Forescout Technologies Reviews

Updated Apr 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
63%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Forescout Technologies President and CEO Michael DeCesare
Michael DeCesare
113 Ratings
Pros
  • "The first company I've ever been at that really and truly honors work/life balance(in 16 reviews)

  • "Great product with clear differentiation from competitors(in 12 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (2)

    "Great place for motivated team players"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Team in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Forescout Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The first company I've ever been at that really and truly honors work/life balance. From the CEO to all other members of management they ensure balance of life is a top priority. Which isn't to say there aren't long days, stressful times, etc - but management recognizes these efforts and we get it back. Great comp plans, fantastic medical (best I've ever had), they match 401K and promote a culture of recognition amongst peers. First company I've ever seen where non-sales people are recognized for their performance and get to go to President's Club (and this is a significant number who receive this recognition each year from business units like marketing, operations, finance, deal-desk, etc. ) Product is a game changer and our customer approval ratings are outstanding. In my 2+ years the growth and improvement has been constant for aligning previously silo'd teams and every day a stronger, more unified Forescout advances forward. Forescout has a diverse team, and this is a focus by leadership to continue progressing in this area (in 2019 alone we achieved a Board of Directors that is 50% female, and have 3 women in worldwide executive leadership roles, including VP of Worldwide Systems Engineering.) People jump in to help each other and the "in crowd" is no joke. But this "in crowd" consists of people who believe in Forescout, our customers, our team, our product and embrace making Forescout awesome in every way. If you are not someone who wants those things, then you'll for sure be on the outside of this crowd.

    Cons

    No major feedback, other than to remind folks that working at Forescout is a choice. Those who are giving low scores and venting behind the anonymity of this forum yet don't make the choice to leave - that's on you. Grow up and take some responsibility for your life. The rest of us who know how special Forescout is value candor, value direct communication from leadership, and we value being on a team with people who step in to help even when not their role. We value an environment where people show up because we love it here, where we jump in and get stuff done and don't wait to be told what to work on. We don't take short cuts. We are not lazy. We don't point fingers. We are not a group of people who wait for someone to "fix it" for us. We dive in and figure it out. We recognize that it's up to us to make our company great. This is Silicon Valley so there are plenty of openings out there at other companies. Go to one of those companies so Forescout can fill your spot with a team member who wants to be here.

    Continue reading
    Forescout Technologies2019-12-20

    Forescout Technologies Response

    January 9, 2020CEO

    You get it. You get that we have the best product on the market with the best customers. You get that we work hard but value balance, family and personal time. You get that we're making strides everyday towards building more global alignment and diverse teams. You get the value of our gritty, teamwork nature. And for that, we are so pumped to have you on Team Forescout. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. - MDC

  2. "Great Work Place"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Devops Engineer 

    I have been working at Forescout Technologies full-time

    Pros

    Work & Life Balance

    Cons

    none i have noticed so far

    Forescout Technologies2019-09-30
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Now owned by a private equity? Happy that I left!"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Forescout Technologies full-time

    Pros

    Some really great people who I would be delighted to work with again. But thankfully, it looks like they have all moved on as well.

    Cons

    Very cliquey. If you are friends with the right people, then it's a good place to be. Also too many people don't understand their own jobs or what the people who report to them do.

    Continue reading
    Forescout Technologies2020-04-29
  4. Helpful (14)

    "A lot of Show on the Outside. A whole lot of Nothing inside."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Forescout Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good and Supportive people in Engineering.

    Cons

    Terrible management. Continuous restructuring and shuffling with limited/no explanation. Stocks going down and not meeting goals lead to company being re-acquired. Very little clarity between upper-management and engineering teams in SJ about projects and direction. Also tons of politics.

    Continue reading
    Forescout Technologies2020-03-04

    Forescout Technologies Response

    March 16, 2020Chief Product and Strategy Officer

    Appreciate your feedback. We have had some changes in our engineering organization to better align with our roadmap, and I understand that can feel frustrating. When it comes to our values, I see examples of them taking shape every day at Forescout. From Everyone Matters to being Gritty to staying Customer Focused, our Values are integral to what makes Forescout a rewarding place to work. I do recognize that it can take time for values to infiltrate the entire global organization, and every employee has a hand in bringing our values to life. - Pedro

  5. Helpful (11)

    "Jack of all trades, master of none technology with arrogant leaders."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Engineer in Nashville, TN
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Forescout Technologies

    Pros

    Peer support Team mentality Work life balance

    Cons

    Incomplete technology that does a little bit of everything but masters none. Integrations are hard, expensive and generally not worth it for the little value you get. Leadership are always chasing the shiny object.

