Forescout Technologies Reviews | Glassdoor

Forescout Technologies Reviews

Updated Mar 10, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
63%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Forescout Technologies President and CEO Michael DeCesare
Michael DeCesare
113 Ratings
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Great place for motivated team players"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Team in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Forescout Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The first company I've ever been at that really and truly honors work/life balance. From the CEO to all other members of management they ensure balance of life is a top priority. Which isn't to say there aren't long days, stressful times, etc - but management recognizes these efforts and we get it back. Great comp plans, fantastic medical (best I've ever had), they match 401K and promote a culture of recognition amongst peers. First company I've ever seen where non-sales people are recognized for their performance and get to go to President's Club (and this is a significant number who receive this recognition each year from business units like marketing, operations, finance, deal-desk, etc. ) Product is a game changer and our customer approval ratings are outstanding. In my 2+ years the growth and improvement has been constant for aligning previously silo'd teams and every day a stronger, more unified Forescout advances forward. Forescout has a diverse team, and this is a focus by leadership to continue progressing in this area (in 2019 alone we achieved a Board of Directors that is 50% female, and have 3 women in worldwide executive leadership roles, including VP of Worldwide Systems Engineering.) People jump in to help each other and the "in crowd" is no joke. But this "in crowd" consists of people who believe in Forescout, our customers, our team, our product and embrace making Forescout awesome in every way. If you are not someone who wants those things, then you'll for sure be on the outside of this crowd.

    Cons

    No major feedback, other than to remind folks that working at Forescout is a choice. Those who are giving low scores and venting behind the anonymity of this forum yet don't make the choice to leave - that's on you. Grow up and take some responsibility for your life. The rest of us who know how special Forescout is value candor, value direct communication from leadership, and we value being on a team with people who step in to help even when not their role. We value an environment where people show up because we love it here, where we jump in and get stuff done and don't wait to be told what to work on. We don't take short cuts. We are not lazy. We don't point fingers. We are not a group of people who wait for someone to "fix it" for us. We dive in and figure it out. We recognize that it's up to us to make our company great. This is Silicon Valley so there are plenty of openings out there at other companies. Go to one of those companies so Forescout can fill your spot with a team member who wants to be here.

    Continue reading
    Forescout Technologies2019-12-20

    Forescout Technologies Response

    January 9, 2020CEO

    You get it. You get that we have the best product on the market with the best customers. You get that we work hard but value balance, family and personal time. You get that we're making strides everyday towards building more global alignment and diverse teams. You get the value of our gritty, teamwork nature. And for that, we are so pumped to have you on Team Forescout. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. - MDC

    Continue reading
  2. "Great Work Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Devops Engineer 

    I have been working at Forescout Technologies full-time

    Pros

    Work & Life Balance

    Cons

    none i have noticed so far

    Forescout Technologies2019-09-30
  3. "Excellent Company - Great Technology"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Forescout Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management really cares about employees Technology is excellent Opportunity for Growth abounds Motivated Team members

    Cons

    Building Processes Alignment of groups/teams requires over-communication

    Continue reading
    Forescout Technologies2019-09-18
  4. "Great Company, Product and Organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Forescout Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent, mature product in a competitive market with growing mindshare. Strong leadership at Executive level, excellent benefits, and a good life-work balance in an environment that expects and promotes individual growth. Teamwork - especially within Sales Engineering group - is very strong and the best I have experienced.

    Cons

    As with all sales organizations, focus and results are king. Post-IPO goals obviously ratchet up expectations, affecting stability.

    Forescout Technologies2019-09-01

    Forescout Technologies Response

    December 18, 2019CEO

    Great feedback. I am super proud of our team, product, and culture at Forescout – it’s great to hear you appreciated that too! While we have a high bar for our goals, I like to think our focus on teamwork helps us all achieve those goals together! – MDC

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great company with growth potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance & Accounting 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Forescout Technologies full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company with great culture! Everyone is hard working and friendly and eager to help and mentor others. Management really cares and wants to retain employees to the extent that employees relocation has been approved and that really says great things about this company. I have been in this company from it's pre-IPO stage and have seen first hand how the company and people have grown. Internal promotions have been awarded to employees and that's a key for employee retention.

    Cons

    Internal promotion in Finance has been slower compared to the other departments within the company. Admin employees are less recognized when compared to Sales and marketing employees and that's the overall frustration in the company.

    Continue reading
    Forescout Technologies2019-06-24

    Forescout Technologies Response

    June 27, 2019Chief Financial Officer

    Great feedback. I sincerely appreciate and value the pros, cons and advice to management that you identified. You have my commitment to build upon the pros and to work harder to progress the points you raise in the cons and the advice to management. - Criss

    Continue reading
  6. "Great work environment! Lots of opportunities to grow!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accounting Director in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Forescout Technologies full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    i have been working at ForeScout full time for more than 10 years. It is an outstanding company to work for, professional, talented people and plenty of opportunities to contribute and enhance your skills and career. I had the opportunity to relocate, change my role within the finance department and be part of something huge due to my managers support and inspiration. I got the chance to work with new teams on projects that inspired and challenged me every single time and gained a truly global experience. I'm fortunate to be in a place that understand the importance of Work- life balance and promotes it in so many ways (gym, company outings, working remotely, encouraging to work more efficiently vs. to work longer hours, maternity benefits etc.)

