Food City Reviews | Glassdoor

Food City Reviews

Updated Aug 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 252 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Steven C. Smith
110 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible schedule and many locations(in 16 reviews)

  • "Food City is a good place to work for a first job or while juggling school and work(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "Not enough full time positions and raises were not as frequent as you would like(in 17 reviews)

  • "Very low pay and little in the way of pay raises(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Not yet hired"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stocker in Damascus, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Food City part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    From what I’ve seen, it looks like the hiring process is easier and quicker than other jobs.

    Cons

    My only con from observing online is the pay.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    Food City2019-08-06
  2. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deli/Bakery Clerk in Loudon, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Food City part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice coworker, caring managers, it’s a pretty relaxed environment

    Cons

    Some of the rudest customers, creepy men touching me constantly

    Advice to Management

    Ban customers who act like this towards your employees

    Food City2019-08-17
  3. "great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Food City part-time

    Pros

    great place to work

    Cons

    nothing bad to say

    Food City2019-08-12
  4. "Food City"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Big Stone Gap, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Food City part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly peers, non difficult tasks, schedules around events, and weekly pay

    Cons

    Management could be rude, long standing periods.

    Advice to Management

    Nothing

    Food City2019-08-07
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    Current Employee - Deli/Bakery Clerk in Wise, VA

    I have been working at Food City part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great and fun place to work

    Cons

    It takes forever to get full time

    Food City2019-08-17
  6. "Food City"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Courtesy Clerk in Kingsport, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Food City part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good first job, flexible hours, and not too difficult

    Cons

    Poor management, pay raises are not great, and not a great place to promote within the company.

    Food City2019-08-09
  7. "Great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier 

    I worked at Food City part-time

    Pros

    Like a family, good pay, average hours

    Cons

    Doing the same thing got boring

    Food City2019-07-10
  8. "Overall Good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deli Clerk in Fort Oglethorpe, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Food City full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are really good opportunities with improvement into the company. Most of the people are the most genuine people you’ll met.

    Cons

    When your manager has a favorite and clique in the department it creates work place tension and make it uncomfortable for employees to come to management with problems because a manager is the problem.

    Advice to Management

    When people are constantly quitting in a certain department maybe look at the management as to why.

    Food City2019-07-07
  9. "Food city"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier 
    Recommends

    I worked at Food City part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Works well with college schedules. Positive environment.

    Cons

    Starting pay is on the lower end.

    Food City2019-06-30
  10. "Only good for resume building"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front End Manager in Wise, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Food City full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Weekly pay, flexible with school schedules.

    Cons

    Low pay, lazy management, shady business, favoritism, and two faced managers.

    Advice to Management

    Grow up. Stop thinking you don't need people's help. Stop being kind to their face and talking garbage behind their back plotting to get rid of anyone who challenges your weaknesses as a manager. I saw a lot of jealousy. They move their friends and favorites up, passing up those who deserve it and have more experience and skill. A lot of lies, and false promises. Don't take advantage of your best employees. A lot of...

    Show More
    Food City2019-07-09
Found 252 reviews