Ford Motor Company Design Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Ford Motor Company Design Engineer Reviews

Updated Aug 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 88 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
92%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
Ford Motor Company CEO Jim Hackett
Jim Hackett
18 Ratings
  1. "General Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Design Engineer in Dearborn, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ford Motor Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    great place to work at. flexible manager.

    Cons

    my project was supported global so i had to attend meetings out side of my working hours.

    Ford Motor Company2019-04-01

    Ford Motor Company Response

    April 4, 2019Talent COE Specialist

    Thanks for going above and beyond! We are lucky to have you on our team!

  2. "Design Engineering Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Design Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ford Motor Company full-time

    Pros

    Exciting products to work on.

    Cons

    Very large company with limited opportunities

    Ford Motor Company2019-07-10
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Decent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Design Release Engineer 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Ford Motor Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Generally friendly management and co-workers.

    Cons

    Some archaic systems and bureaucracy that add time for approvals. Agency workers effectively get no raises and getting hired direct is very difficult despite excellent performance.

    Ford Motor Company2019-04-08
  4. "Seats"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Design Release Engineer in Dearborn, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ford Motor Company for less than a year

    Pros

    Good evening place to work.

    Cons

    Very little to speak of!

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Ford Motor Company2019-04-02
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Ford engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Design Release Engineer in Dearborn, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Ford Motor Company full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Uaw holidays are good, some autonomy in job but little or no ability for development or promotion

    Cons

    Pay is low for engineers or maybe only for females, raises are super low, vacation time is not competitive, no development, you better line your job, you’ll be doing it forever.

    Advice to Management

    Reward employees for experience and competence and doing supervisors work,

    Ford Motor Company2018-11-27

    Ford Motor Company Response

    December 17, 2018Supervisor, Employer Branding

    Thanks for your review - we're sorry to hear that you aren't seeing development opportunities. We encourage you to talk to your HR rep or your manager during your check in to better understand what development opportunities are available.

  6. "Design & Release Engineer - Seating"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Design and Release Engineer - Seating in Dearborn, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ford Motor Company for more than a year

    Pros

    Overtime Pay. Large company with training opportunities. On site food services

    Cons

    Long working hours. Poor morale and work culture. Too much bureaucracy. Lots of finger pointing and animosity between team. Very few opportunities to move around due to hiring freeze and initiative to reduce overall workforce.

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on positive reinforcement towards supervisors and employees and less on blame and punishment. It seemed to me that everyone was afraid of their managers and the possibility of losing their jobs. As a result no one would ever take responsibility for their mistakes and would focus more on political games in an effort to blame others for mistakes or take credit for the success of others. Overall this was the worst...

    Show More
    Ford Motor Company2018-10-15
  7. "Product Design Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CAD Design Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ford Motor Company for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The salary is good, the environment is healthy , The leadership is engaged , and I have all the tools I need to perform my role here.

    Cons

    It can take a long time to get a promotion

    Ford Motor Company2018-08-13
  8. "great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Design Engineer in Dearborn, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ford Motor Company for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly work atmosphere and a great place to work.

    Cons

    for an individual who is looking for challenging roles, this is not a not a good place to start your career.

    Ford Motor Company2018-06-22
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent company with so many knowledgeable people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Design Release Engineer in Dearborn, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ford Motor Company for more than a year

    Pros

    Surround yourself with decades and decades of experience, great mix of new and senior engineers, excellent environment to grow personally and professionally. Training is constant and available for those who seek for it, Certification available if you prove you have the knowledge. Best job experience I've had after working in another smaller OEM for 4 years.

    Cons

    It's a contract position, expect no benefits at all besides the supposedly discounted rate for health care plan. Hard to contact upper management for salary and benefits negotiation.(Again not Ford, the agency). Almost impossible to get a direct hire position.

    Ford Motor Company2018-06-13
  10. "Design and Release Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Design Release Engineer in Dearborn, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ford Motor Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible, good work environment, good management

    Cons

    prone to ups and downs of market

    Ford Motor Company2018-05-21
Found 88 reviews