Food Services of America Reviews | Glassdoor

Food Services of America Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 125 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Doug Minert
60 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay and benefits they health saving plan is good(in 13 reviews)

  • "It is a union position, so pay and benefits are above average for the type of work you do(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours, hard physical labor, work/home life balance(in 8 reviews)

  • "Odd schedule creates havoc for proper work/life balance(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great family owned company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Food Services of America full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Not just a number a valued member of the team

    Cons

    not any at this time

    Food Services of America2019-04-03
  2. "Management only Awards their Friends"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Scottsdale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Food Services of America full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The company use to be a great place to work, with caring management. Was a diverse atmosphere

    Cons

    Now management only hires their friends or past co-workers that were their friends. They like to take credit for your work and have you do their work for them, while they crack jokes. Example: I was told verbally to do something by Management even though I expressed concerns and then when it was not right I got blamed for it. When I brought it up I was told to prove it. Since there was no email I could not do anything.

    Advice to Management

    Take a closer look at the trust you instill in your management, because when you employees start to be quiet and are afraid to ask questions. It kind of speaks volumes.

    Food Services of America2019-02-05
  3. "Lots of work but full filling."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Delivery Supervisor in Meridian, ID
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Food Services of America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay and benefits were decent Awesome drivers. Blue collar guys who would do anything for you. Large company events

    Cons

    Paid for 40 work 70. Upper Management is so focused on bonuses that it deters from caring about the individual. No training.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on the people and use quality training to make better associates.

    Food Services of America2019-01-28
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Current corporate Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Food Services of America full-time for more than 19 years

    Pros

    Despite FSA being in the process of being sold to US Foods, the Associates have a positive attitude and work as a team. Most see the long term opportunity. What company doesn't want employees who are smart and work hard? I'm proud to be a part of this team.

    Cons

    With the sale to USF, there will be change. BUT, there is always change, right?

    Advice to Management

    There will be change in the future, but there is always going to be change.

    Food Services of America2018-12-24
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Great pay, great benefits, great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Order Selector in Woodburn, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Food Services of America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -great pay -great pension -great insurance -lotta ot love working at fsa because it allows me the opportunity to provide for my family. As of 11/17/18 I make 25.34 an hour, have almost 13,000 a year going into a pension (12,997 and some change) and also being union have the same if not better insurance as state workers! (600 $ outta pocket Max per person 1500$ per family) and it's only 134 dollars per month with unlimited...

    Show More

    Cons

    Don't really have too many bad things to say other than the fact that this is back breaking work! I am 20 and have back pain and knee pain every day. Also, the shift sucks! We work 4:30 pm till whenever all the orders are filled. 10-12 hrs every night! So pretty much if you have kids, a significant other, or friends you will pretty much never see them. Also i personally feel I can never get enough sleep and am always...

    Show More
    Food Services of America2018-11-18
  6. "I don't recommend working there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Driver in Loveland, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Food Services of America for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It was once family owned company. They paid well considering not a union shop.

    Cons

    The management was not very good. Played favorites a lot. Cut hours of friends and put work on people who worked harder. Trailers had light issues and freezer steps would brake often. Would allow some drivers to milk clock while riding other drivers for having to much overtime .

    Advice to Management

    Find new managera.

    Food Services of America2018-12-20
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Regional Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Sales Manager in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Food Services of America full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    A dynamic company who competes and wins against the largest broad-liner's in the industry. Very people oriented, and goes to market with experience, knowledge and trust.

    Cons

    Just got bought out by U.S. Foods and will be in transition for a while.

    Food Services of America2018-09-26
  8. "Staff accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Food Services of America full-time

    Pros

    Caring, friendly working environment

    Cons

    Pay is average. Having COLA annually.

    Advice to Management

    No

    Food Services of America2018-09-10
  9. Helpful (1)

    "There's better careers out there!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Food Services of America

    Pros

    Pay, union, friendly employees, free pop.

    Cons

    Their standards are to high, lots of turnover with this job because of standards.

    Advice to Management

    Adjust the standards so there's a chance to have a good employee.

    Food Services of America2018-09-21
  10. "Night supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Night Supervisor 

    I worked at Food Services of America for more than 19 years

    Pros

    Bonuses and challenging day to day work

    Cons

    Pay, hours,non union job

    Food Services of America2018-09-21
Found 125 reviews