Foreign and Commonwealth Office Reviews

Updated May 26, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
85%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Foreign and Commonwealth Office Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs Boris Johnson
Boris Johnson
33 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Salaries are not competitive compared to other diplomatic missions and international organizations(in 13 reviews)

  • "Limited career growth for locally engaged staff but that is to be expected(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (7)

    "Rewarding Experience, not highest paid"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Delivery Project Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Foreign and Commonwealth Office full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Direct contact with government officials and diplomats posted in New York. There is high availability of opportunities to work on “corporate” initiatives which made working there even more highly rewarding.

    Cons

    Pay is not as competitive. These roles are usually designed to be less than 2 years since this is considered a locally engaged role rather than being a diplomat in the FCO.

    Foreign and Commonwealth Office2019-12-05
  2. "Be sure you have made the right decision"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Foreign and Commonwealth Office full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to put your experience here on a resume, you may even get a position that allows you to make meaningful change and really help people. Weekly opportunities to listen in and even participate in discussions across a broad spectrum of issues, and maybe learn valuable skills. HR genuinely cares and everyone that I met in both departments were amazing people. If you have a problem they listen.

    Cons

    Essentially no training - sink or swim on day one. Depending on the department, you will have issues making friends and generally finding people to be genuine. There is an air of mistrust if you are locally engaged staff here - I have never in my life felt a feeling of being judged like I did walking through these halls. People in certain positions like to shift blame and altogether avoid certain parts of their job; Don't be surprised if someone loads their work onto you because they are "too busy". Mental health is blatantly overlooked here, and I wish there was more I could do to help those people that just needed someone to listen and understand. Work/life balance was not in any way a "balance" when I was here.

    Continue reading
    Foreign and Commonwealth Office2020-05-18
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Ambitious coworkers. Disproportionate and abhorrent salary"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant in New York, NY

    I worked at Foreign and Commonwealth Office full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Occasional travel, holidays, exposure to real world

    Cons

    Micromanagement, pay, gov’t red tape

    Continue reading
    Foreign and Commonwealth Office2019-04-26
  4. Helpful (5)

    "British Embassy Washington"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Foreign and Commonwealth Office full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Christmas party, and you got to tell people you work at an Embassy.

    Cons

    No room for growth as local staff whatsoever. The Embassy only hires spouses and people who are extremely unqualified for their jobs. Internal politics is out of control. The overall culture is very anxiety inducing and everyone is up on their own high horse and think their better than you. Management is very wishy-washy which makes it hard to do any job. Not to mention they are one of the lowest paying Embassies in DC.

    Continue reading
    Foreign and Commonwealth Office2018-12-20
  5. "Great team"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Foreign and Commonwealth Office full-time

    Pros

    Great team, friendly environment

    Cons

    Not so much opportunity for a professional development

    Foreign and Commonwealth Office2018-10-03
  6. Helpful (2)

    "move on"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Foreign and Commonwealth Office full-time

    Pros

    work life, fun things to do. expand network. travel. L&D

    Cons

    intellectually underwhelming. no career growth. salary!!

    Foreign and Commonwealth Office2018-06-13
  7. Helpful (4)

    "British Embassy in Washington, DC"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Foreign and Commonwealth Office full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, interesting issues to work on, and a unique perspective

    Cons

    If local staff, little to no room for career advancement

    Foreign and Commonwealth Office2018-05-14
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Locally-engaged staff"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Foreign and Commonwealth Office full-time

    Pros

    Interact with interesting people. Learn about the UK and it's a great resume boost.

    Cons

    Lots of bureaucracy, low salaries. Diplomats can tend to look down on locally-engaged staff.

    Foreign and Commonwealth Office2018-03-18
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Administrator"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Foreign and Commonwealth Office full-time

    Pros

    Work with great people from the UK. Nice environment to work. Great vacation allowances

    Cons

    Salaries are not very good, have to pay your own taxes as they are not withheld

    Continue reading
    Foreign and Commonwealth Office2018-02-20
  10. Helpful (8)

    "Was great, then Brexit happened"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Foreign and Commonwealth Office full-time

    Pros

    Some interesting speakers to go to, a lot of characters are employed there. If you're lucky, you might get invited to an event at the Ambassadors.

    Cons

    Since working here, things have become worse in terms of management, and compensation. Brexit has taken a toll on management (all Brits of course); they are very sensitive and have become increasingly hard to work for. The change in the pound has killed local budgets meaning lay offs and a reduction in our compensation package. Things are unstable here. Only take a job here if you have to. Until the pound stabilizes/goes back where it was AND Brexit is worked out, it will be a negative work environment.

    Foreign and Commonwealth Office2017-08-25
Found 216 reviews