Forescout Technologies "career advancement" Reviews | Glassdoor

Forescout Technologies Employee Reviews about "career advancement"

Updated Nov 8, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
74%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Forescout Technologies President and CEO Michael DeCesare
Michael DeCesare
116 Ratings
Pros
  • "The first company I've ever been at that really and truly honors work/life balance(in 16 reviews)

  • "Great product with clear differentiation from competitors(in 12 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "career advancement"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (14)

    "Huge mistake"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Forescout Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - tone from the top is to value and promote employees - hot product and market - free drink and snacks - nice office space - some friendly and smart people - life/work balance is not bad

    Cons

    - politics is the main game here. Want to move up? Play the game or know the right people - no open communication and feedback from managers - top management don’t get along - high percentage of middle management are incredibly incompetent. It’s pretty eye opening to see how they prosper by serving up - no career advancement opportunities - employees are encouraged to speak up, but when they do they will be faced with retaliation. In one particular organization , hardworking employees are pushed out left and right very skillfully, because they are not friends with or disliked by the organization head.

    Forescout Technologies2018-11-09

    Forescout Technologies Response

    November 26, 2018CEO

    We're working on ways to break down silos and improve communication across the global organization. I assure you, I DO want to hear from all employees, including you. We try to encourage and foster open and direct communications through small quarterly employee lunches with me, all-hands meetings, and frankly, anyone can just drop by my office to chat. I also encourage you to start an open conversation with your manager and solicit feedback regarding your performance and career opportunities. Our goal is to build an organization where there are plentiful opportunities to sustain a long and successful career. -MDC

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (13)

    "A HUGE Mistake"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Forescout Technologies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very few positive things to say about working here. Someone warned me about all of the fake reviews on ForeScout's glassdoor page and I wish I would have listened prior to joining 6 months ago. I see the last 5 have been planted from within. Before joining FS, I spoke to several people that had left ForeScout and they ALL warned me to look elsewhere, but I thought it can't be that bad right? Wrong. See cons section for further explanation. Pros: Friendly people in every department, you just have to find them. - Beautiful office space - Standard befits, pto, compensation

    Cons

    Where do I begin? - Management is a complete joke. Unapproachable and in it for themselves - I saw no hierarchy in a previous fake review...that's laughable - No career advancement - Broken product and broken teams everywhere - Marketing? Is there anyone over there doing anything? - 0 communication between departments. 0 - No business processes - Boring and uneventful work "parties"

    Continue reading
    Forescout Technologies2018-09-20

    Forescout Technologies Response

    September 24, 2018CEO

    Wow, I'm sorry to hear you have had such a poor experience over the past six months. All companies have areas to work on, and we try hard to continually improve and make ForeScout a place where employees feel happy, empowered and want to grow. Our products solve a unique customer problem for the world's largest companies and government entities, and our customers love them. Growing pains often come when companies scale as fast as we are. But we have some of the best employees here at ForeScout who are smart, dedicated, culture-adds that work hard and enjoy celebrating our successes. We try to promote from within, and there are many examples of that. We're always interested in hearing employee feedback. If you have suggestions, I encourage you to discuss with your manager, or with me directly. -MDC

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (31)

    "This place is a hot mess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Forescout Technologies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've been working at ForeScout for 8 months and unfortunately there not many pros of working here. I REALLY wish I would have listened to the reviews below before coming on board. BUT there are a few positives: - Higher compensation than most tech companies I've worked for. - Pretty decent benefits and 401k program. - A few cool people in each department, but a lot of terrible people too. - Cool office space (that they spent way too much money on since no one is ever in the office. The place is a ghost town). - Free snacks and drinks - Yay! - Work/life balance is okay.

