FoodServiceWarehouse.com "fsw" Reviews | Glassdoor

FoodServiceWarehouse.com Employee Reviews about "fsw"

Updated Aug 12, 2016

To filter reviews, or .
2.2
23%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
FoodServiceWarehouse.com CEO Katherine Young (no image)
Katherine Young
4 Ratings
Pros
  • "Subsidized lunches or free lunches some of the week(in 14 reviews)

  • "My experience at FSW has been the best i have had in my career so far(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "FSW did not want to provide this to me(in 11 reviews)

  • "They let go of 50% of the company in the last two quarters of 2015(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "fsw"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (8)

    "Great experience so far!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FoodServiceWarehouse.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My experience at FSW has been the best i have had in my career so far. I have worked in multiple industries before coming to this company and decided to join because I believed in the vision and where the company was going. So far, this place has surpassed my expectations. I love the people, the atmosphere and like the independence I have been given in doing my job. For a company moving this fast, I feel pretty informed on what we are doing and where we are going.

    Cons

    For some, the speed of change might be too much. The company has an extremely high growth rate and is trying to absorb all the changes at once.

    Continue reading
    FoodServiceWarehouse.com2015-08-29
  2. Helpful (2)

    "It was the best of times and worst of times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FoodServiceWarehouse.com

    Pros

    Challenging but fun environment. Worked with some great people that experienced a lot of success. i had enough perspective to appreciate FSW for what it was.

    Cons

    CEO centrist is an understatement. The systems didn't work. It was extremely frustrating not being able to get the CEOs attention to address the basic fundamentals of operating day to day. For being such a smart man, he was a moron.

    Continue reading
    FoodServiceWarehouse.com2016-08-12
  3. Helpful (12)

    "So Much Potential Gone to Waste"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Customer Care Specialist in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at FoodServiceWarehouse.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It used to be great to be a part of the culture at FSW. The company seemed to really appreciate the employees, with extravagant Christmas parties and tons of perks, good salary and benefits, and an overall fun environment. Then the CEO got greedy and ended up losing all the company's money, and the job and entire company started to absolutely suck.

    Cons

    Company is currently going bankrupt. I'm not sure if they've filed yet, but they are in the process of doing so. After firing 50% of their employees in late 2015, they got rid of almost all the rest in Q1 2016. The company is now about a tenth of the size it was at its peak, and does not have enough money to pay its enormous debts.

    Continue reading
    FoodServiceWarehouse.com2016-04-18
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Sales Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Account Manager in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at FoodServiceWarehouse.com

    Pros

    Great employees, fun work events, generous Christmas bonuses.

    Cons

    Inept management, unprofessional, extremely high turnover, no work life balance-FSW is supposed to be your life.

    FoodServiceWarehouse.com2016-04-24
  5. Helpful (11)

    "Vice President"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President in Englewood, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at FoodServiceWarehouse.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    From Millennials to Boomers - its workers made it a great place to work. The HR team did an outstanding job a promoting diversity, but excelled at landing diverse talent!

    Cons

    The 2007-2016 FSW CEO, interim 2016 FSW Co-CEO's, FSW Controller and FSW Management Committee Members failed in their fiduciary duty to protect the FSW Unitholders' assets and to ensure they received a fair shake and decent return on their investment, one that put the Unitholder first and which created sustainable profits to serve the needs of its workers.

    Continue reading
    FoodServiceWarehouse.com2016-04-06
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Good Riddance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accountant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at FoodServiceWarehouse.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I liked the flexible schedule and the people were pretty chill. I've made a few good friends during my time there. They were understanding if I needed to miss a day here and there and they were very kid friendly which I also liked.

    Cons

    Since day one, I felt like I didn't entirely know what I was doing. I need to completely understand my job. The ins and outs of the company and every tiny detail so that I can perform to the best of my capabilities. FSW did not want to provide this to me. This is of no fault of my own because I had asked several different managers several times if they could show me how to do something or train me better. It's not an exaggeration when I say 95% of the time, they couldn't help me because they didn't know how to do it themselves. I feel that management is very incompetent. They would always pass on work to their underlings that they could easily have done themselves. Tell me, what was the point of having us fill out employee reviews? I stated everything that I had a problem with and how I wanted to get with someone to learn more about my job, and I don't think anybody even read it. I was just let go today, so I think it's safe to say that I'll never fully understand the job I came to every day for over a year. Especially since it looks like this place is going out of business soon due to an equally incompetent CEO that likes to throw credit cards at problems, hoping that they'll just disappear! I'm sure I'll find a new employer that appreciates my hard work and thirst for knowledge; I deserve better. If this place somehow manages to stay open, I'd suggest avoiding it.

