FoodServiceWarehouse.com "let go" Reviews | Glassdoor

FoodServiceWarehouse.com Employee Reviews about "let go"

Updated Mar 24, 2016

To filter reviews, or .
2.2
23%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
FoodServiceWarehouse.com CEO Katherine Young (no image)
Katherine Young
4 Ratings
Pros
  • "Subsidized lunches or free lunches some of the week(in 14 reviews)

  • "My experience at FSW has been the best i have had in my career so far(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "FSW did not want to provide this to me(in 11 reviews)

  • "They let go of 50% of the company in the last two quarters of 2015(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "let go"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Customer Service Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Englewood, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FoodServiceWarehouse.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great schedule, good pay.

    Cons

    They made the mistake of over staffin therefore they had to let go of a lot of employees. I feel like some team leaders pretend to listen but nothing ever gets done.

    Continue reading
    FoodServiceWarehouse.com2015-08-20
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Good Riddance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accountant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at FoodServiceWarehouse.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I liked the flexible schedule and the people were pretty chill. I've made a few good friends during my time there. They were understanding if I needed to miss a day here and there and they were very kid friendly which I also liked.

    Cons

    Since day one, I felt like I didn't entirely know what I was doing. I need to completely understand my job. The ins and outs of the company and every tiny detail so that I can perform to the best of my capabilities. FSW did not want to provide this to me. This is of no fault of my own because I had asked several different managers several times if they could show me how to do something or train me better. It's not an exaggeration when I say 95% of the time, they couldn't help me because they didn't know how to do it themselves. I feel that management is very incompetent. They would always pass on work to their underlings that they could easily have done themselves. Tell me, what was the point of having us fill out employee reviews? I stated everything that I had a problem with and how I wanted to get with someone to learn more about my job, and I don't think anybody even read it. I was just let go today, so I think it's safe to say that I'll never fully understand the job I came to every day for over a year. Especially since it looks like this place is going out of business soon due to an equally incompetent CEO that likes to throw credit cards at problems, hoping that they'll just disappear! I'm sure I'll find a new employer that appreciates my hard work and thirst for knowledge; I deserve better. If this place somehow manages to stay open, I'd suggest avoiding it.

    Continue reading
    FoodServiceWarehouse.com2016-03-25
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (17)

    "Destruction of trust within the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at FoodServiceWarehouse.com

    Pros

    Chef Johnny's food was the highlight of the week

    Cons

    Over 200 people have been let go and serval divisions were shut down without warning. Yet the people who are the main source of the terrible decisions and huge paychecks are still there. The company cant fulfill orders because of constant credit hold. I feel for the CSR that are left to deal with the anger of the customers who cant get their orders and account managers that cant place them. What is being done to shield them from the terrible days they have to field all because of monetary issues that are 100% out of their hands.

    Continue reading
    FoodServiceWarehouse.com2016-02-10
  5. Helpful (12)

    "All show and no process"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Edgewater, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at FoodServiceWarehouse.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Made some great friends. Younger staff. The office space feels like Google and they do have an in house Chef to provide meals.

    Cons

    CEO makes knee jerk decisions and moves "VP's" and "managers" around every three months when something goes wrong in a given department. This creates an environment where no one knows who is in charge. They let go of 50% of the company in the last two quarters of 2015. Little to no professional development and salaries are all below the low end market value for most of the staff.

    Continue reading
    FoodServiceWarehouse.com2016-01-26
  6. Helpful (13)

    "You Have Got To Be Kidding Me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at FoodServiceWarehouse.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I can't think of many honestly. Someone previously said clean bathrooms, so yeah, I guess I can go with that. Oh and free coffee. Inedible free lunches, unless you want to consume 3,000 calories in one meal.

    Cons

    Where do I begin? This company is a joke, and I wouldn't be surprised to find out if it were a ponzi scheme with the CEO ready to jump ship with the "investors" money at any time...if he hasn't already sold his share. This was nothing but a joke from the beginning with the left hand not knowing what the right was doing. I encountered some of the biggest egos ever here, in all levels of staff. The people that work here sure do think they are smarter, cooler and better looking than they actually are! It's amusing. With that in mind there is hardly any HR or structure and massive opportunities for discrimination and sexual harassment suits against them. It's amazing they've made it this far without any massive law suits considering the things I saw and experienced in my time there. Aside from this there was the ability to move from department to department with this being advertised to employees as "room for growth". Lies. More like setting you up to fail. That is what this company does best, LIES AND SETS YOU UP TO FAIL. Everyone here that is "successful" got there by being a lying back stabber. I've never seen such immature gossiping from employees, management, HR and the CEO alike. It's like a company being run by an adult toddler as many have previously stated. Do yourself a favor and save yourself months or even years of a career set back and stay away from this place. Then the lay offs...oh boy...the lay offs. There is no need to go into that in too much detail since so many have already. However, just know that people were lied to and deceived then thrown out the door with their boxes handed to them regardless of their ability to perform. Some good and very talented people were let go those days. Best of luck to them on their new starts, may this be the opportunity to start the careers they've always wanted with companies that will appreciate their work and reward them for it. Someplace they can feel good about themselves and the work they do. Unlike here where I personally, for the only time in my career, was always made to feel dumb and inadequate. I do find the recent positive reviews on here amusing though, way to go upper management for adding those to try and raise this review score! Or I guess it could be someone who "drank the FSW Kool-aid." *CHUCKLES*

    Continue reading
    FoodServiceWarehouse.com2015-11-06
  7. Helpful (13)

    "Used to be a Great Company... Not so Much Anymore"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FoodServiceWarehouse.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free lunch once a week, free coffee and espresso, a nice looking building, coworkers that have become friends.

