Ford Foundation Reviews | Glassdoor

Ford Foundation Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 36 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Darren Walker
25 Ratings
  1. "Amazing place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ford Foundation full-time

    Pros

    Amazing culture and great place to work

    Cons

    None i can think off

    Ford Foundation2018-12-31
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Actual behaviour doesnt fit with stated values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Grants Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Ford Foundation full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Great grantees, beautiful workplace, pays well.

    Cons

    Senior leadership lacks actual management skills. The organization is lost in cycles of constant change leaving staff demoralized and unclear as to the organization's priorities.

    Advice to Management

    Be more transparent, exercise emotional intelligence, pivot from constant change to implementation. Leadership needs to be more accessible to staff instead of being sucked up into external distractions and endless self-referential deliberation.

    Ford Foundation2019-04-04
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Could be a special place, but its seriously not"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Officer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Ford Foundation full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Important and timely legacy and current mission. Ford is an institution where you can help enact real positive change in the areas and field we work on.

    Cons

    Ford is place of many contradictions, while we seek to empower people and communities, we fail on a regular basis to empower our own staff and create a culture where everyone matters. Top down hierarchical culture still reigns supreme. There are managers and Directors that while may be "experts" in the field, lack basic interpersonal skills, and other senior leadership who have been at the Foundation too long and are...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Start to realize that you need more than single issue "experts" at the helm, to truly transform and create a culture that will bring out the best of everyone at the Foundation and will lead the best work and impact in the field.

    Ford Foundation2018-12-21
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Senior Program Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Program Officer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ford Foundation full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    The foundation has a powerful and important mission. The privilege to advance social justice and racial equity by supporting amazing grantees is unparalleled.

    Cons

    Uncertain, distracted, and indecisive leadership at the top. Program strategies that change frequently to follow fads. Grant dollars taken away from core programs. People not empowered and trusted to lead.

    Advice to Management

    It’s been four years of churn and lurch. It’s time to settle down. Another option:- Ask yourself if your skills would be a better fit elsewhere. Make way for solid, just leadership that is not distracted by publicity.

    Ford Foundation2018-08-17
  5. "Great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Ford Foundation

      Pros

      People really care about the work they are doing and about each other. Lots of support provided to staff for development and career growth. The benefits are wonderful and pay is also good.

      Cons

      Because of the small size there is not a lot of opportunities for advancement within the foundation. If that is a focus of yours you need to think about how your work at the foundation will prepare you for what comes next, which is most likely to be an external opportunity.

      Advice to Management

      Give management decisions around strategy a chance to work before changing again.

      Ford Foundation2018-07-30
    • Helpful (1)

      "Mission driven and super talented"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Ford Foundation full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Great colleagues, commitment to a more just and fair world, global reach and networks, exposure to creative arts and media, inspiring and driven CEO, rich history and legacy and brand

      Cons

      Work weeks can be very demanding, some jobs also have demanding travel and tough deadlines, extended process of organizational change has been tough for many staff (though it’s important for renewing the place)

      Ford Foundation2017-12-06
    • "Great Place to be"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Program Assistant in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Ford Foundation full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Best colleagues, great benefits and the work is amazing

      Cons

      Not much growth for support staff

      Ford Foundation2017-10-11
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great organization"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Ford Foundation full-time

      Pros

      Open door policy Awesome culture Friendly staff Great benefits

      Cons

      Not much room for growth

      Ford Foundation2017-03-10
    • "Great place to work as an intern"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Ford Foundation

        Pros

        Made lots of awesome friends during my internship and it was fun

        Cons

        Didn't really get to learn much in my field

        Advice to Management

        Involve interns in more important projects

        Ford Foundation2017-03-11
      • Helpful (1)

        "Best place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Ford Foundation

        Pros

        A wonderful place to work. You get to work with amazing staff with diverse backgrounds. No matter what position you hold you feel like you are contributing to the Foundation's mission. The company has a great culture with fantastic benefits.

        Cons

        Not always a lot of room for upward movement.

        Ford Foundation2017-01-14
      Found 36 reviews