    Cons

    If you are trying to decide whether or not to apply here or accept your offer, don't apply and shred your offer and look elsewhere. Like I said before, I should have listened to the reviews below. Every 5 star review is written by HR to help increase their poor rating, which at one point was in the 2's. - Widespread arrogance, politically charged environment. If you aren't part of MD's clique, forget about moving up within the company. - Tons of money spent on parties no one wants to go to. - Very poor leaders that don't listen to their employees. 95% of them think they are greatest thing to ever walk the earth. - Lack of career advancement paths - Very poor communication within departments, especially within marketing and sales. - Product can't compete with Cisco

    Continue reading
    Forescout Technologies2018-06-06

    Forescout Technologies Response

    September 4, 2018CEO

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts. I take employee feedback seriously and appreciate your insights. We're looking at ways that we can improve the two-way communication processes. We have a strong competitive edge, yet we are very focused on continuously innovating. I would love for you to talk with your manager, or even to me, so we can dial-in on ways to make ForeScout great for you. -MDC

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (40)

    "You will be a very sad individual"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Forescout Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free lunch once a year. Decent dental plan.

    Cons

    This could get long. Inhale, now exhale. Inhale one more time, now exhale. Let’s start with the elementary factor. This place is like elementary school for adults. Everyone (and I mean everyone) gossip about eachother. It’s gotten to the point where HR sends out a survey asking about trust issues. Let’s just say the results were incredible (catch the sarcasm) If your not a McAffee groupie, say bye bye to career upward mobility. Being “different” is frowned upon. Ideas are curbed and not welcome. Process seems to be important, but process changes every 36 hours. C Level execs believe that they walk on water. It’s weird. I’ve literally heard a VP say they were the Salesforce God, like dude you just ran a report, big deal. Most managers have no clue how to manage their own lives (openly talk about divorce, drunken nights, drug use, etc) there’s a saying, “if your the smartest person in the room, your in the wrong room” well folks, you will always be the smartest person the room at this hen house. If you are interviewing at this company, TAKE A HARD LOOK AT THESE REVIEWS. It’s almost as if there was some sort of directive from management to write positive ones (great benefits, great wages) get a grip, anyone with a IQ of 10 could see through these false postings. Talent at Forescout disappears faster than a fart in a fan factory. If you enjoy some dude in Australia telling you what to do, clicky gossip groups, no career advancement, and colleagues who are on their way out - then by all means, come join this narcissistic, egotistical, big headed company. Chances are you will end up quitting, getting a new job elsewhere, or let go within a month. People here will try to communicate that this company is a start up. Well, this value-less company is 17 years old about to graduate high school. You will be a very sad individual if you join this company, I promise you that.

    Continue reading
    Forescout Technologies2017-10-23
  5. Helpful (10)

    "So much potential."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Forescout Technologies full-time

    Pros

    Driven and ambitious co-workers. People who really care about being a part of something great! It's definitely not a 'groundhog day' type of company. Energy is amazing.. it feels like a very exciting time! It makes you want to work harder, regardless of the load.

    Cons

    Their definitely is an inner circle here. If you are not a part of the Intel/McAfee group (OR a friend of someone who is already hired here) then you are certainly not given your fair share of an opportunity here. Promotions are given to friends, the amount of nepotism is concerning. If you are NOT a 'friend'resources are not given to make you /your team successful, career advancement is given to only those who have Intel/McAfee connections. Get ready to work your butt off!! Take on 3-5 different roles!! Because you are certainly going to get stretched! Even if you are not a top performer and you are in THAT circle you are saved from a lot! I get the whole trust your friends, and people you've worked with thought process. But, ForeScout has done such a great job at hiring top talent from a diverse group of top IT companies, Palo, F5, Cisco.. it's the diversity and energy that makes this company great. Give everyone a fair chance.

    Continue reading
    Forescout Technologies2017-07-28

    Forescout Technologies Response

    August 15, 2017Talent Team

    Thank you for your feedback regarding our top talent and passionate culture! We made fantastic new hires in the last few years from top IT and Cybersecurity companies and found that our employee referral program is the most effective means for recruiting. Over 50% of our hires this year have come through our employees' networks, which we believe is a positive metric as we are looking for people that bring that same passion and energy you do to your job each day. Appreciate your feedback on the other areas for improvement. We are working towards rolling out new manager and employee training this year to ensure career development is a focus for the entire company.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 5 reviews