    Cons

    FSW used to be an amazing company. Then, corporate greed got in the way and everything went downhill. Back in Juiy/August, 20 people were laid off. We were told that the company grew too fast, that we were not utilizing the people we had properly, and that no more layoffs would be occurring. We were also told that our CEO was sorry he was out of town for the layoffs and that if it ever had to happen again, he would be there. The company morale dropped immensely, but we were able to smile through it and do our jobs, even though we were all pretty freaked out. The company became a place of fear where every mistake felt like it would lead to losing my job. On 10/23/15, 60 people were "laid off". It started in the morning and lasted all day. People who had taken time off for vacations are coming to work on Monday to no job. The culture at the company has died. It went from a place where every person felt like family to a place where every day, we wondered if we'd have jobs at the end of the day. Corporate greed and a "more money, more money" attitude contributed the fear. We were told the company was financially stable. But 60 layoffs in one day speaks differently. I would not ever recommend a job here to anyone with the company the way it is now. Back in the day, I would have tried to get all my friends to work here. If you're looking for a new job, FSW is not the place. Chances are, you'll be let go in less than six months. Currently, the people who "made the cut" are looking for new jobs. Myself included.

    Continue reading
    FoodServiceWarehouse.com2015-10-26
  8. Helpful (8)

    "Good place to grow if you're willing to suffer, but watch your back!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Greenwood Village, Arapahoe, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at FoodServiceWarehouse.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A good place to grow if you're willing to put in 150% and endless hours. Generous bonuses and raises (if they like you) They look to promote (generally) from within, even to other departments if you choose Employees are friendly (upper management is another story) Good benefits (health care, company matching 401k, vacation) and generous company outings (but if you decide you can't make the outing, or simply don't want to go, be prepared to be bullied by the CEO and then potentially fired) Generous Christmas time bonuses and gifts Young/lively/diverse atmosphere Free soda machine and unlimited coffee in break room

    Cons

    Where to begin... The place has grown fast in a relatively short time, but the upper management does NOT know how to manage that appropriately. The CEO is high-energy, long-winded and foul-mouthed. The entire office knows when he is upset (which is more often than not) and you better bring noise-cancelling ear phones if you wish to not expand your vocabulary, and lie low, or you're next. When he is in a rare good mood, the break room might score a new coffee carafe system. Management is disconnected from the "lowly" employee. Not all, but most are generally uncaring and expect massive projects/deadlines/margin/sales in ridiculous time-frames. The place is a locomotive that keeps gaining steam, but the wheels are coming off. Don't be surprised to work a 10-12 hour workday. They only care about the bottom dollar there, and don't care what you have to do to get it done. HIGH turnover. Unless you are a brown-noser or have a terrible attitude, don't expect to last there, especially in sales. The "watch your back" atmosphere there creates a sense of instability and stress in your own life. You never know when your time is coming, but you know it is indeed coming. You could be a hard, honest worker but make one mistake, or have a down week, you're out. Yet somehow there are people who have been there for ages who would turn your blood to vinegar if you look at them. No sick time. Depending on the department you may land in, they are ruthless about your time off. If you call in sick last-minute (without 7 days notice) you get a "strike". After 3 strikes, you're out. You better hope you, your kids, your mother, etc don't get ill enough that you miss more than 2 days without prior notice, or else you'll be out of a job. You better come into work sick, and thus infect the whole office. They don't care about your own health (physical or mental). On the same note, if you take time off during the day to go to a doctor's appointment, you better make that time up! The ten extra hours you put in the week before don't count. The office is so cold that you have to bring in extra layers to keep from shivering. The "optional" company activities are indeed NOT optional. You will get a personal visit from the CEO if you decline to go and will be bullied into going. Watch your back if you still decline, and start job-searching. The company meetings are pointless, take up your evenings and are only opportunities for the CEO to hear himself superfluously talk at the expense of your personal time. No training. Unless you are in sales you aren't given direction, but are given tasks and you better figure it out along the way. Sink or swim. Overall, the business is a good place to work if you like high-paced, constant and ever changing structure. But if you like to feel secure in a job and appreciated for what you do, run for your life. I appreciated the new skills I learned there, but it was a relief when I was let go.

    Continue reading
    FoodServiceWarehouse.com2012-08-15

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 7 reviews