Forescout Technologies "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Forescout Technologies Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jan 31, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
74%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Forescout Technologies President and CEO Michael DeCesare
Michael DeCesare
116 Ratings
Pros
  • "The first company I've ever been at that really and truly honors work/life balance(in 16 reviews)

  • "Great product with clear differentiation from competitors(in 12 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Great place for motivated team players"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Team in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Forescout Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The first company I've ever been at that really and truly honors work/life balance. From the CEO to all other members of management they ensure balance of life is a top priority. Which isn't to say there aren't long days, stressful times, etc - but management recognizes these efforts and we get it back. Great comp plans, fantastic medical (best I've ever had), they match 401K and promote a culture of recognition amongst peers. First company I've ever seen where non-sales people are recognized for their performance and get to go to President's Club (and this is a significant number who receive this recognition each year from business units like marketing, operations, finance, deal-desk, etc. ) Product is a game changer and our customer approval ratings are outstanding. In my 2+ years the growth and improvement has been constant for aligning previously silo'd teams and every day a stronger, more unified Forescout advances forward. Forescout has a diverse team, and this is a focus by leadership to continue progressing in this area (in 2019 alone we achieved a Board of Directors that is 50% female, and have 3 women in worldwide executive leadership roles, including VP of Worldwide Systems Engineering.) People jump in to help each other and the "in crowd" is no joke. But this "in crowd" consists of people who believe in Forescout, our customers, our team, our product and embrace making Forescout awesome in every way. If you are not someone who wants those things, then you'll for sure be on the outside of this crowd.

    Cons

    No major feedback, other than to remind folks that working at Forescout is a choice. Those who are giving low scores and venting behind the anonymity of this forum yet don't make the choice to leave - that's on you. Grow up and take some responsibility for your life. The rest of us who know how special Forescout is value candor, value direct communication from leadership, and we value being on a team with people who step in to help even when not their role. We value an environment where people show up because we love it here, where we jump in and get stuff done and don't wait to be told what to work on. We don't take short cuts. We are not lazy. We don't point fingers. We are not a group of people who wait for someone to "fix it" for us. We dive in and figure it out. We recognize that it's up to us to make our company great. This is Silicon Valley so there are plenty of openings out there at other companies. Go to one of those companies so Forescout can fill your spot with a team member who wants to be here.

    Continue reading
    Forescout Technologies2019-12-20

    Forescout Technologies Response

    January 9, 2020CEO

    You get it. You get that we have the best product on the market with the best customers. You get that we work hard but value balance, family and personal time. You get that we're making strides everyday towards building more global alignment and diverse teams. You get the value of our gritty, teamwork nature. And for that, we are so pumped to have you on Team Forescout. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. - MDC

    Continue reading
  2. "Great work environment! Lots of opportunities to grow!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accounting Director in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Forescout Technologies full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    i have been working at ForeScout full time for more than 10 years. It is an outstanding company to work for, professional, talented people and plenty of opportunities to contribute and enhance your skills and career. I had the opportunity to relocate, change my role within the finance department and be part of something huge due to my managers support and inspiration. I got the chance to work with new teams on projects that inspired and challenged me every single time and gained a truly global experience. I'm fortunate to be in a place that understand the importance of Work- life balance and promotes it in so many ways (gym, company outings, working remotely, encouraging to work more efficiently vs. to work longer hours, maternity benefits etc.)

    Cons

    Currently there is no cons to speak about. There are challenges that we are experiencing as a growing company but with our clear agenda (vision) we will continue to achieve our goals.

    Continue reading
    Forescout Technologies2019-06-23

    Forescout Technologies Response

    June 27, 2019Chief Financial Officer

    Great insight for those who come to this site and read your review. This is definitely a team effort with varying degrees of peaks and valleys of work loa. I definitely value the sacrifices you make away from family during peak periods and am thrilled to hear the acknowledgment of effort to enabling relocations and job changes to further your skills and career. - Criss

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Jack of all trades, master of none technology with arrogant leaders."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Engineer in Nashville, TN
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Forescout Technologies

    Pros

    Peer support Team mentality Work life balance

    Cons

    Incomplete technology that does a little bit of everything but masters none. Integrations are hard, expensive and generally not worth it for the little value you get. Leadership are always chasing the shiny object.

    Continue reading
    Forescout Technologies2020-02-01
  4. Helpful (3)

    "“Toxic”"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Forescout Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People are nice here. They play hard. Work life balance is extraordinary.

    Cons

    Power is highly controlled by Tel Aviv even though HQ is at San Jose. There is no innovations in San Jose office. Management is really political.

    Continue reading
    Forescout Technologies2020-01-28
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Stay away if you can"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Forescout Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good health insurance plans. Good work life balance. Upscale office building. Competitive salary.

    Cons

    Aging product and slow execution. The engineering team in San Jose is dying after a new leader was hired in early 2019. Promising projects are constantly being transferred out. Good engineers have no choice but to leave because of bad management.

    Forescout Technologies2020-01-22

    Forescout Technologies Response

    January 30, 2020Chief Product & Strategy Officer

    I’m sorry you feel that way, I’m super proud of our engineering team. We just launched our first SaaS product, and our San Jose engineering team was key in getting that to market. The team also built a new infrastructure to expand our orchestration strategy. We are committed to our engineering team here at HQ, and they have an exciting roadmap to continue building and expanding our product portfolio. - Pedro

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Solid Company, Creative Products, Hot Market - Lots of Talented People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance-Operations in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Forescout Technologies full-time

    Pros

    Solid company that has challenged me, while helping myself and fellow employees achieve a decent work-life balance. Everyone contributes, and every one of your contributions is felt throughout the organization, although the company is well over 1000 employees. Good salary, bonus plan, and incentives, with excellent benefits.

