KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

FoodServiceWarehouse.com

Is this your company?

FoodServiceWarehouse.com

Add a Review

FoodServiceWarehouse.com Employee Reviews about "free lunches"

Updated Sep 21, 2016

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 of over 83 reviews

2.2
23%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
FoodServiceWarehouse.com CEO Katherine Young (no image)
Katherine Young
4 Ratings
Pros
  • "Subsidized lunches or free lunches some of the week(in 14 reviews)

  • "My experience at FSW has been the best i have had in my career so far(in 9 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "FSW did not want to provide this to me(in 11 reviews)

  • "They let go of 50% of the company in the last two quarters of 2015(in 7 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "free lunches"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Was a great company

      Feb 21, 2016 -  in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun, dynamic, big goals, beautiful offices, wonderful perks like subsidized or free lunches, employee celebrations, great coffee & bar area.

      Cons

      Decisions not made by data and priorities change on a regular basis. The overall rating would have been a 5 a year ago, now I'd make it a 1 but thought I'd average it out...

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Former employee

      Oct 30, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Cafe and free lunches, smart coworkers, casual dress

      Cons

      This company has no idea what it's doing. It wants to be huge, so they hire a ton of people too fast and set unattainable goals, which causes everyone to fail. For the last 6 months or so, there is a clear culture of fear, intimidation and straight out lies coming from HR and the CEO himself. After two rounds of layoffs, everyone was told it had nothing to do with finances and that no one had to worry about it happening again. Then they laid off 60 people, conveniently when most management and the CEO were out of town. All the people left will be in constant fear of losing their jobs, while also now doing the work of the people they got rid of, with no hope for raises for this extra work. I'd be surprised if this company lasts another year.

      Continue reading
      18 people found this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Nice place but a few flaws.

      Oct 29, 2015 - Quality Assurance Analyst in Englewood, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free lunch once a week. Nice people. Never boring. Trying to stay cutting edge on new tools. Basically make your own position.

      Cons

      Very hectic. Very Busy. Still trying to find the course they wish to go. Human Resources was not very communicative and is their weakest department possibly even deceitful. With the level of layoffs that just happened I can't recommend working here.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Good Company!

      Oct 30, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun and intelligent people, a drive to work hard, and free lunch once per week.

      Cons

      Some of the reviews are a bit unfair. Is the company going through change? Yes, but it is not as bad as some of them say. The company definitely moves quickly and in return a lot of things are forgotten, which is the company's biggest downfall.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      do not work here

      Nov 12, 2015 - Anonymous in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      coworkers (if you can get past the high school drama), free lunches, nice building?

      Cons

      Where to even start? First off the CEO is an egomaniac that goes out of his way to belittle people and make them fail. We had company meetings where "our leader" would do nothing but pump up his ego by talking about how great he was. In fact it began to feel like a cult and most people were "drinking the koolaid" for fear of dissaproval from the leader. I have never seen a grown 30 something year old man act more like a child in my life. He would throw literal tantrums if he did not get his way. No wonder no one in this industry has any sort of respect for you. Respect is earned not demanded. On to the management... none of them know what they are doing at all. All they do is cater to the baby in charge and all of them are afraid to stand up for what is right. SOME of you do know the right way and are so afraid of dissaproval that you won't do so. In turn the entire company has suffered. Maybe you should come out of your office once in a while and know what is happening in the day to day operations. As far as the culture goes it was great when I started but has completely died. All that is left is people who will do anything it takes to please the baby in charge. Your coworkers will step on you and stab you in the back to make themselves look good to the CEO. You cannot trust a single person there. Everyone is so scared for their jobs and livelihood that they will not hesitate to throw you under the bus the first chance they get. The goals and structure were unnatainble and unrealistic at best. Who suffered as a result of that? The employees... bonuses that should have been granted due to hard work never ever were. If you want to fear for your job every single day and be completely miserable then work here.

      Continue reading
      18 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Used to be a Great Company... Not so Much Anymore

      Oct 25, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free lunch once a week, free coffee and espresso, a nice looking building, coworkers that have become friends.

      Cons

      FSW used to be an amazing company. Then, corporate greed got in the way and everything went downhill. Back in Juiy/August, 20 people were laid off. We were told that the company grew too fast, that we were not utilizing the people we had properly, and that no more layoffs would be occurring. We were also told that our CEO was sorry he was out of town for the layoffs and that if it ever had to happen again, he would be there. The company morale dropped immensely, but we were able to smile through it and do our jobs, even though we were all pretty freaked out. The company became a place of fear where every mistake felt like it would lead to losing my job. On 10/23/15, 60 people were "laid off". It started in the morning and lasted all day. People who had taken time off for vacations are coming to work on Monday to no job. The culture at the company has died. It went from a place where every person felt like family to a place where every day, we wondered if we'd have jobs at the end of the day. Corporate greed and a "more money, more money" attitude contributed the fear. We were told the company was financially stable. But 60 layoffs in one day speaks differently. I would not ever recommend a job here to anyone with the company the way it is now. Back in the day, I would have tried to get all my friends to work here. If you're looking for a new job, FSW is not the place. Chances are, you'll be let go in less than six months. Currently, the people who "made the cut" are looking for new jobs. Myself included.

