Food & Water Watch Reviews | Glassdoor

Food & Water Watch Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 45 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Wenonah Hauter
28 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fantastic organizational culture and work environment(in 7 reviews)

  • "I have friends/colleagues working in non-canvassing parts of FWW and they seem fairly happy and fulfilled in their positions(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Though not insignificant, campaign successes were limited by FWW's focus on grassroots community organizing(in 5 reviews)

  • "(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Manager in Washington, DC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Food & Water Watch full-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      Great cause, good benefits, great people

      Cons

      Like most nonprofits, the internal infrastructure (tools and tech) are difficult

      Food & Water Watch2019-01-09
    • Helpful (3)

      "It's complicated"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
      Doesn't Recommend
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Food & Water Watch full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      You get to do strong environmental advocacy. Like most companies, quality of work life depends heavily on your immediate supervisor.

      Cons

      ED is visionary in terms of campaign strategy. However, she is also a terrible manager of people. Morale is low.

      Advice to Management

      Professionalize staff management.

      Food & Water Watch2018-09-11
    • "Great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Food & Water Watch full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      I really enjoy working here. I have been working here for years and intend to stay for years. It's great being able to get paid to do work that matters and makes a difference in the world. The benefits are excellent, we get generous paid time off, most of our health benefits are paid for by our employer, we have retirement, and there is both paid maternity and paternity leave.

      Cons

      There is always room for improvement in any place of employment, but I really think the FWW leaders care about their staff. It is hard to get a raise at FWW without a boss that will champion for you. A good boss makes a big difference. HR is a work in progress.

      Food & Water Watch2018-06-01
    • Helpful (6)

      "Good cause, but dysfunctional"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Food & Water Watch full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Work on issues that matter Staff are smart, friendly, passionate, and committed Casual office environment with good benefits

      Cons

      The opinions of senior management are the only ones that matter, and they aren't responsive to the ideas or concerns of staff, which are taken as criticism. This made the culture increasingly toxic. Senior management micro-manages every project because junior and mid-level staff are not trusted. Low morale among staff.

      Food & Water Watch2018-04-12
    • Helpful (5)

      "The right mission, the wrong leaders"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Positive Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Food & Water Watch full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Brilliant and committed people working toward a truly progressive theory of change. Colleagues very willing to help. Doesn't take corporate or government $$.

      Cons

      Leadership is comprised of ageist, problematic white activists that have no business being managers. Some of the men at the director and management levels are very often, perhaps unintentionally, sexist. Different standards for men and women. "Family" mentality means you're likely to be over worked and underpaid. Inflexible in their ideas. There are no real HR processes. Cannot recommend to young people, POC, women,...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Commit to internal change before trying to expand capacity outwardly. Stop victim-blaming people and making them feel wrong to be dissatisfied with unfair treatment and work expectations. Be honest about your decision making.

      Food & Water Watch2018-04-14
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great people, great mission"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Communications Manager in Oakland, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Food & Water Watch full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      I work with a great group of organizers.

      Cons

      The salaries and benefits could be more competitive.

      Food & Water Watch2017-12-20
    • Helpful (1)

      "Fabulous nonprofit, going through growing pains currently."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Food & Water Watch

      Pros

      No place like fww. Working for true solutions, no compromises, and they win! Wonderful people, strong relationships between staff. They are not afraid to take principled stances on issues when it's still "un-cool."

      Cons

      Some of the directors don't have enough real experience in their field to be visionary leaders. HR can be tough, but it's improving.

      Food & Water Watch2017-12-12
    • Helpful (6)

      "More of scam geared towards students"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Canvasser 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Food & Water Watch part-time

      Pros

      -fellow canvassers are generally good people

      Cons

      -training was extremely unhelpful and served no actual benefit in the field -The methods that were taught were extremely deceptive and essentially taught us how to trick homeowners into giving us money (not exactly reflective of our positive message) -Was not made aware of any standards or minimums and was terminated on first day for poor performance despite it being my first day and training was so poor -culture of...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Make sure your business practice match your message. Also be open and honest with students especially who come and work for you. Transparency is key.

      Food & Water Watch2017-06-01
    • Helpful (10)

      "Canvassing - Deceptive and Unethical"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Canvasser in New Brunswick, NJ
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Food & Water Watch full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      -The organization itself is pretty good, and does substantial work/its funding is not terribly corrupt compared to other big green orgs. I have friends/colleagues working in non-canvassing parts of FWW and they seem fairly happy and fulfilled in their positions.

      Cons

      -Job advertised as $15/hour-- this is only if you fundraiser the "standard" amount each day. They didn't tell me this until I had accepted the job -You are trained to pressure folks at their doors for money in manipulative ways, I was told to tell folks that their neighbors were all giving ~$60 that day, regardless of that was the case. Pressuring middle class folks to give me $60 (a significant portion of which was...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      The way canvassing is structured within your organization essentially makes us salespeople, not community organizers. Obviously donations are an important part of environmental orgs, and that's fine, but the tactics used and the fact that your purported "15/hour" pay is essentially commission based is NOT grassroots activism, it's sales. I was really excited about this job, and knew that canvassing was tough, but I was...

      Show More
      Food & Water Watch2017-04-30
    • Helpful (2)

      "Meaningful work at a great nonprofit"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Food & Water Watch part-time

      Pros

      I had a fantastic supervisor who mentored me in my first internship out of college.

      Cons

      The budget only allowed for me to work part time - so goes the nonprofit job market!

      Food & Water Watch2017-02-24
    Found 45 reviews