Ford Motor Company Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Ford Motor Company Engineer Reviews

Updated Jan 24, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
84%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Ford Motor Company President and CEO Jim Hackett
Jim Hackett
187 Ratings
  1. "Friendly people; Great Salary for low cost area"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Machine Learning Engineer in Dearborn, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ford Motor Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very helpful people, great salary, opportunities to grow.

    Cons

    Some hierarchy and slow processes, but can be managed

    Ford Motor Company2020-01-24
  2. "Front Office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Contractor - Software Engineer 

    I have been working at Ford Motor Company

    Pros

    Great Social Belief at the company

    Cons

    Not any I can think of

    Ford Motor Company2020-01-21
  3. "Great Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Product Development Engineer in Dearborn, MI

    I worked at Ford Motor Company for less than a year

    Pros

    Work with really bright engineers.

    Cons

    Ford is an old, well-established company, so expect bureaucracy and inhibitions to change

    Ford Motor Company2020-01-17
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Intern - Engineer 

    I have been working at Ford Motor Company for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay, stable job, lots of possibilities to improve self

    Cons

    Dearborn traffic on highways around

    Ford Motor Company2019-12-23
  5. "Unfortunately cut during down sizing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Service Engineer 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ford Motor Company full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits, compensation and fellow workers

    Cons

    Recognition, work life balance and transparency

    Ford Motor Company2019-12-12
  6. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer 

    I have been working at Ford Motor Company full-time

    Pros

    Reliable Employer, Diversity-Friendly, Good Work-Environment

    Cons

    Careers are no Progressing in South America

    Ford Motor Company2019-12-06
  7. "Work with no time off"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Engineer, Senior 

    I have been working at Ford Motor Company full-time

    Pros

    you will always have to work and unlimited overtime

    Cons

    No upward mobility for other nationalities.

    Ford Motor Company2019-12-20
  8. "HIL Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - HIL Engineer in Dearborn, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ford Motor Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible working arrangements and assignments. Direct management slash supervisors were always receptive to new ideas and ways of doing things. There was a lot or opportunities to shine and fix issues. My supervisors were always fair and understanding. All of them (and I had quite a few). Good work hours if you could deliver results and efficiency was rewarded.

    Cons

    Sometimes the groups seemed to large and it appeared that at times middle management was too busy to take notice. But it wasn't that big of a deal and management was always willing to listen and improve which is not typical... so really not many cons.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing but allow your direct reports to move around the organization to view other business and functional units.

    Ford Motor Company2019-11-26
  9. "Good place for automotive research"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Coatings Engineer in Dearborn, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ford Motor Company for less than a year

    Pros

    Research environment is very good, employee time is well respected.

    Cons

    Corporate propaganda permeates most aspects of the company. Contract employees are disposable.

    Ford Motor Company2019-11-25
  10. "It was a great Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Software Engineer in Dearborn, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ford Motor Company for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of room to grow. Co-workers are there to help you. Gain lots of experience working in a big company. Intern coordinators are great at putting on events for interns. The paid housing is a very nice benefit for just being an intern.

    Cons

    Sometimes you might not have something to do. A bit slow at first.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure that an intern has enough work to do. There is already great feedback routes in place, I was on a group that talked to Jeff Lemmer about the Internship!

    Ford Motor Company2019-11-18
Found 761 reviews