Forescout Technologies "growing pains" Reviews | Glassdoor

Forescout Technologies Employee Reviews about "growing pains"

Updated Jul 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
74%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Forescout Technologies President and CEO Michael DeCesare
Michael DeCesare
116 Ratings
Pros
  • "The first company I've ever been at that really and truly honors work/life balance(in 16 reviews)

  • "Great product with clear differentiation from competitors(in 12 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "growing pains"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great culture and growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Forescout Technologies full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Potential Market, IoT devices on networks, is big, underserved and growing

    Cons

    some growing pains from expansion

    Continue reading
    Forescout Technologies2019-06-19
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Have absolutley LOVED my last 3 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Reports to Chief Financial Officer in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Forescout Technologies full-time

    Pros

    - First and foremost I have absolutely have loved my last 3 years at Forescout and hope to be here for many more years to come. - It’s an amazing tech company who’s on the forefront of the devise visibility, control and orchestration forefront. Not only is the company growing quickly, but the majority of the employees are passionate about Forescout’s future as well as their contribution and focus on company vision. - Collaborative work environment between all departments. - Flexibility on office hours and working remotely when needed. - Competitive Pay - Great benefits - Wonderful work culture - Direct Management always has your back and completely trusts you make the right calls. - All execs are very approachable - Never a dull day and there’s always a challenge which allows for growth. - A CEO and exec staff who are passionate about equal pay and equal opportunity for not just women, but ALL, not matter what ethnicity, sexual orientation, etc. They really value diversity and they actually walk the talk! - An amazing summer intern program which brings so much excitement and life to the company.

    Cons

    Not sure if I consider these cons more than growing pains or areas of improvement. - Lots of global standardization that needs to take place with not a lot of resources to do so to keep up with the pace we are growing. - Back office functions feel under-valued and underappreciated. - Long hours with very little recognition - Never able to completely detach from work while on PTO, which makes it very difficult to unwind and completely recharge, which plays a huge contributor to burn out.

    Continue reading
    Forescout Technologies2019-07-10
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (2)

    "We are a GREAT company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Forescout Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great technology! Great people! Totally under the radar as an employer of choice, but as the company to continues to grow, we will start to be more visible as the hot IOT company that we are! When I was hired here, the recruiter that hired me told me that this isn't a place for everyone. This is true. We have a culture that allows employees to own and drive their careers. We have the unique opportunity to build this company's foundation. This is not a place for someone who wants to sit back and collect a paycheck. Employees here work hard are compensated extremely well, have excellent benefits and we all share a passion for this industry and this company. Not all people can see the unique opportunity we have.

    Cons

    It's a fast moving company, but we are still going through the growing pains. We do not claim to know it all, we are growing along the way, and sometimes we struggle a bit. We have fairly junior leaders, but I do not see this as a con. These leaders have the drive and perseverance and tenacity to take this company to the next level, if we can continue to capitalize on being a company that has hot technology and good people!

    Continue reading
    Forescout Technologies2018-11-30

    Forescout Technologies Response

    December 19, 2018CEO

    Spot on - "We have a culture that allows employees to own and drive their careers. This is not a place for someone who wants to sit back and collect a paycheck and not want to play an active role in our success." Pumped we have you on our team adding to our culture with your can-do attitude. No company is perfect, including ours, but we're learning and doing all we can to make ForeScout a place where employees can grow and feel fulfilled. Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. -MDC

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Great place to work and getting even better every day!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Forescout Technologies full-time

    Pros

    Hot company in a hot space. Great product with clear differentiation from competitors. Seasoned leadership team, which seems to work really well together and getting better every day at leading a rapidly growing company. Company does really big, strategic deals in US Govt, Financial Services and Healthcare and some day will be doing the same across all verticals and geos. Exciting to be making such a difference in securing companies against the threats of bad actors.

    Cons

    Wall Street still underestimating company, so share price trades at a discount to other security companies (potential for upside as CEO, CFO and CCO seem to be doing a good job getting Wall Street to better understand). Working through growing pains across sales, SDR and marketing, though have made great strides since the big pre-IPO push.