    Continue reading
    FoodServiceWarehouse.com2016-03-25
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Downhill slide"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at FoodServiceWarehouse.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Great, fun, smart coworkers, for the most part. Almost everyone would tell you they made a lot of lasting friends that they met working at FSW. -Subsidized lunches or free lunches some of the week -Nice building, amenities etc. -No micro-management -(Used to have) Room for growth (as long as you drink the kool-aide)

    Cons

    - Poor decisions (as most of the recent reviews will show) regarding money-management and allotment of resources has very nearly toppled the company entirely - Less than truthful updates from upper management and the CEO regarding the status of affairs the last year or so - 4 rounds of layoffs, with a HIGH possibility of more, starting in August of 2015 and most recently in January has left the remaining employees paranoid and has bred toxic attitudes. - New information in the last few weeks about the actual financial status of the company and forcing the CEO to step down has increased the paranoia and toxicity. -Current morale and vibe is incredibly bad, obviously. -Even before all of this drama, FSW has always been a 'work hard, play hard' type of place; but by work hard, I mean practically run yourself ragged. Meaning it's borderline taboo to even take your full hour lunch if you are salaried, and I haven't ever seen ANYONE take a full 2 week vacation. Its very much expected for you to come to work even if you are sick, work overtime, and "get the job done", even if it is detrimental to yourself or personal life. You drink the kool-aide and sell your soul to get a pat on the head. -Goals have been set to 60% growth and higher in the past.

    Continue reading
    FoodServiceWarehouse.com2016-03-06
  8. Helpful (9)

    "Awful company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at FoodServiceWarehouse.com

    Pros

    There were many pros in the past, zero as of now. There was free lunch, and an excellent rapport between co-workers.

    Cons

    Egotistical CEO moving the company in too many different directions at once. Without a plan of even successfully completing one. FSW will fail because of him

    Continue reading
    FoodServiceWarehouse.com2016-02-22
  9. Helpful (10)

    "Greedy CEO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at FoodServiceWarehouse.com full-time

    Pros

    Free office lunches, coffee bars, casual dress.

    Cons

    FSW was an awesome place to be not too long ago, but greed, poor management, and terrible financial decisions have completely ruined this company. I don't see how they will be able to dig themselves out of the hole they're in right now.

    Continue reading
    FoodServiceWarehouse.com2015-11-23
  10. Helpful (22)

    "The Death of FSW"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Englewood, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at FoodServiceWarehouse.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free food once a week, unlimited free soda and coffee, modern casual environment- mild perks but nothing amazing.

    Cons

    Many are willing to go above and beyond for a company that values its employees and shows you that you are important. 10+ hour work days weren't terrible when you love what you do. We were a family working together to achieve extreme goals and did it with a smile. The atmosphere was fun, we had nerf gun battles, happy hours, ice cream socials, etc. Lifetime friendships were created here, bonds that will never be broken. FSW used to be a company that was transparent with open communication and valued its employees. But over the last few months this has all changed and FSW has done a complete 180. Upper management restructures weekly if not daily. If someone is good at their role and does it well they are removed from that role to go "fix" another role that is broken and learn something new. When they leave the role they excel at for a role which they have no experience, they are being set up to fail. It is a very ADHD environment.. (squirrel!) you never get to complete a project and are always being jerked in new directions with a new manager that doesn't have experience managing your type of department and will throw you under the bus if you question anything. The employees have been lied to these last few months by upper management, HR and the CEO. A small handful of layoffs (10-12 people) happened a couple months ago, we were told in meetings that this was to cut a few select employees that had been given warnings that weren't performing. We were told that FSW was strong and doing well and no one should be concerned as this was a one time occurrence. This was a lie. On the morning of Friday October 23rd all internal communication was shut down and entire work areas were cleared out. People started exiting the building with boxes, department by department. The office was in a panic, no information was being given, everyone was confused and scared. Nearly all upper management was out of town at a conference, including the CEO. We were never informed the company was having problems, FSW was doing great we were told. Layoffs lasted the entire day, employees that were "accidentally missed" were called at home that night and laid off over the phone. Employees that had Friday off were laid off on Monday morning. Monday company meetings occurred informing employees that if you are still here in this meeting that FSW is invested in you and your job is safe. Within 2 hours more lay offs occurred, employees that were just informed their job was safe were sent out the door with their belongings. In total approximately 70 people were released. Very small severance pay was offered, but only if you sign a contract stating you will not sue, verbally or in writing say anything negative about FSW, a non compete stating you will not work for another food service company within 2 years, etc. The culture and fun environment is gone, hardworking coworkers and friends are gone. The employees left live in fear for their jobs, working 2 jobs now instead of 1 and many are looking to leave before the next round of layoffs occur.

    Continue reading
    FoodServiceWarehouse.com2015-11-03
Found 19 reviews