases. However, it was very insensitive to tell a non chinese, 'you should learn chinese' during a training which was intended to be conducted in english with non chinese speaking people being present. - Be aware of selfish people pushing blame to you just to safeguard themselves - Do also read other reviews as I do not wish to repeat the points - Your journey in this company really depends on your luck, some teams have much better treatment, understanding and care while some doesn’t.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Management should show some respect to people, solve the problems together instead of pushing the blame to others and making oneself feel good.

    Foo Kon Tan2018-12-31
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Stay if you want to waste your life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Audit Senior Associate in Singapore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Foo Kon Tan full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Colleagues are nice Edit: Can't even find 5 positive words to fill glassdoor limits. Lol.

    Cons

    - Below market pay: Lower than comparable mid-tier rank, two ranks lower than big 4 pay - Two-years bond: management operates on the assumption that staff leaves after two-year and treats staff accordingly - Old management, resist change. Still do paper audit in this day and age - "Monkey see, monkey do practices": everything is either "follow last year" or "follow my other jobs" - Zero incentive to learn... whatsoever: See above - Blame cultures

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Half of new joiner pay to leave the firm. Spend some time to think about why. Good staffs leave immediately after bond ends, lazy incompetent remainers get promoted to fill experienced roles. Again, spend some time to think about the implication. "CFO asked CEO : What happens if we invest in developing people & they leave us? CEO : What happens if we don't & they stay ?".Try to be more like the CEO.... "Never push loyal employees to the point they don't care". "Don't ask why employee make your life difficult by leaving, find out why you make their life difficult that they leave. "

    Show More
    Foo Kon Tan2018-12-14
  10. "audit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Foo Kon Tan for more than a year

    Pros

    many understanding and caring superiors

    Cons

    very low pay for starters

    Foo Kon Tan2018-10-24
Found 59 reviews