    Continue reading
    Forescout Technologies2020-02-01
  6. Helpful (12)

    "Sinking ship"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Forescout Technologies

    Pros

    - New building but mostly half filled 95% of the time - Food served in the building, cheap prices - Plenty of parking - Own laptop to work from home

    Cons

    Too many to name but for starters - Silo team - Some teams don’t help their own team members - Minimal training, you figure out things yourself

    Continue reading
    Forescout Technologies2020-02-24
  7. Helpful (10)

    "“Toxic”"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Forescout Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People are nice here. They play hard. Work life balance is extraordinary.

    Cons

    Power is highly controlled by Tel Aviv even though HQ is at San Jose. There is no innovations in San Jose office. Management is really political.

    Continue reading
    Forescout Technologies2020-01-28
  8. Helpful (10)

    "Stay away if you can"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Forescout Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good health insurance plans. Good work life balance. Upscale office building. Competitive salary.

    Cons

    Aging product and slow execution. The engineering team in San Jose is dying after a new leader was hired in early 2019. Promising projects are constantly being transferred out. Good engineers have no choice but to leave because of bad management.

    Forescout Technologies2020-01-22

    Forescout Technologies Response

    January 30, 2020Chief Product & Strategy Officer

    I’m sorry you feel that way, I’m super proud of our engineering team. We just launched our first SaaS product, and our San Jose engineering team was key in getting that to market. The team also built a new infrastructure to expand our orchestration strategy. We are committed to our engineering team here at HQ, and they have an exciting roadmap to continue building and expanding our product portfolio. - Pedro

  9. Helpful (9)

    "Stay away. Seriously"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Forescout Technologies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Dogs in the office on Thursdays Lots of parking Showers Great exit benefits for when you decide to leave the company

    Cons

    Many, many issues: - Food is terrible - Promises are made that they can't keep (promised us a gym, never happened) - Huge gong added to the floor is a major distraction that they won't get rid of - Zero communication between managers and other teams within the organization leads to miscommunication and wasted time - Majority of the company leaves before 3pm - Trainings are not tailored to individual roles - I have yet to see a single promotion from within - Inside engineers don't even understand the product - Product is too expensive, making it very difficult to sell - Lots of company money is spent on parties, which is great until you see another dip in the stock price Other things to note, since I joined: - Stock price dropped in half - Several C-level executives have left over the last year - HALF of inside sales has quit, including 2/3 of the managers

    Continue reading
    Forescout Technologies2019-12-13

    Forescout Technologies Response

    December 16, 2019CEO

    Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I wanted to address some of the concerns you bought up. I do agree that we could always be better at communication, and we continue to look for ways to get better. There are multiple channels of communication and we are trying to make that communication a two-way street. A great example is our most recent All Hands in November, which we made completely virtual and anonymous so employees to ask tough questions. You have raised a variety of other concerns so let me tackle the few about our work environment - We are also constantly working to improve amenities for employees at our offices – that’s why we provide highly subsidized food, free snacks, and are still planning to build a gym but the timing has been delayed for a few reasons including permits and priorities. Finally, while I think you make many great points, I would have to disagree that we don’t promote internally. We have had many examples of employees that have been able to move into new functions and roles after spending time in entry level positions as well as folks who moved up the organization into management and senior leadership roles. Our employees are always the top focus for us and any recommendations on you might have to how we can improve career development internally would be welcomed. -MDC

  10. Helpful (11)

    "Stay away from this mess"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SDR in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Forescout Technologies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The building itself is nice. No one is ever at work so its all to yourself.

    Cons

    Wow too many to list. In my opinion, this place is ran by folks who really don't care about the well being of their subordinates. I would really take the time to read the past reviews before applying to ForeScout. What a disappointment.

    Continue reading
    Forescout Technologies2019-10-21

    Forescout Technologies Response

    October 25, 2019CRO

    Employees and culture are top priorities for our entire leadership team, but we recognize we can always do better. As CRO, I take employee feedback seriously on how we can improve and we’ve provided multiple vehicles to facilitate that, especially inside our sales organization. I'm sorry to hear you feel you've had a bad experience, so I would welcome you to reach out to me directly. I would love to see this through and have a constructive conversation about how we can improve the experience for our employees. -Steve

Viewing 1 - 10 of 156 Reviews