Ford Motor Company Assembly Line Worker Reviews | Glassdoor

Ford Motor Company Assembly Line Worker Reviews

Updated Jun 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 34 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Ford Motor Company CEO Jim Hackett
Jim Hackett
4 Ratings
  1. "It's a good place to build a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assembly Line Worker in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ford Motor Company part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The jobs keep me busy and passes the time quicker. Am acknowledged when doing a good job. I enjoy working 4 days and off 3. Health insurance is awesome! Pay isn't that great because I'm a temp part timer. Hopefully they make me a regular so I can get paid the real money. Weekly pay is nice.

    Cons

    I've bought 4 different pairs of shoes and my feet still hurt from standing all day. Some of the jobs involve way too many steps and it's ridiculous to think one person can do it all before the vehicle leaves the work station. There's lots of huge rats running around, but considering it's a factory, I guess it's not too much they can do. The foreign parking lot is way too far away.

    Advice to Management

    Whenever a job has so many steps that a person has to physically run, it's too much. Maybe rethink the jobs that currently stops the line and revise them. Also think about job rotations so people won't get so beat up on one job. Would make things a lot more pleasant and easier on the body.

    Ford Motor Company2019-06-27
  2. "Great Pay and Benefits but no care for individual employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assembly Line Worker in Louisville, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ford Motor Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Offers a consistent work schedule. Fair Pay for jobs performed . More than fair raises. Profit sharing.

    Cons

    There is a network of rules and red tape put in place to keep employees from taking advantage of the system to call out of work that sometimes does more harm to employees genuinely needing the time off work.

    Ford Motor Company2019-01-16
  3. "About the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assembly Line Worker in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ford Motor Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, competitive pay, and great union!

    Cons

    Repepitive work, if you’re not a handy person it will be hard getting used to.

    Advice to Management

    Boost the morale in plant :)

    Ford Motor Company2018-12-09

    Ford Motor Company Response

    December 17, 2018Supervisor, Employer Branding

    Thanks for your review - we're glad that you found our pay and benefits to be great!

  4. Helpful (2)

    "Manufacturing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assembly Line Worker in Flat Rock, MI
    Recommends

    I have been working at Ford Motor Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pays for school, union, vehicle discount

    Cons

    Hard labor, okay pay, no pension

    Advice to Management

    Pay your employees enough to afford/buy your product

    Ford Motor Company2018-08-29
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Horrid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assembly Line Worker in Louisville, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ford Motor Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are the one thing that's okay.

    Cons

    Union is horrible at investigations on racism, harrassment, work place horrible.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employees when they report racism. Listen to employees when they report harrassment. The union does not help women. The union does not help at all when you have grievances. When a person tells you about not being able to be trained, when you report someone for destroying trucks they should listen.

    Ford Motor Company2018-06-15

    Ford Motor Company Response

    June 18, 2018Supervisor, Employer Branding

    What you report here is very disturbing and not a reflection of our values. I will be sharing this review with the appropriate Ford personnel, and would encourage you to contact your local HR representative or our hotline (888.735.6650) to discuss the specifics of this situation. ...

    Show More
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Worst company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assembly Line Worker 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ford Motor Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay. No others. Terrible hours except a crew. If u are lucky to get an easy job then you may be able to keep your job if you want to work as a temp for years if they don't fire you even if you never call in.

    Cons

    Make up reasons to fire temps who excel. Pay off government to perform illegal activities. Allow racism and harassment of employees with no remorse. Jobs are over the top ridiculous .

    Advice to Management

    Treat employees with respect. Start caring about employees and their home life and their families.

    Ford Motor Company2018-04-04
  7. "Line worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assembly Line Worker in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ford Motor Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    unmatched health insurance! Amazing pay!

    Cons

    Invest in good shoes. You will build muscle so be prepared to actually work.

    Advice to Management

    Add more color options to the trucks so we can run 10.7 every day! Seriously I would love a truck in blue as in the mustang blue!

    Ford Motor Company2017-11-19
  8. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Assembly Line Worker in Claycomo, MO

      I worked at Ford Motor Company full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Fast paced, co worker bevame family

      Cons

      Extreme heat and freezing cold

      Ford Motor Company2017-11-02
    • "Pros and cons"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Assembly Line Worker in Chicago, IL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Ford Motor Company full-time

      Pros

      Good insurance benefits for employees

      Cons

      Supervisors are very inconsiderate

      Advice to Management

      They need a better vetting process for supervisors

      Ford Motor Company2017-09-21
    • "Great Job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Assembly Line Worker in Dearborn, MI
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Ford Motor Company full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      This job had great pay, hours, benefits, and people.

      Cons

      It would get hot sometimes.

      Advice to Management

      Keep up the good work.

      Ford Motor Company2017-08-10
    Found 34 reviews