    Cons

    Currently there is no cons to speak about. There are challenges that we are experiencing as a growing company but with our clear agenda (vision) we will continue to achieve our goals.

    Continue reading
    Forescout Technologies2019-06-23

    Forescout Technologies Response

    June 27, 2019Chief Financial Officer

    Great insight for those who come to this site and read your review. This is definitely a team effort with varying degrees of peaks and valleys of work loa. I definitely value the sacrifices you make away from family during peak periods and am thrilled to hear the acknowledgment of effort to enabling relocations and job changes to further your skills and career. - Criss

    Continue reading
  7. "Exciting, Early Stages of Something Significant!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Finance Manager in Kamiah, ID
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Forescout Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The corporate growth strategy has been clearly communicated to all employees. Input from the Finance & Accounting team is valued. I've been allowed the autonomy to structure my role to most effectively provide financial management planning and oversight to my business partners. Multiple opportunities exist to work on projects in line with my professional interests and development goals. My CFO and Finance SVP strongly believe in an “open door” policy which I’ve taken advantage of on numerous occasions. I have clear, mutually agreed, MBOs and I have regular 1-1 sessions with my manager. Senior management supported my request to work remotely due to family responsibilities and that has allowed me to remain a member of team Forescout!

    Cons

    Not sure it’s an accurate assessment to label as a “con”, as I view the following as a natural consequence of a company preparing for significant growth. This type of transition leads to challenges and even periods of frustration. For example, being part of a growth company will inevitably lead to prioritization conflicts in which regularly occurring tasks and ad hoc requests/assignments seem to converge at once. Some groups have had challenges achieving work/life balance at peak times. However, compared to other Bay Area companies which I've worked, the attribute setting Forescout apart is that the Finance & Accounting management team acknowledges the issue and has taken steps to alleviate some of the stress in the short term (very appreciative!) while continuing to drive more comprehensive solutions.

    Continue reading
    Forescout Technologies2019-06-21

    Forescout Technologies Response

    June 27, 2019Chief Financial Officer

    Great feedback. I sincerely appreciate and value the pros, cons and advice to management that you identified. You have my commitment to build upon the pros and to work harder to progress the points you raise in the cons and the advice to management, especially as it relates to extending our core value of One Team, so everyone has the ability to provide constructive input with their manager. - Criss

    Continue reading
  8. "Great culture and growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Forescout Technologies full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Potential Market, IoT devices on networks, is big, underserved and growing

    Cons

    some growing pains from expansion

    Continue reading
    Forescout Technologies2019-06-19
  9. "So far, so good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Forescout Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Things I have enjoyed and appreciate thus far: - fairly young group of people in accounting and finance; - for a pretty new public company, the accounting and finance team is very solid, experienced, and knowledgeable; - executives open door policies; - flexibility in the sense that you finish your job, you go home. that being said, when there's a need to do overtime or weekends, we do too. but during down time, the flexibility is there; - people understand when you have family or emergencies to attend to; - some form of weekly/biweekly coaching and catching up with direct supervisor to ensure things are doing alright both at work and personal matters; - flexibility to try different areas at work including transfers - recognition and appreciation for working hard is evident

    Cons

    Would not call these cons; just space for improvement: - there are still lots to automate in terms of processes but that's also where great learning comes from; - given accounting and finance is looked at as a cost center and not really a money generating department, sometimes, it feels like less importance is placed on the team and cost cutting gets evident; - have not seen too much internal promotions or evident career path discussions on probable development or promotions; - compensation and benefits are about average.

    Forescout Technologies2019-06-19

    Forescout Technologies Response

    June 27, 2019Chief Financial Officer

    Great feedback. I sincerely appreciate and value the pros and areas of improvement that you identified. You have my commitment to build upon the pros and to work harder to progress the points you raise. - Criss

    Continue reading
  10. "Lucky To Be Here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance - Operations in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Forescout Technologies full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Never boring, growing, evolving company with huge potential in front of us. That creates excitement for me each day, never knowing what is going to happen, but feeling pretty confident that the end result will be a good one. There are long hours, days and weeks at times but my management team is extremely flexible, allowing me to work from home as much as i need to maintain the feeling of a good work/life balance. I have been recognized for my achievements in many different ways. Promoted from within, included in several exclusive activities that are only available to those who excel, which makes it really mean something when I am selected and recognized. The recognition piece, specifically within the CFOs functional organization is unique. I feel like what i do is important and has a genuine positive impact. That starts with Criss and flows down through his management team. These years with Forescout have been the best of my career, which have ultimately translated into some of the best times of my life. I know Mike has said before that some of the best years of our careers are on the way here at Forescout and so far that has been true. Cant wait for whats to come!

    Cons

    As we grow, expand, acquire it can sometimes feel like we haven't quite prepared properly for what is to come. Getting everyone on the same page is always a challenge. As someone who supports the sales organization, it can be difficult to communicate and implement change. Nothing unusual that most every company struggles to perfect.

    Continue reading
    Forescout Technologies2019-06-19

    Forescout Technologies Response

    June 27, 2019Chief Financial Officer

    I sincerely appreciate the kind words and extremely thoughtful sentiment. I hope many who come to this site have a chance to read your review. I am blushing. ;-) -Criss

    Continue reading
Found 155 reviews