    Cons

    Very sales oriented, which in some cases heavily stresses the back-office functions. For individuals; clear growth plans and deserved promotions could be focused on a little more.

    Forescout Technologies2019-06-20

    Forescout Technologies Response

    June 27, 2019Chief Financial Officer

    Aye. Aye. I truly am trying to make greater in roads here than I have evidenced to date. Your feedback is fair and I will strive to progress us even more effectively and with greater speed than I have demonstrated to date. - Criss

    Continue reading
  7. "Lucky To Be Here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance - Operations in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Forescout Technologies full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Never boring, growing, evolving company with huge potential in front of us. That creates excitement for me each day, never knowing what is going to happen, but feeling pretty confident that the end result will be a good one. There are long hours, days and weeks at times but my management team is extremely flexible, allowing me to work from home as much as i need to maintain the feeling of a good work/life balance. I have been recognized for my achievements in many different ways. Promoted from within, included in several exclusive activities that are only available to those who excel, which makes it really mean something when I am selected and recognized. The recognition piece, specifically within the CFOs functional organization is unique. I feel like what i do is important and has a genuine positive impact. That starts with Criss and flows down through his management team. These years with Forescout have been the best of my career, which have ultimately translated into some of the best times of my life. I know Mike has said before that some of the best years of our careers are on the way here at Forescout and so far that has been true. Cant wait for whats to come!

    Cons

    As we grow, expand, acquire it can sometimes feel like we haven't quite prepared properly for what is to come. Getting everyone on the same page is always a challenge. As someone who supports the sales organization, it can be difficult to communicate and implement change. Nothing unusual that most every company struggles to perfect.

    Continue reading
    Forescout Technologies2019-06-19

    Forescout Technologies Response

    June 27, 2019Chief Financial Officer

    I sincerely appreciate the kind words and extremely thoughtful sentiment. I hope many who come to this site have a chance to read your review. I am blushing. ;-) -Criss

    Continue reading
  8. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Forescout Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, competitive pay, fun people. Work-Life balance is supported along with flexibility of hours. There is a lot of support at from immediate management. Everyone I have met since day one are friendly and willing to help in any way they can. No company is perfect, but what I see is that if there is a problem, upper management works to resolve it.

    Cons

    Pay is competitive but it could be better.

    Continue reading
    Forescout Technologies2019-06-19
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Lots of potential for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Forescout Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are endless opportunities for growth here as a Systems Engineer - seriously. Seize the opportunity and you can make yourself a star but you have to want it. You'll work hard, but that's the case for any fast growing IT company in the Valley. The company has some growing pains, but who doesn't? Each year, ForeScout is getting more aggressive in product development and marketing. Some really innovative and exciting features are in the pipeline. Some of the SE leadership are the best in the business by supporting your goals for career advancement, and this is extremely important to me. If you work very hard, you can be a rock star here and truly change the dynamics of your customers and account team. Generous equity and RSU for new hires or top performers. Employee stock purchase plans. Competitive to well above-average pay for SEs amongst top tech companies. Work/life balance is exceptional. Extremely liberal work from home policy except for traveling to customer engagements. Very strong future so long as the pace of innovation and R&D investments keep up.

    Cons

    With just over 1,000 employees, you're not going to find the level of "insulation" or overlays for overlays you might be used to in a larger tech company like VMWare, Cisco, or HP. But I'm not complaining - that means more room for personal and career growth, less of a matrixed or siloed working environment. Product release cycles can be very challenging to meet deadlines, so the bottleneck is usually in R&D. Support teams have come a long way, but still have a long way to go. SEs are compensated largely on pool metrics - hasn't gone over well, so negotiate a starting salary you're comfortable with. Some high turnover as the company matures as a public company and continues to adapt to new challenges. ForeScout is not an easy or fast product to sell, so be prepared to ride the highs and lows of the sales cycle. The company as a whole is doing everything it can to shake the NAC branding, but it's been a slow process.

    Continue reading
    Forescout Technologies2019-01-23

    Forescout Technologies Response

    March 13, 2019CEO

    Wow, you get it. Hard work, meaningful contributions, and seizing opportunities are key to being a rock star at Forescout, and elsewhere. And you're right...our SEs are the best in the business! Some of our recent organizational announcements are intended to help us better align R&D and go-to-market strategy to streamline execution. We are also committed to continuing to invest in our stellar customer support organization to keep our NPS score at high levels. Thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed review. We're fortunate to have you on Team Forecout and look forward to your rock-star career here! -MDC

    Continue reading
  10. "Great and fun company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Forescout Technologies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Positive working environment Co-workers work hard and are willing to look out for each other Managers who care about your growth Discounted breakfast and lunch in the cafeteria Competitive pay and benefits Big and comfortable building Good work/life balance after you finish your work

    Cons

    None at this moment !

    Continue reading
    Forescout Technologies2018-11-16

    Forescout Technologies Response

    December 19, 2018CEO

    Our people are our biggest asset. We have some of the best in the business and we're all working together to make ForeScout a great place to work. Appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts. -MDC

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 16 reviews