KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

FoodServiceWarehouse.com

Is this your company?

FoodServiceWarehouse.com

Add a Review

FoodServiceWarehouse.com Employee Reviews about "fsw"

Updated Aug 12, 2016

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 of over 84 reviews

2.2
23%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
FoodServiceWarehouse.com CEO Katherine Young (no image)
Katherine Young
4 Ratings
Pros
  • "Subsidized lunches or free lunches some of the week(in 14 reviews)

  • "My experience at FSW has been the best i have had in my career so far(in 9 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "FSW did not want to provide this to me(in 11 reviews)

  • "They let go of 50% of the company in the last two quarters of 2015(in 7 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "fsw"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great experience so far!

      Aug 29, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My experience at FSW has been the best i have had in my career so far. I have worked in multiple industries before coming to this company and decided to join because I believed in the vision and where the company was going. So far, this place has surpassed my expectations. I love the people, the atmosphere and like the independence I have been given in doing my job. For a company moving this fast, I feel pretty informed on what we are doing and where we are going.

      Cons

      For some, the speed of change might be too much. The company has an extremely high growth rate and is trying to absorb all the changes at once.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Don't pass up an opportunity to work here.

      May 23, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      FSW has a great company culture and I really enjoyed the team that I worked with. I was given a good level of anonymity and ownership to pursue aspects of my position I felt would benefit the company. My department head Jason H was awesome and took the time to listen and communicate with his team. The CEO Madhu was also a really great guy. You can tell he really cares about the people who work for him and makes them a priority. He provides an environment that allows people to own their work, experiment. With him you don't have to be afraid to fail as long as you learn from your failures and improve the next go around.

      Cons

      The site is massive so implementing anything new was a slow process. They are tied to a number of industry constraints and relationships which don't allow them to be as agile as they could. It sounded like Madhu was in the process of releasing themselves from some of those bonds around the time I left not sure how far it was taken though. Office is located in the Suburbs.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      A place with amazing people and amazing culture.

      Jun 15, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Centennial, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have worked at a lot of places and FSW is more unique than words can describe. You can feel the energy when you step inside. The people that work here are talented and dedicated to continuing to help it grow and expand. The CEO Madhu is not like any typical management person I have known in my career. He knows many of us on a personal level and has always taken the time to listen to my comments or give me advice on something I was working on. As the company has grown, it has continued to expand the amenities it offers to the people who work here - free food rules!

      Cons

      The pace is not for everyone - the place has grown by leaps and bounds since I have been here.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Vice President

      Apr 6, 2016 - Vice President in Englewood, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      From Millennials to Boomers - its workers made it a great place to work. The HR team did an outstanding job a promoting diversity, but excelled at landing diverse talent!

      Cons

      The 2007-2016 FSW CEO, interim 2016 FSW Co-CEO's, FSW Controller and FSW Management Committee Members failed in their fiduciary duty to protect the FSW Unitholders' assets and to ensure they received a fair shake and decent return on their investment, one that put the Unitholder first and which created sustainable profits to serve the needs of its workers.

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      So Much Potential Gone to Waste

      Apr 18, 2016 - Senior Customer Care Specialist in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It used to be great to be a part of the culture at FSW. The company seemed to really appreciate the employees, with extravagant Christmas parties and tons of perks, good salary and benefits, and an overall fun environment. Then the CEO got greedy and ended up losing all the company's money, and the job and entire company started to absolutely suck.

      Cons

      Company is currently going bankrupt. I'm not sure if they've filed yet, but they are in the process of doing so. After firing 50% of their employees in late 2015, they got rid of almost all the rest in Q1 2016. The company is now about a tenth of the size it was at its peak, and does not have enough money to pay its enormous debts.

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Decent gig for young, impressionable minds

      Jun 24, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Salary/benefits Free food THREE MONITORS EACH Good learning experience for recent grads/dropouts

      Cons

      Their growth pains transformed FSW into a corporate monster, one with more heads than it knows what to do with. Yes, they began as a "start-up" but they sure ain't anymore. The management style is great if you're ready to drink the koolaid and become an FSW soldier, yes sir, no sir...

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Working here fundamentally changed my life.

      Oct 13, 2014 - Anonymous in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The managers here do everything they can to help facilitate the work/life balances of their employees. The flexibility that has been shown to me has been invaluable as I've started my career here. The insurance benefits have blown me away. Ain't no company Christmas party like an FSW Christmas party, too!! The opportunities to grow here have also been increasing here recently; I've never known a company to basically create positions that fit the strengths of their employees, but it's what we do here and I think it's fantastic. The managers support new hires/transfers extremely well and provide excellent training resources to inbound people. We just moved into a new office, also, that was custom designed for us; the amenities provided at the new location are outstanding and working in this sort of environment isn't something I thought would ever be possible for me personally, from the building to the people. Being immersed in a group of intelligent coworkers also encourages the best work from the collective; the "work hard, play hard" adage definitely applies here, but it's also a decently laid back place in the typical day to day. Upper management is typically pretty busy, but I've still had 2 coffee dates with our CEO and typically am able to get a hold of the managers when it's needed. While responsible for the high level workings of the company, the management team still makes an effort to enrich and teach those that work for them. Knowledge sharing is crucial here and I feel that the employees working under management are well informed about what's going on within FSW but also the changing landscape of food service and the implications of that on us.

      Cons

      For some of the reasons stated above I'd say that it can be intimidating to work here at times. If you're the self-learner type, getting your bearings and feeling comfortable with your team and manager isn't difficult, but if you're looking for a job with a lot of structure and definition I wouldn't say this is it. There aren't a whole lot of policies I've run across pertaining to disciplinary actions and when they're necessary, which makes communication with your manager absolutely key.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Best Place to Work

      May 19, 2015 - Business Analyst in Englewood, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      FSW is a creative, vibrant place to work full of great people and lots of perks. We get fed by a chef once a week, and are launching a program for the other days to buy healthy chef-prepared lunch options. They love their employees, and everything they do for us shows that.

      Cons

      We work as hard as we play. If you come to work from us, you realize we live in our own time vortex.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      NO GOOD!

      Aug 22, 2014 - Sales in Greenwood Village, Arapahoe, CO, Optional[CO]
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are NONE! I am thinking any positive review here was completed by FSW executive management, because NO ONE other than executive management actually like it there. If they do, they are 'in' with management. They either like you or not. Walking on eggshells everyday descibes the (awful) culture pretty clearly. This is NOT a place to grow. This is NOT an entrepreneurial company and certainly NO entrepreneurial vision.

      Cons

      Mmmmm...where to start..... OK, how about the CEO, Madhu...such a fake. Seriously people....please do not consider working here because this guy is poison. This business would FAIL if not for consistent investor stream. What does that point to? That decisions are made without regard to logic. Waste money? That's ok- were covered! Train people add nauseum then fire them? No problem- were covered! Constant BULLSEYE on your back- what kind of professional, visionary culture is THAT?!

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Tech Company in Disguise

      Sep 7, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Englewood, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Heavily invested in software development and hires smart people. Business model has potential to revolutionize the industry. Free delicious food. Fun company outings.

      Cons

      Young inexperienced leadership that lacks maturity. The CEO was able to get FSW to this point, however, he is not the CEO to take them to the next level. The "cult of personality" revolving around the CEO is unique and un-attractive.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 19 Reviews

    Work at FoodServiceWarehouse.com? Share Your Experiences

    FoodServiceWarehouse.com logo
    or