Formosa Plastics Corporation, U.S.A. Reviews | Glassdoor

Formosa Plastics Corporation, U.S.A. Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 59 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Chih-Tsun Lee
20 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "(in 3 reviews)

  • "Some upper management should have been let go long ago(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Growing Company - Stable Employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Formosa Plastics Corporation, U.S.A. full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Company is always looking to grow. Employment is stable, very few layoffs in the history of the company. Private Company - not always looking at satisfying activist shareholders.

    Cons

    No Stock options since it's a private company.

    Formosa Plastics Corporation, U.S.A.2019-03-28
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Left something to be desired. Plant is shut down now."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations 

    I worked at Formosa Plastics Corporation, U.S.A. full-time

    Pros

    Competitive salary. Good benefits. Pension. Overtime.

    Cons

    Constant equipment failure with no replacement parts in stock. Process engineering seems to be mostly guess work. Safety not high priority. Shut the Delaware plant down with only a 2 month notice. Severance pay not anywhere near reflective of years employed with them.

    Formosa Plastics Corporation, U.S.A.2019-02-10
  3. "Electrical Tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electrical Maintenance Technician in Point Comfort, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Formosa Plastics Corporation, U.S.A. full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Fantastic pay, great work environment, good benefits

    Cons

    Can be a pretty dangerous place to work at times.

    Formosa Plastics Corporation, U.S.A.2018-12-31
  4. "Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accountant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Formosa Plastics Corporation, U.S.A. full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Asian culture and not too many higher position opportunities for other nations.

    Cons

    Long hours work during every 1st day of each month for monthly close.

    Formosa Plastics Corporation, U.S.A.2018-11-27
  5. "S2B Chemical Operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Chemical Operator in Delaware City, DE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Formosa Plastics Corporation, U.S.A. full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Enjoyed working with every single person there.

    Cons

    WE were given 60 days notice,plant closed 72 operators out of employment ..

    Advice to Management

    Thanks, you were the Best you could be under the circumstances..

    Formosa Plastics Corporation, U.S.A.2018-11-28
  6. "Operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operator in Point Comfort, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Formosa Plastics Corporation, U.S.A. full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Job security, close to my home,

    Cons

    Lots of decisions made 2000 miles away in New Jersey

    Formosa Plastics Corporation, U.S.A.2018-10-12
  7. "B operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Delaware City, DE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Formosa Plastics Corporation, U.S.A. full-time

    Pros

    Great pay but that's about it the rest about the plant is terrible

    Cons

    Plant is shutting down they never gave any care about the people actually working trying to keep the plant running.

    Advice to Management

    If you got all new management and people up front and a real chemical engineer the plant would still be running.

    Formosa Plastics Corporation, U.S.A.2018-08-06
  8. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Formosa Plastics Corporation, U.S.A. full-time

    Pros

    No layoffs, great pay and coworkers

    Cons

    Upper management at times unorganized

    Formosa Plastics Corporation, U.S.A.2018-05-25
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Process Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Point Comfort, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Formosa Plastics Corporation, U.S.A. full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Salary is very competitive, supervisors are generally very flexible with needing to take time off for personal reasons

    Cons

    Little room for advancement, interdependency of different units makes large projects complicated, purchasing department makes even simple purchases way too complicated and time consuming.

    Formosa Plastics Corporation, U.S.A.2018-05-14
  10. Helpful (2)

    "former employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Livingston, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Formosa Plastics Corporation, U.S.A. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great benefits package and and perhaps a good place to start a career.

    Cons

    the politics laced with nepotism. very blatant favoritism that is not always merit based. the software is extremely outdated and inefficient and not even designed for the work we do on it. i also had the unfortuate experience with a manager that had an extensive history of bullying people to the point that they quit or flee to another position. in fact the position I had was available because the person before me...

    Show More
    Formosa Plastics Corporation, U.S.A.2018-04-17
Found 59 reviews