    Continue reading
    Forescout Technologies2018-09-19

    Forescout Technologies Response

    September 24, 2018CEO

    Right product, right market, right time, I totally agree! We have been working on ways to increase engagement across the organization and I'm thrilled you're feeling some of those changes. We want this to be a place where you spend the next decade of your career, and ensuring you can grow in your role as the company grows is a top priority of our leadership team. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts, we're fortunate to have you on our team. -MDC

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Great growth company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Forescout Technologies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I’m closing in on my 1 year anniversary, and let me tell you, this is a fun place to work! I’m not sure why there are so many negative reviews, all the people I’ve worked with seem just as happy as me (I have to work with a lot of organizations outside of my own). There is a lot of exposure here to the Executive team, which I believe is a good thing. I’ve worked in large and small companies – this Exec team is far more aligned than other places I’ve worked. They aren’t competing with each other, they are all working towards our success as a company. The pace here is fast. The G&A groups are clearly understaffed, so that means there are plenty of areas to improve things. If you can work in that kind of environment, then you’ll do well here. It’s easy to make a name for yourself. There’s lots of low hanging fruit.

    Cons

    No company is perfect. ForeScout has a lot of growing up to do. It’s definitely trying. Let’s be realistic – if this company is going to make it to $1B, it has to start working like an enterprise, and not a start-up. Come here with an attitude to help convince others there are better (and more efficient) ways to work. Change is hard and you will be challenged to use your influencing skills here. The culture is still defining itself. This is a growth company with growing pains. It’s not a large monolith with easy 9-5 jobs. I’m the kind of person that likes those challenges. I’d rather be busy making this a better place than bored with nothing to do. The lack of process and structure are apparent. They are trying, so you need to have patience, and you need to help the company get there. The best people that are going to thrive here are the ones that can take us from chaos to organized chaos (it’s not that bad, but you get the idea). People want to do the right thing here, they just need more organized people they can follow.

    Continue reading
    Forescout Technologies2018-09-25

    Forescout Technologies Response

    October 15, 2018CEO

    Pumped you had a good first year at ForeScout and appreciate your can-do, teamwork attitude. You are 100% right that the people who make ForeScout great are those who are committed to helping us navigate our rapid growth and build scaleable processes to get us to $1B and beyond. You have some great ideas and we're lucky to have you on the team. I encourage you to share your thoughts with your manager and colleagues throughout the company. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback here. -MDC

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Best company I've worked with....ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Forescout Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great industry, amazing product, strong company vision, collaborative culture, protectable IP, aligned leadership and no politics! Very competitive benefits, pay and equity. May sound too good, but I've worked at many Silicon Valley companies and ForeScout is an absolutely amazing place!

    Cons

    ForeScout is still on the path to scalable, mature processes and systems. This leads to some clunky, manual activities and growing pains. Not yet profitable (however, well funded).

    Continue reading
    Forescout Technologies2018-09-11

    Forescout Technologies Response

    September 19, 2018CEO

    "Best company you've ever worked with"...how awesome is that! I feel the same. We have the right product, in the right market, at the right time. We're working hard to drive a collaborative, rewarding culture where employees want to spend the next 10+ years of their career. We're lucky to have you on Team ForeScout! -MDC

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Wonderful Product / Bad First Line Managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Systems Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Forescout Technologies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The product is truly unique. They should market it as the only truly security orchestration tool on the market.

    Cons

    Growing pains, hired some very bad first line managers. Internally promoted managers are great but they hire some real losers from outside.

    Continue reading
    Forescout Technologies2017-04-25
  9. "Awesome Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Forescout Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Entrepreneurial atmosphere I feel appreciated Tremendous sales growth potential Competition is week

    Cons

    Team goals for Systems Engineers commissions Company is still experiencing growing pains

    Continue reading
    Forescout Technologies2017-04-07
  10. "Good Times Ahead!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Campbell, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Forescout Technologies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    ForeScout has a bright future ahead! The new leadership team and world-class technology combined with the market opportunity, puts ForeScout in a position to do something very special in the security industry. Having joined ForeScout recently, I had opportunities to go to some of the large corporations and start-ups we all know in Silicon Valley, none the less, my decision to join ForeScout was fairly easy. The two main criteria that I looked at was the people and outlook of the company , and I can truly say that ForeScout topped the list. So far, I love working here! The energy, vision and pace we are moving at is great.

    Cons

    Haven't been here long! Don't have anything yet. Naturally, there will always be growing pains, but I quickly realized the leadership team is laser focused on making sure we have a great culture as we grow around the world.

    Forescout Technologies2015-08-07
  11. "Contagious energy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Campbell, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Forescout Technologies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The energy emanating from ForeScout colleagues is contagious. There's a passion that's shared throughout the organization, from the executive staff to the worker bees. It creates a unique culture that makes me feel excited to go to work in the morning.

    Cons

    Company is expanding like crazy, which could cause some growing pains.

    Continue reading
    Forescout Technologies2015-08-03

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 13 reviews