      Continue reading
      13 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      You Have Got To Be Kidding Me

      Nov 6, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I can't think of many honestly. Someone previously said clean bathrooms, so yeah, I guess I can go with that. Oh and free coffee. Inedible free lunches, unless you want to consume 3,000 calories in one meal.

      Cons

      Where do I begin? This company is a joke, and I wouldn't be surprised to find out if it were a ponzi scheme with the CEO ready to jump ship with the "investors" money at any time...if he hasn't already sold his share. This was nothing but a joke from the beginning with the left hand not knowing what the right was doing. I encountered some of the biggest egos ever here, in all levels of staff. The people that work here sure do think they are smarter, cooler and better looking than they actually are! It's amusing. With that in mind there is hardly any HR or structure and massive opportunities for discrimination and sexual harassment suits against them. It's amazing they've made it this far without any massive law suits considering the things I saw and experienced in my time there. Aside from this there was the ability to move from department to department with this being advertised to employees as "room for growth". Lies. More like setting you up to fail. That is what this company does best, LIES AND SETS YOU UP TO FAIL. Everyone here that is "successful" got there by being a lying back stabber. I've never seen such immature gossiping from employees, management, HR and the CEO alike. It's like a company being run by an adult toddler as many have previously stated. Do yourself a favor and save yourself months or even years of a career set back and stay away from this place. Then the lay offs...oh boy...the lay offs. There is no need to go into that in too much detail since so many have already. However, just know that people were lied to and deceived then thrown out the door with their boxes handed to them regardless of their ability to perform. Some good and very talented people were let go those days. Best of luck to them on their new starts, may this be the opportunity to start the careers they've always wanted with companies that will appreciate their work and reward them for it. Someplace they can feel good about themselves and the work they do. Unlike here where I personally, for the only time in my career, was always made to feel dumb and inadequate. I do find the recent positive reviews on here amusing though, way to go upper management for adding those to try and raise this review score! Or I guess it could be someone who "drank the FSW Kool-aid." *CHUCKLES*

      Continue reading
      13 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      The CEO said he wanted a slide in the new headquarters, I wonder if this is what he meant?

      Mar 14, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free lunch occasionally. All the free air, water, coffee and toilet paper you may need.

      Cons

      Dishonest Management. Hardcore cronyism 5 rounds of layoffs in 6 months. This company seems to be quickly imploding due to cash flow problems and questionable business practices. Office that resemble a modern designer’s nightmare. Life in the call center is a bottom dollar position with no room for advancement. HR is a bad joke. CEO is a bigger joke.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Downhill slide

      Mar 6, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Great, fun, smart coworkers, for the most part. Almost everyone would tell you they made a lot of lasting friends that they met working at FSW. -Subsidized lunches or free lunches some of the week -Nice building, amenities etc. -No micro-management -(Used to have) Room for growth (as long as you drink the kool-aide)

      Cons

      - Poor decisions (as most of the recent reviews will show) regarding money-management and allotment of resources has very nearly toppled the company entirely - Less than truthful updates from upper management and the CEO regarding the status of affairs the last year or so - 4 rounds of layoffs, with a HIGH possibility of more, starting in August of 2015 and most recently in January has left the remaining employees paranoid and has bred toxic attitudes. - New information in the last few weeks about the actual financial status of the company and forcing the CEO to step down has increased the paranoia and toxicity. -Current morale and vibe is incredibly bad, obviously. -Even before all of this drama, FSW has always been a 'work hard, play hard' type of place; but by work hard, I mean practically run yourself ragged. Meaning it's borderline taboo to even take your full hour lunch if you are salaried, and I haven't ever seen ANYONE take a full 2 week vacation. Its very much expected for you to come to work even if you are sick, work overtime, and "get the job done", even if it is detrimental to yourself or personal life. You drink the kool-aide and sell your soul to get a pat on the head. -Goals have been set to 60% growth and higher in the past.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Once a great company

      Apr 19, 2016 -  in Parker, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      free lunches once a week, good perks especially during the holidays great co-workers not management. The employees were the back bone of the company. Unfortunately the CEO had delusions of grandeur and ran the company into the ground

      Cons

      The company has some of the worst management in the industry, they allowed the CEO to run the company into the ground. The company cannot pay its bills and its on the verge of bankruptcy

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 14 Reviews

    Work at FoodServiceWarehouse.com? Share Your Experiences

    FoodServiceWarehouse.com logo
    or