Forever 21 Store Associate Reviews | Glassdoor

Forever 21 Store Associate Reviews

Updated Feb 12, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
60%
Recommend to a Friend
24%
Approve of CEO
Forever 21 Co-Founder and CEO Do Won "Don" Chang
Do Won "Don" Chang
13 Ratings
  1. "Store Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Forever 21 part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    friendly non-strict managers, clothes are nice, lots of hours, managers are lenient when you talk to them about improvement, you can pick if you want days off a week in advance, maybe even less.

    Cons

    not enough teamwork, poor management, low discounts for employees, managers tend to get a higher percentage(?), always messy and managers don't seem to prioritize cleaning, hours are based on how many credit cards you get for cashiers for the "credit card contest", closers are slow and we tend to leave around midnight, you get a write up for having a phone on you without using it.

    Forever 212017-04-05
  2. "If you're BLACK don't work too hard because you'll never get promoted."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Associate in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Forever 21 part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Coming to work of course! But creating friendships with a great team of coworkers and helping customers. Also seeing repeat customers and that's about it.

    Cons

    One word "MANAGEMENT"!! Forever 21 was a great experience for me I've been working there for three years. I've done everything from unselling credit cards and meeting the quota for the week, training a team of new cashiers, multitask with running the fitting room door and being the sorter on extremely BUSY DAYS! I even stayed later when the managers "favorites" either called off or never showed up. My attendance is superior never called off and was always on time. I was in training for lead of service but that changed instantly when another employee who just got hired and even called off a few times( I covered their shifts) got promoted and transferred to another store I then knew I was doing something wrong. I never got any feedback as to why I couldn't continue my training but I kept quiet and continued to love my job! But Overhearing managers talking crap about me and in the same sentence high favor who they promoted gave me the opportunity to seek a job else where.

    Continue reading
    Forever 212017-05-04
  3. "Not the best job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Associate in Phila, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Forever 21 part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are no pros at Forever21

    Cons

    Only get a 10% employee discount. Store is always a mess. Management is very poor.

    Continue reading
    Forever 212017-03-26
  4. "Great place to work part time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Store Associate in Culver City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Forever 21

    Pros

    Very friendly managers and co workers. Fast paced and busy environment

    Cons

    Work late hours closing the store and the pay is $10 an hour (minimum wage in California)

    Continue reading
    Forever 212016-12-28
  5. "Overworked for half the pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Associate in King of Prussia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Forever 21 part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You meet some great people and build great relationships as far as co-workers, the clothes were amazing and at a good price.

    Cons

    Get paid bi-weekly, pay is not sufficient for the amount of work they put on you. You will work until everything in your section is done, regardless if you have to catch a bus, or have other responsibilites. You dont get respect from management, they treat you like robots, that will work continuously for hours. Gets boring, especially after being there for more than 4 hours. Scheduling is crazy, they will put you down for any time, any day.

    Continue reading
    Forever 212016-12-27
  6. Helpful (1)

    "For Management Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Associate in Mission Viejo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Forever 21 part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Employee discount, although very small (only 10% off and no discount on sale items) - Usually fast-faced - Casual dress code - Easy to make friends with co-workers

    Cons

    - Unfriendly management - Have to work holidays - Rude customers - Overwhelming amount of merchandise

    Continue reading
    Forever 212016-12-13
  7. "Working here is kind of a joke."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate Doing Visual Merchandising for Store With No Extra Pay in Springfield, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Forever 21 part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Surrounded by cute clothes, new styles that are brought in. Customers can be really great and fashionable. Easy job Pretty laid back dress code and able to express yourself

    Cons

    10% discount on product sucks F21 doesn't promote from within very well, or often. Pay is awful. Unrealistic expectations when it comes to inventory and design. Store I worked in was literally so packed that if you even touched a rack of clothes 4 shirts would fall off the side. Our back room used to be packed to the ceiling with boxes. The store is a tornado to clean up. And they expect it to be decent before you leave. Customers can never find anything in ANY Forever 21 because it's laid out like a garage sale. Clothes are cheap and destroy easily. The makeup line is horrible Honestly a bad place to work. Good for college kids that don't NEED hours.

    Continue reading
    Forever 212016-12-09
  8. "Horrible management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Associate in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Forever 21 part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None. Maybe just meeting some nice coworkers who share the same feelings about work but that's it.

    Cons

    10% discount, barely covers tax Short 10 min breaks Unrealistic expectations Unfair policies No recognization for hard work Ridiculous mess the store became every day Same routine over and over No parking Very rude customers Favoritism High school- like drama atmosphere

    Continue reading
    Forever 212016-11-20
  9. "Ok for a temporary postion."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Associate in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Forever 21 part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The location was close, flexible hours, and had an average pace job requirement, no uniform.

    Cons

    There was no free parking, and parking downtown is expensive, and they had poor communication skills. The break room was full of boxes, hardly anywhere to sit, and they have group interviews.

    Continue reading
    Forever 212016-07-08
  10. "Overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Associate in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Forever 21 part-time

    Pros

    Friendly environment, easy job, fun

    Cons

    Very messy environment, unorganized management

    Continue reading
    Forever 212016-04-15

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 42 reviews